We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

There are so many things to credit regarding this property, but still the most memorable by far is the quality of the staff. They are quick with a friendly greeting and offer of assistance -- from the car valet to the maid, from the concierge to the front desk. You can bank on top quality service at this resort.

Also remarkable is the beauty of the property and the functionality built into the rooms -- mine had a full kitchen and washer/dryer, balcony, HD TVs and wireless internet.

The workout facility is very good with modern equipment and a spacious heated (outdoor) pool.

The business center is well-appointed and useful. A performing arts center is located on the property featuring quality programming,.

The location cannot be beat for access to skiing at Spuce Mountain or Mt. Mansfield.

Great for a business function, a romantic getaway, and (of course) a ski vacation for the family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,656
    538
    221
    92
    45
See reviews for
1,089
884
50
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of March. We had quite a long journey to get there, but as soon as we pulled up to the hotel, we knew we had made the right decision. Our porter was so friendly and as our room wasn't ready, took us on a tour of the hotel, he was fantastic and even recommended other restaurants besides the one in the hotel for us to try! When we got to our room after a short wait, we were really impressed. The room was very spacious, had a little kitchenette and a lovely fireplace! The room was spotless and the bathroom was fantastic! It had the most comfortable bathtub I have ever been in - want to get one for my home! As there was 3 of us in the room, we could call to have a turn down service for the sofabed, which was fantastic!

Everyone who works at the hotel is so friendly and accomodating, they couldn't do enough for you! I must mention Peter, who is the concierge - he is so friendly and welcoming and is a real ambassador for the hotel! My son really enjoyed talking to him! It was very appreciated that he took time out of his busy day, to speak to him and make him feel special!

My husband and I booked a couples massage at the spa and it was fantastic, once again the service was outstanding and we really enjoyed relaxing in the spa overlooking the ski slopes.

My son was booked in for the children's ski lessons and loved it. They did a fantastic job of teaching him how to ski!

I really can't recommend this hotel enough - it is truly a five star experience!!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidstoneNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Overnight stay in March with son during College spring break. Beautiful property in Stowe, lifts a 2 minute walk from ski valet. Great service all around. Friendly staff in all departments. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. Never had to wait more than a minute or two for my car or the ski valet. Made reservation through Hotels.com so perhaps is why we got a room with a view of the parking lot, but since we did not spend any time in the room it was OK. Pricey, yes but not as much as other properties out west with similar services and facilities and ski in ski out. Think Beaver Creek -Batchelors Gulch. We had dinner at the bar, good food but nothing special, the burger at $16 with fries and main courses at $25 -$30 are average for a neighborhood restaurant in Boston or Washington DC, so definitly not too expensive. This is a really beautiful property, so you are paying for the overall experience, plus tons of people working to attend to all your needs. Too bad they can not do anything about the weather. We cut our trip short due to rain. We will definitly come back next time we ski that mountain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Stowe Mountain Lodge during your spring ski vacation! We are very proud of friendly staff -- we hear time and time again how they make people feel like this is their home away from home. Along with the service levels, we provide ski in/ski out access, farm to table cuisine and high end amenities throughout the Lodge which we appreciate you noticing. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Stowe, Vermont ski vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
......., NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in February and were very impressed with the quality of service we received. The resort is very spacious and attractive, the room was very nicely decorated and comfortable and we loved the convenience of having a small kitchen in the room, which allowed us to eat breakfast there and get to the slopes faster. We ate at the Hourglass for lunch one day and the Spruce Camp lodge cafeteria the other and the food was excellent, no complaints. At the Hourglass we had the most delicious cheese fondue ever! It was great how you just called ahead and the staff had your skis ready and waiting for you outside - so easy! One night, there was a man playing piano in the main lounge area (Scott Joplin, my favorite!) and that was very nice. Plenty of room in the main lounge to sit and relax. The Spa was also really nice - my daughter had her nails done while I waited for her in a relaxing spa room overlooking the mountain. We used the outdoor pool and hot tub one night - my kids loved it but it was a bit too cold out for me. We saved some money by getting our dinner both nights at PieCasso's and bringing it back to the room and eating by our fireplace. Stowe Mountain Lodge is probably the nicest resort I've been to in the US and I would love to go again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed in a 4-bedroom condo in the Front Four portion of the resort. Condo was huge...felt like you were in a home vs. a condo within a resort. Bedding was absolutely amazing...will probably buy the sheets from the resort for our home. The lodge is beautiful. Crowded on weekends, but there is enough staff to go around. Concierge staff in the Front Four were amazing. Private lobby for Front Four guests was great - large, quiet, and a nice place to hang out until the room was ready.
The lodge is extremely close to the lifts and ski services. There are 2 mountains to ski...the larger of the two is a pretty hard mountain so I would not recommend to beginners.
Food was good...expensive, but that's what you would expect at a ski resort. The food court in the ski village is great (again expensive), but not your normal frozen burger. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant...it was good, but nothing too memorable.
Overall, the resort was great and we look forward to making another trip to Stowe. We flew in/out of Burlington...an easy 45 minute drive. So nice to not have to fly to Denver and drive a few hours to get to a CO ski town!

Room Tip: Stay in the Front Four. A little more expensive, but private lobby, private concierge, etc. is all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryTravelGirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Isle City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yes, the facility is stunning. Yes, it's steps to the lifts. Yes, the people are incredibly kind. But when you pay the per night rate this place charges, you expect certain things to be there. And when they're not, it is, as other reviewers put it, "frustrating."

They advertise "unparallelled" concierge service, but in two pre-visit calls to the concierge, I was told to personally look elsewhere for the services requested. One was transport from the train station ("We used to do that, but we don't anymore."), the other was some grocery staples put in the room's kitchen (we have a small child and were arriving after 9pm...I need to mention that the groceries I ended up paying a service to deliver are available right in the convenience store near the lobby...no concierge ever mentioned this).

When we arrived, check-in was swift and efficient. When we got to the room we called for room service (see small child/late arrival above), but found the menu section in the room's info booklet empty. "We just changed the menu and haven't put anything in the rooms yet. What do you want?" said the room service rep. Really?

We discovered that we were left short on towels, pillows and blankets; there was a main kitchen light out, and the safe in the room was broken (we discovered this because when you opened the closet door it swung out and bonked you in the face). All things rectified the morning after, but, again, see "small child/late arrival/high nightly rate." These are items that should have been addressed when the room was set up prior to our arrival.

Also, as a ski lodge, the drawer space is ridiculous. Perhaps it was just our suite (as I believe some are privately owned and rented through the lodge), but two nightstands with two small drawers and two slightly larger drawers in another part of the room (no bureau whatsoever) is not nearly enough for a ski vacation's needs. There is a shelf in the closet, but it is almost completely occupied by the safe (see "bonked in the face," above). We ended up living out of our suitcase (so sloppy).

There is a lovely pool with two hot tubs. One of the hot tubs was inoperable during our four day stay. The other was lovely, but can only be accessed by doing a fire drill run outside all the way around the big pool (freezing), or wading through the pool (freezing). There was an attendant handing out towels who said to me, "I don't know why everyone's complaining, the pool is at 89 degrees." Ahem, the pool is at 89 degrees and it's 10 outside. We have stayed at the Green Mountain Inn several times over the years and whatever they keep their pool at is ideal. Please, call them and get the temperature.

The restaurants are lovely, the staff friendly, and the food delicious.

But, again, when you indulge in a rate this high, you expect certain things without having to ask. I took out the lodge's online survey after we left and put all of the things in there that I put here. I received an autoreply, "Oh,we're sorry, you will hear from us within two business days." That was almost three months ago, but no one ever got back to us.

When you consider the wealth of lovely resorts in Stowe right along the access road offering door-to-door service to the lifts for a fraction of the price and fantastic onsite amenities of their own.... In a word, frustrating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlipFlopFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and for providing this critical feedback. Please accept my apologies that our service levels were not consistent with how we normally present ourselves. Your feedback will be taken back to the concierge and other relevant staff members and used in a training environment to ensure that when you hopefully choose to return to stay with us, these issues will be resolved. I would very much like to discuss your stay with you offline if you could reach out to me directly at the hotel.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Incredible lobby, floor to ceiling windows looking out onto mountain. Elegant yet cozy. Fantastic swim from inside to outside outdoor pool that was wonderfully warm despite temps in the 30's. So relaxing to swim/hot tub under the stars after day of skiing. Kids loved it! Ski experience was great, staff handles all ski equipment has it ready in the morning for you....no lugging skis.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#6 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
6.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing