We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stowe Mountain Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Green Mountain Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$149
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodores Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$109
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Eagle Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$127
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trapp Family Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$315
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stowehof(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,953)
Filter reviews
2,953 results
Traveler rating
1,912
615
261
110
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,912
615
261
110
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski valetsolstice restauranthourglass bartimberline studiovalet staffski schoolzip linemountain lodgeone bedroom suitebeautiful resortgondola ridespruce peakoff seasonheated poolski resorttop notchfull kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,279 - 2,284 of 2,953 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Everything is wonderful but a special shout out to the staff of the fitness center. Rebecca and Nick are absolute professionals and have taken my core and yoga workouts to the the next level. They may you feel like you are their only client and keep the amenities in pristine condition. We travel from dc to experience not only the great skiing but this personnel level of attention.

Room Tip: Book your dinner and spa reservations ahead of time during the ski season
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

SML is the most covenienent location with ski in ski out and a gondola over to the main mountain from the hotel. However, they gouge with their prices and the value simply isn't there.
Also, the arrival experience was poor. Assistant Manager Front Office checked us in and gave us no information. We were simply told to go to the Base Camp for lift tickets and equipment rental. We ended up being charged twice for lift tickets and were not told that our rentals were in the ski valet room at the lodge waiting for us. This was incredibly frustrating and set the tone for our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms above the first floor should be quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

2nd time we have stayed here skiing and plan to return. The whole resort is luxurious and very relaxing. Rooms are very comfortable and a good size. Slightly expensive but good quality.
Ski in Ski out is amazing with good access to the family friendly slopes.
Only downside was the breakfast buffet option for $26 per person, no a la carte available.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolUKBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just returned from a President's Day weekend at Stowe. Granted, the crowds on such a weekend would tax any resort. And the fact that wind chills were hovering at -30 degrees which made skiing almost impossible didn't help. Nevertheless, compared to personal experiences at the Montage in Deer Valley, One Skihill Place at Breckenridge, The Fairmount Whistler, Stowe Mountain Lodge, and the Stowe resort itself, fare badly.

First, the good. The staff are (almost) all very friendly, and try to be helpful. That being said, many spoke little English, and were unable to communicate in any language, directions to our room, locations of restaurants, etc. The Lodge is the only ski-in/ski-out property listed for Stowe, and they have a monopoly. The Lodge has one restaurant, which serves a buffet breakfast (no a la carte available) for $26/person. There is a small snack bar, or room service for those who wish to avoid the temptations of an extensive buffet. We chose to buy our own supplies, and cook in our suite.) That is it. Same one restaurant for a (pricey) dinner. For any other meals, you need a car, or you can hop on to a shuttle which makes a trip to Stowe village, 5 miles away, about every 30 minutes.

The building shows its age, as do the room furnishings, carpets, etc. We had problems with key cards becoming repeatedly, inexplicably demagnetized, despite being properly protected from cell phones, etc. Interestingly, even in the most expensive suites, there is nowhere to hang a coat; nowhere to hang ski clothing (we simply hung things on the backs of chairs); very limited closet space for any other personal items. There is one ski rental shop ($56 for a day's rental of skis only, without boots, no refunds for non-skied days, leaving early, etc.)

Another area which has potential for improvement is the ski ticket policy. When it was unclear how tolerable weather conditions were at the top of the mountain, there was a reticence to spend $100 for a day ticket that would not be used. A request for a single trial run, even for a payment of $25, was refused. (Their tickets are completely computerized, and it would be easy to program a single pass through). We opted to save the $100 per person, and stay in the room and play family games. Had they let us try, we might have gone ahead and skied that day. What a benefit would accrue the resort if they offered a policy of "hotel guests ski free from 8AM until the lifts open to the general public at 9:00 AM".

While the resort has a captive clientele from the northeast, for those who have a choice of flying to Burlington, or flying to Denver, Salt Lake City, or Vancouver, i would go for the latter.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williambilek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your recent experience. We appreciate hearing about our friendly, engaging staff, ease in accessibility to ski lifts and variety of dining options! I would also enjoy taking this opportunity to address your other observations.

Our Housekeeping Team has received your comments regarding the room furnishings and carpeting and will ensure all are up to our strict standard. We have asked our Front of House Team to be sensitive to any similar key card comments so as not repeat to your unique experience. The Lodge does feature a variety of room categories. Some of which allow for larger closets for convenience.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly as I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to change your opinion of our position within the ski lodge industry. While there are so many other places to ski throughout the country, we pride ourselves in earning accolades such as "Reader's Choice Awards: #5 Top Resort in the United States" from Condé Nast Traveler; "Favorite New Green Retreats" from Travel + Leisure; and "#1 Resort in the Eastern U.S." from by SKI Magazine.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Rooms Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

It only took 2 stays (well, really only 1 stay) to confirm what other reviewers are saying about this hotel...it's fantastic! This was our 2nd stay at this hotel with a family of 4 (kids ages 6 & 8). We stayed for 2 nights, 3 days and had a wonderful time. From the moment you walk into the lobby, you feel relaxed and pampered. The decor is stunning - very "lodge-like" with huge fireplaces, comfy chairs/couches, etc. We were first greeted by very friendly staff who took our vehicle and all of our luggage and ski gear. (It was midnight!!!) The kids were exhausted and we were all hungry...the staff went above and beyond to bring up sandwiches and drinks (the kitchen closed at 11pm) to our room. We booked a 1 bedroom Timberline Suite - perfect for our family. A king bed was in the bedroom with a pullout sofa in the living room. This room also includes a well-appointed kitchen and a beautiful bathroom. The ski valet at this hotel is amazing and so easy for families with young children. Easy and quick...plus they store all your skis & boots over night on special heated racks. Wow!!! We ate dinner at the hotel bar - yummy food and a fun atmosphere. Our last visit, we ate breakfast at Solstice and it was delicious. After a day of skiing, the outdoor heated pool and hot tub was awesome. The kids thought this was so fun! A tip: if you book through American Express Luxury Hotels & Resorts, you will get some bonus features: $100 hotel credit, breakfast for 2 each morning, late 4pm checkout and upgrade of room if available.

I would highly recommend this hotel...it is truly a 5 star experience!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the South Wing...the last room on the hall. So quiet...4th floor!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalFam170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews