We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rollercoaster-some high points and lows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Location location location. That's what you are paying for. The lodge is right on the Mountain, you take a Gondala from the foot of the lodge over to the Gondola to the Summit. The conveieince of walking downstairs, grab your skis from the ski valet, then you're basically on the slopes is very appealing.
It's not cheap. For the price I thought it would be like staying at the St Regis or 4 Seasons. It's clearly not. Hordes of young children running through the halls , quickly disabuses you of that notion. In fact we were woken up at 7am from screaming children in the adjacent room. The walls are pretty thin. The front desk did move us and gave us a late check out for our troubles.
But I have to admit this wasn't what I was thinking for a romantic get-away. If you have children- you will love it here. Very family friendly, VERY convenient. Romantic get-away, consider someplace else, or just deal with the screaming children. Sometimes a price must be paid for convenience.

Rooms: The beds were comfortable, and the rooms were well appointed. I slept well. I found the rooms clean and spacious. I'm glad they dont make you play for the Wi-fi.

Make sure to pack your swim trunks they have heated outdor pool (90 degrees) that looks like a blast. (Again lots of little children).

The ski valet was awesome. Nothing like having your skis and poles ready for you, not needing to lug them through the hotel.

Skiiing:A smaller mountain, but very enjoyable.

Verdict:Great for families. Poor for Romantic getaways. Amazingly convenient. Pricey.

An Adults only wing or floor- would really make this place spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishingmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,056 - 2,062 of 2,761 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Speechless - best place to stay in New England! Even if you don't ski, staying at resort and enjoy the spa services!! The sanctuarly room, spa was outstanding. I'm not really a spa guy but I think I may have been converted :>)

Room Tip: room was amazing, i'm sure they are all very nice! love the earthy tones, etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for such a glowing review! Reasons like the ones you highlighted are why Stowe Mountain Lodge is consistently named “Best in the World-Top 100: Top Resort Spas in the U.S.” by Condé Nast Traveler and “Travel + Leisure 500 - The World’s Best Hotels" by Travel + Leisure. We hope to welcome you back shortly for your next Stowe, Vermont vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived, I was made to feel special and welcomed. Great resort, but expensive. The spa services we wonderful and the staff was excellent. Loved the valet service and the way they treated us. The outdoor pool was a bit cool, even though it is heated. The hot tub could be crowded at times, especially when the ski lifts closed. The cafe was wonderful with so many choices. The gift shop is filled with pricey gifts and should try to offer more reasonable gifts for families. I loved they allowed dogs and wish I knew that before we went.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sashcari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stowe is a great mountain to ski - now with a great place to stay...slopeside! Staff works hard and with success to make it a true vacation, from the valet at arrival to the daily ski concierge services. The lodge is beautiful. Dining is good, but expensive for a family atmosphere, but with so many good restaurant options in Stowe and Waterbury there is reason to venture out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I loved our stay at Stowe Mountain Lodge. We were there for a long weekend with our two children and two other families. When we pulled up when we arrived what felt like a swarm descended upon the car. In a good way! Opening the trunk, helping the girls out of the car, greeting us nicely, directing us inside. We never saw the luggage again until 10 minutes later when it was brought to the room by one of the friendliest hotel staff I have ever met.

The lodge itself is unbelievable beautiful. Totally reminds me of skiing out west. Gorgeous, expansive views. The room was nicely sized and had a fireplace, balcony and kitchenette. The bathroom is huge and lovely. Beds were incredibly comfortable.

The skiing was great and so convenient. The spa was beautiful. I had a facial and a relaxation treatment which were fantastic. My daughters had a chillax spa treatment with cucumbers for their eyes and a chocolate mask for their face. They loved it. Solstice restaurant was delicious. The hourglass bar was a great place to hang and lunch. The kids explored on their own as it's no so huge they couldn't find their way around. The kids did kids club one night and the parents hung out in the lobby and lounge. Tons of people but it was great. All ages, some with their dogs but elegant and upscale. Everyone just hanging out and enjoying themselves. We travel frequently. I loved it. My kids loved it. We all loved it!

Pool was cold but it was 20 degrees out. Hot tubs were a winner! The staff was impeccable. I highly highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you check in. They will give you a good deal on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

SML is wonderful. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, and cozy. We stayed in July and everyday was relaxing. Our 2 year old learned the word hot tub and hotel on this vacation and to this day he still talks about the Stowe mountain lodge. The public areas are beautiful and inviting, little nooks to sit in and read or have a chat. The restaurants were great too. We ate at the hourglass and the waiter and chef worked with us to accommodate my sons food allergies. He ate safely and the food was delicious. The staff was so friendly and welcoming. The pool is heated and gigantic so even if there are a lot of people, you can find an area for yourself. At night there is a fire pit but it was mostly teenagers hanging out. The most fun is the goings on in the "backyard" of this place. We missed the farmers market on the day we arrived but had a blast on the alpine slide. You can buy per ride or a ride all day unlimited pass. They also had fireworks on the second night we were there. There is also a wonderful spa, a bit pricey but if you get a coupon it could be worth it. It is such an amazing place to stay- you can do as much or as little as you want- everything a vacation resort should be.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank aloha08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

What a special story -Thank you for sharing your summer family vacation story with us! We are thrilled that your family was able to simply relax and unwind while here. Hopefully on your next trip, your son can learn some new words like "gondola" and "s'mores."

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Driving up to the Stowe Mountain Lodge you know your in for a cut above experience. Multiple staff descend to take your car skis and luggage. The ski's go to the ski valet, unique for me and it makes skiing more fun. The rooms are very large and well appointed, lots of plugs to charge your stuff, Nice gas fireplace, big flat screens and lots of storage. If you think cooking is part of a vacation (I do) the kitchen in the suites is top notch (pun intended). The cleaning staff does and good job, turn down service is included. The common area is huge with a number of couches and fireplaces to hang out with friends. The huge outdoor heated pool is accessible from the indoor towel room, there are two large hot tubs, and a serious workout room. We ate lunch in the restaurant in the lounge are by the fire, very good food, at bit expensive. Dinner in the restaurant was also nice but also a bit expensive. The ski in/out plan is easy, call the ski valet, and your ski's are outside a very short walk to the lifts, no worry if it's early or late season as with other ski in/out properties. Overall this is my #1 place for a northeast ski getaway.

Room Tip: This is a big place, ask for a room not too far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skialotliketoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,367 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
154 reviews
6.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
198 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $195 - $857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing