We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Stowe Mountain Lodge does such a great job of meeting the varied needs of families, seniors, single travelers. The rooms are beautiful and the staff could not be more friendly or helpful. The convenience of picking up your skis just past the lobby and stepping out the door onto the chairlift is fabulous. This has all of the amenities of a wonderful ski lodge. The spa, pool, and restaurant are all excellent. This is the place you want to stay for skiing in Stowe!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NRMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,617
    530
    219
    87
    45
See reviews for
1,068
873
46
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The location at the bottom of the slopes is great and very convenient. You're a few steps from slopes and gondolas! This hotel is probably the best choice if the main purpose of your trip is skiing! But the price... Everything in this place is too expensive! Also this hotel is huge and can get very busy: the restaurant doesn't have a big capacity, car valet is overwhelmed at check-in and check out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Stowe Mountain Lodge is the only ski-in/ski-out accommodation in Stowe, offering luxury guestrooms and amenities to skiers, riders and those just looking for an escape. We strive to source only the best products and ingredients for our amenities and food which comes at a premium, however is why we attract the travelers we do creating those busy weekends. We hope to welcome you back.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Can't say enough about this place. Yes, its expensive, but worth it. The amenities are great, staff and service even better. They make skiing so convenient. You walk out of the lobby onto the chair lift. Doesn't get any better for skiing in the Northeast. From the minute we arrived, we were welcomed with smiles and the best service. The ski valet was awesome. We totally enjoyed the hot tub (with our kids). This may be a turn off for couples without kids, but I can't complain. This is a kid-friendly resort, with a lot of activities for families. In addition to skiing, we went on a family snow-shoeing tour, with a very well informed guide from the lodge. Rooms were well appointed, with a lovely marble bath, fireplace in the living area, and even a kitchenette, which made morning breakfasts easy. Overall, fantastic location, rooms, staff and service. We will return!

Room Tip: Great for families. Ask for room near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annjax40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have travelled quite a bit and found the service to be second to none. The location at the base of the slopes is great and the ski valet couldn't make hitting the slopes any easier. If you can look past the price I wouldn't hesitate to make a visit. Meeting/business space worked out well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Location location location. That's what you are paying for. The lodge is right on the Mountain, you take a Gondala from the foot of the lodge over to the Gondola to the Summit. The conveieince of walking downstairs, grab your skis from the ski valet, then you're basically on the slopes is very appealing.
It's not cheap. For the price I thought it would be like staying at the St Regis or 4 Seasons. It's clearly not. Hordes of young children running through the halls , quickly disabuses you of that notion. In fact we were woken up at 7am from screaming children in the adjacent room. The walls are pretty thin. The front desk did move us and gave us a late check out for our troubles.
But I have to admit this wasn't what I was thinking for a romantic get-away. If you have children- you will love it here. Very family friendly, VERY convenient. Romantic get-away, consider someplace else, or just deal with the screaming children. Sometimes a price must be paid for convenience.

Rooms: The beds were comfortable, and the rooms were well appointed. I slept well. I found the rooms clean and spacious. I'm glad they dont make you play for the Wi-fi.

Make sure to pack your swim trunks they have heated outdor pool (90 degrees) that looks like a blast. (Again lots of little children).

The ski valet was awesome. Nothing like having your skis and poles ready for you, not needing to lug them through the hotel.

Skiiing:A smaller mountain, but very enjoyable.

Verdict:Great for families. Poor for Romantic getaways. Amazingly convenient. Pricey.

An Adults only wing or floor- would really make this place spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishingmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Speechless - best place to stay in New England! Even if you don't ski, staying at resort and enjoy the spa services!! The sanctuarly room, spa was outstanding. I'm not really a spa guy but I think I may have been converted :>)

Room Tip: room was amazing, i'm sure they are all very nice! love the earthy tones, etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing review! Reasons like the ones you highlighted are why Stowe Mountain Lodge is consistently named “Best in the World-Top 100: Top Resort Spas in the U.S.” by Condé Nast Traveler and “Travel + Leisure 500 - The World’s Best Hotels" by Travel + Leisure. We hope to welcome you back shortly for your next Stowe, Vermont vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived, I was made to feel special and welcomed. Great resort, but expensive. The spa services we wonderful and the staff was excellent. Loved the valet service and the way they treated us. The outdoor pool was a bit cool, even though it is heated. The hot tub could be crowded at times, especially when the ski lifts closed. The cafe was wonderful with so many choices. The gift shop is filled with pricey gifts and should try to offer more reasonable gifts for families. I loved they allowed dogs and wish I knew that before we went.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sashcari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
3.3 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing