We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Resort, even without the skiing and with great views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort, even without the skiing and with great views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great Resort tucked in North of Stowe where skiing is the popular activity during the winters. However, since we visited during May there was no skiing but the resort itself was great and a had very warm and friendly staff. We could have stayed a little lower in Stowe as we were travelling from Boston, but it wouldn't probably be as scenic.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are reasonable and have a balcony and fire place. Should be selected. The double room I...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very conscious about environment preservation and incorporate it in their daily routines with food, recycling and sourcing.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VitalStatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay at Stowe Mountain Lodge. Things slow down in Stowe in May after the ski season but that just allows for our guests to truly escape and unwind. The Spa and Wellness Center can help that process even more with spa treatments or fitness classes and training to get truly rejuvenated before heading back from vacation.

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,236
    425
    160
    61
    34
See reviews for
811
672
37
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived, Everyone at the Stowe Mountain Lodge greeted us with kindness. The lodge is spacious with lots of comfy seating next to fireplaces and views of the mountain. Our room exceeded our expectations! It has a fireplace, a kitchenette with fridge, microwave, stovetop, sink, dishwasher and all the plates, cups and utensils. The bathroom is spacious with a lovely shower and a bathtub. Our king bed and sheets were so comfy, we actually bought a set of the sheets.....a first for us. The food was excellent as was the service. I had a massage that I wish lasted another hour....WOW. I would not hesitate recommending this four diamond resort to anyone. It was a great trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for posting your VIP (Very Important Post) review of Stowe Mountain Lodge! All our guests are important to us and want that to be translated the minute you drive up. We are so glad you enjoyed the amenities including the sheets! They are a very popular product and The Spa sells quite a few so our guests are able to take a touch of The Lodge home with them at the end of their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The location and buildings are beautiful, though lacking in proper maintenance in some areas. The rooms appear clean, but could use an actual thorough cleaning. The highlight of staying at SML is the heated outdoor pool and hot tubs, which are unparalleled and a must-experience. The big complaint I have is the DAILY $20 parking fee - with no option available except the valet service. At these prices the valet service should be included.

Room Tip: if you're mobility challenged, be sure to talk to the hotel about your room location in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank executivebabysitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

There was nothing particularly wrong with anything at the Stowe Mountain Lodge. The staff are great, the amenities are wonderful and the rooms are luxurious. But I never forgot that I was in a hotel for one minute. I like privacy, and there was always someone around offering me drinks or food or turndown service (one funny story - I took the Do Not Disturb sign off my door when I was expecting room service, and literally within seconds the turndown service folks were knocking! Almost as if they were lurking in a dark corner, just waiting for that sign to disappear!)

Other places I have stayed have felt much more homey. I wasn't able to really appreciate the slopeside location, since I don't like to ski here (I just like staying in Stowe and skiing elsewhere). My preference is to stay "in town", much further down the mountain, in the middle of the apres ski action.

All that being said, if you like a grand resort that is literally next to the ski lifts, this place is for you.

Room Tip: Get a Front Four room - the views are amazing and I was mesmerized watching the groomers high up on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdrive23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

On a friend's recommendation, we booked a room at the Stowe Mountain Lodge for a short weekend getaway to Stowe. Although we didn't have much time to explore, SML facilities were pretty expansive, with a large outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, a championship 18-hole golf course, and an on-site spa, to name a few. However, perhaps the Lodge's most impressive asset was its valet and door staff, who were all exceptionally polite and helpful as they efficiently darted around in their short sleeve button-up plaid shirts and chinos to assist the hotel's guests. Each staff member had memorized our faces and formal names and I didn’t have to open a door for myself even once! Despite this genteel reception, SML’s 4-1/2-star rating definitely didn’t apply to the check-in process – we only got into our room at 7 pm after arriving at 11 am that morning! The first room they put us in faced a parking lot and smelled like stale cigarettes. We called to have the room changed, only to wait 25 minutes by the phone to no response. Even when we presented ourselves at the front desk, clearly annoyed by the waiting, the evening manager always managed to find better things to do than sort out our room problem. As time ticked slowly by, we were all but unconscious in the lobby sitting area (spent from the day's activities, some of which construed to pass the time before check-in) before we finally had a suitable place to stay. However, following that unfortunate series of mishaps, when we finally got to settle in we were met with a simply lovely semi-suite that included a small kitchenette, spacious bathroom, pool-facing balcony, and the softest sheets known to mankind. Some things are worth the wait? I'm not convinced. I hope that if we give SML a second chance, we won't live to regret it!

Despite a bit of a sour taste from issues at the SML, thankfully that was probably the worst of our time in Stowe. Check out this link to hear about some other experiences we had in lovely Stowe, Vermont. http://www.deanes-list.com/1/post/2013/05/24-hours-in-stowe.html

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool! Even those with "mountain views" tend to first look o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEANESLIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We found the lodge to be a good choice! We spent 3 nights in a one bedroom suite, it was adequate for what we needed, housekeeping could have been a little more attentive to cleanliness detail, even though the weather was chilly, we did manage to enjoy the outdoor pool it was 88 degrees!! If I had to say one negative thing it would be the parking, we parked behind the lodge and was told that the lot was not owned by the hotel and that there was a possiblity of being towed,BUT, if we paid 20.00 a night they would valet park the car, no other parking was available, I found this to be a bit over the top considering the amount we paid for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilll770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms at this resort are more suited for long term stay. My husband and I stayed two nights as part of a business convention. The room has well-appointed kitchen amenities that includes a small variety of dishes. There is even a dishwasher! There is a couch, an easy chair and a gas fireplace. The sheets on the bed are the "best". The bathroom is large, almost too large, with a huge glass shower and an equally large tub. Rooms are not economical, but then again, if you are in Stowe, money shouldn't be an object.

Room Tip: There ar many rooms to choose from. While, our room was booked for us, I assume that there are many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
6.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#11 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
6.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing