We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love love love!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love love love!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I loved our stay at Stowe Mountain Lodge. We were there for a long weekend with our two children and two other families. When we pulled up when we arrived what felt like a swarm descended upon the car. In a good way! Opening the trunk, helping the girls out of the car, greeting us nicely, directing us inside. We never saw the luggage again until 10 minutes later when it was brought to the room by one of the friendliest hotel staff I have ever met.

The lodge itself is unbelievable beautiful. Totally reminds me of skiing out west. Gorgeous, expansive views. The room was nicely sized and had a fireplace, balcony and kitchenette. The bathroom is huge and lovely. Beds were incredibly comfortable.

The skiing was great and so convenient. The spa was beautiful. I had a facial and a relaxation treatment which were fantastic. My daughters had a chillax spa treatment with cucumbers for their eyes and a chocolate mask for their face. They loved it. Solstice restaurant was delicious. The hourglass bar was a great place to hang and lunch. The kids explored on their own as it's no so huge they couldn't find their way around. The kids did kids club one night and the parents hung out in the lobby and lounge. Tons of people but it was great. All ages, some with their dogs but elegant and upscale. Everyone just hanging out and enjoying themselves. We travel frequently. I loved it. My kids loved it. We all loved it!

Pool was cold but it was 20 degrees out. Hot tubs were a winner! The staff was impeccable. I highly highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you check in. They will give you a good deal on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    537
    220
    91
    45
See reviews for
1,087
881
50
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

SML is wonderful. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, and cozy. We stayed in July and everyday was relaxing. Our 2 year old learned the word hot tub and hotel on this vacation and to this day he still talks about the Stowe mountain lodge. The public areas are beautiful and inviting, little nooks to sit in and read or have a chat. The restaurants were great too. We ate at the hourglass and the waiter and chef worked with us to accommodate my sons food allergies. He ate safely and the food was delicious. The staff was so friendly and welcoming. The pool is heated and gigantic so even if there are a lot of people, you can find an area for yourself. At night there is a fire pit but it was mostly teenagers hanging out. The most fun is the goings on in the "backyard" of this place. We missed the farmers market on the day we arrived but had a blast on the alpine slide. You can buy per ride or a ride all day unlimited pass. They also had fireworks on the second night we were there. There is also a wonderful spa, a bit pricey but if you get a coupon it could be worth it. It is such an amazing place to stay- you can do as much or as little as you want- everything a vacation resort should be.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank aloha08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
What a special story -Thank you for sharing your summer family vacation story with us! We are thrilled that your family was able to simply relax and unwind while here. Hopefully on your next trip, your son can learn some new words like "gondola" and "s'mores."

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Driving up to the Stowe Mountain Lodge you know your in for a cut above experience. Multiple staff descend to take your car skis and luggage. The ski's go to the ski valet, unique for me and it makes skiing more fun. The rooms are very large and well appointed, lots of plugs to charge your stuff, Nice gas fireplace, big flat screens and lots of storage. If you think cooking is part of a vacation (I do) the kitchen in the suites is top notch (pun intended). The cleaning staff does and good job, turn down service is included. The common area is huge with a number of couches and fireplaces to hang out with friends. The huge outdoor heated pool is accessible from the indoor towel room, there are two large hot tubs, and a serious workout room. We ate lunch in the restaurant in the lounge are by the fire, very good food, at bit expensive. Dinner in the restaurant was also nice but also a bit expensive. The ski in/out plan is easy, call the ski valet, and your ski's are outside a very short walk to the lifts, no worry if it's early or late season as with other ski in/out properties. Overall this is my #1 place for a northeast ski getaway.

Room Tip: This is a big place, ask for a room not too far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skialotliketoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

There are so many things to credit regarding this property, but still the most memorable by far is the quality of the staff. They are quick with a friendly greeting and offer of assistance -- from the car valet to the maid, from the concierge to the front desk. You can bank on top quality service at this resort.

Also remarkable is the beauty of the property and the functionality built into the rooms -- mine had a full kitchen and washer/dryer, balcony, HD TVs and wireless internet.

The workout facility is very good with modern equipment and a spacious heated (outdoor) pool.

The business center is well-appointed and useful. A performing arts center is located on the property featuring quality programming,.

The location cannot be beat for access to skiing at Spuce Mountain or Mt. Mansfield.

Great for a business function, a romantic getaway, and (of course) a ski vacation for the family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of March. We had quite a long journey to get there, but as soon as we pulled up to the hotel, we knew we had made the right decision. Our porter was so friendly and as our room wasn't ready, took us on a tour of the hotel, he was fantastic and even recommended other restaurants besides the one in the hotel for us to try! When we got to our room after a short wait, we were really impressed. The room was very spacious, had a little kitchenette and a lovely fireplace! The room was spotless and the bathroom was fantastic! It had the most comfortable bathtub I have ever been in - want to get one for my home! As there was 3 of us in the room, we could call to have a turn down service for the sofabed, which was fantastic!

Everyone who works at the hotel is so friendly and accomodating, they couldn't do enough for you! I must mention Peter, who is the concierge - he is so friendly and welcoming and is a real ambassador for the hotel! My son really enjoyed talking to him! It was very appreciated that he took time out of his busy day, to speak to him and make him feel special!

My husband and I booked a couples massage at the spa and it was fantastic, once again the service was outstanding and we really enjoyed relaxing in the spa overlooking the ski slopes.

My son was booked in for the children's ski lessons and loved it. They did a fantastic job of teaching him how to ski!

I really can't recommend this hotel enough - it is truly a five star experience!!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidstoneNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Overnight stay in March with son during College spring break. Beautiful property in Stowe, lifts a 2 minute walk from ski valet. Great service all around. Friendly staff in all departments. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. Never had to wait more than a minute or two for my car or the ski valet. Made reservation through Hotels.com so perhaps is why we got a room with a view of the parking lot, but since we did not spend any time in the room it was OK. Pricey, yes but not as much as other properties out west with similar services and facilities and ski in ski out. Think Beaver Creek -Batchelors Gulch. We had dinner at the bar, good food but nothing special, the burger at $16 with fries and main courses at $25 -$30 are average for a neighborhood restaurant in Boston or Washington DC, so definitly not too expensive. This is a really beautiful property, so you are paying for the overall experience, plus tons of people working to attend to all your needs. Too bad they can not do anything about the weather. We cut our trip short due to rain. We will definitly come back next time we ski that mountain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Stowe Mountain Lodge during your spring ski vacation! We are very proud of friendly staff -- we hear time and time again how they make people feel like this is their home away from home. Along with the service levels, we provide ski in/ski out access, farm to table cuisine and high end amenities throughout the Lodge which we appreciate you noticing. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Stowe, Vermont ski vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
......., NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in February and were very impressed with the quality of service we received. The resort is very spacious and attractive, the room was very nicely decorated and comfortable and we loved the convenience of having a small kitchen in the room, which allowed us to eat breakfast there and get to the slopes faster. We ate at the Hourglass for lunch one day and the Spruce Camp lodge cafeteria the other and the food was excellent, no complaints. At the Hourglass we had the most delicious cheese fondue ever! It was great how you just called ahead and the staff had your skis ready and waiting for you outside - so easy! One night, there was a man playing piano in the main lounge area (Scott Joplin, my favorite!) and that was very nice. Plenty of room in the main lounge to sit and relax. The Spa was also really nice - my daughter had her nails done while I waited for her in a relaxing spa room overlooking the mountain. We used the outdoor pool and hot tub one night - my kids loved it but it was a bit too cold out for me. We saved some money by getting our dinner both nights at PieCasso's and bringing it back to the room and eating by our fireplace. Stowe Mountain Lodge is probably the nicest resort I've been to in the US and I would love to go again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
6.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing