We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous lodge, impeccable service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The overall atmosphere of SML is elegant and relaxed. We found the facilities to be well designed and well built. There is good sound insulation - even my hyper sensitive husband was able to get a good night sleep! We found the staff and the guests at SML to be courteous, helpful and discreet.

Of the ski resorts in VT that we've been to - Mt Snow, Okemo, Killington, this was by far our favorite!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liebling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,258 - 2,264 of 2,886 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We (husband and 2 kids) stayed for 4 nights at SML and had a blast. The skiing was wonderful with a huge selection of runs to choose from for every ability. The kids did 2 days in the Adventure Camp and loved it. They were dropped off at 0900 and we picked them up at 1530 tired but happy and their skiing really improved. But what we really impressed with was the service we received...it was faultless. The car was taken away by the valets and returned with minimum fuss, the skis were placed outside for us to collect after a quick call from the room, our boots and bulky kit were stored, dried and easy to retrieve, they even packed our car for us on the last day so that we had maximum amount of ski time...nothing was too much trouble and the staff were genuinely pleasant and helpful. The food in the various cafes and restaurants was good, affordable and plentiful. The trip did cost a bit more than we have paid before but was it worth it? yes! without a doubt. I can't wait until we can go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annamals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a wonderful three days / two nights at Stowe Mountain Lodge. We were back for the first time since it opened a few years back. It is still fresh and new and the service was excellent for a very busy week between Christmas and New Year's. The staff was gracious and went above and beyond to make sure our stay exceeded our expectations. Our family (including 3 boys) had a great time. The pool is amazing and the kids loved it, as well as the mountain, which continues to be our favorite spot in the East.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've been to this hotel 4 times. Stayed in 1 bedroom suite and 2 bedroom suites. Stay in the newer wing--much nicer rooms. Need to call housekeeping to service the room once you leave in the morning. Otherwise, service can be late. But, the housekeeping team is very friendly and accomodating. Solstice is as advertised and very good quality. Hourglass service a tad slow. Downside--the hotel does not have a kids club. This would come in very handy for tired parents and for kids who need a break and to blow off steam. The ski concierge team is handy and quick. Can't beat the proximity of the hotel to the lifts! Expensive, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babybear73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

First of all, we had a great experience in Stowe! We stayed for 5 nights, in two beautiful hotel rooms. Very clean, loved the fireplace, great TV with many channels, kitchenette fully equipped, good size fridge, beautiful bathroom with awesome hairdryer (I had to say it..), and everything else you would expect from a resort like this. Beautiful spa, etc. However, there are some reasons I cannot give this hotel 5 stars.

1. Housekeeping
They were very inconsistent. The first day they did everything perfectly fine, the next day they forgot to clean one of the two rooms. Had to call 3 times until housekeeping actually showed up. Some days they came to clean around 5 pm? A little late don't you think? Or they came around lunchtime. Very inconvenient as we were trying to cook and eat lunch, while having children AND housekeeping running around. The housekeeping management has some polishing to do.

2. Bar & Restaurant
The hotel bar & restaurant is not only used by the hotel guests, but also by many outsiders who go skiing for the day and go there for apres skiing purposes. However, these "outsiders" occupied the seats available all day, leaving no space for the actual guests. Trying to peacefully have some drinks downstairs is absolutely impossible. It is loud, hectic, chaotic. Not enjoyable, and a long wait for drinks/food. Order drinks, and take it to your room instead.

3. Ski Valet
We purposely ordered our ski equipment in time. Upon arrival, one of our people's equipment was not there, for no explained reason. We ordered it beforehand to avoid chaos the next morning, and even with our careful preparation, the ski valet messed up, and we were in the morning chaos for ski equipment anyways.

4. Parking
High parking fee, and we called for our car every night 40 mins beforehand, we had 2 occasions where are car was still not picked up once we came downstairs to leave, and therefore had to wait an additional 20 mins for our car, even though we called way beforehand.

5. Dinner
Restaurant was booked for days, so we had no chance of eating in the hotel's Solstice restaurant. One night, there was no way getting down to the town, so we had no dinner because SML does not offer room service dinner either, or maybe we did not see the sheet for that? I do know they have breakfast offerings.

Besides these minor hiccups, we had a great experience. Awesome location, GREAT skiing for all levels, nice/polite staff, fantastic rooms & views, and I definitely think this is the best hotel for skiers since it is at the foot of the mountain! Great facilities, just some management and capacity issues.

Worth a visit!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor on the south side are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravellerLaura11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a pleasant experience it was to stay at this Hotel, everyone was very friendly and the property was absolutely beautiful. This was our first time in VT and we are glad we picked SML to stay at. The staff went above expatiations in making sure all our needs were met.

Room Tip: We had a room facing Mt Mansfield but after being there, I can't imagine that their is a bad vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent five days during the holiday season at the Stowe Mountain Lodge. It is a wonderful hotel and the employees try their best and usually provide outstanding attention and service. First, the highs....

Their valet and bellman service are as good as anywhere I've experienced. I understand some people complain about the daily fee, but in the middle of winter it's fantastic. We pulled up mid-evening, and our bags and skis were unpacked and delivered without delay. When we called for the car during our stay, it was warm and waiting by the time we made it to the lobby. When we were checking out, the bellman arrived at the room less than five minutes after we called (during a busy time for the hotel), and stored our bags while we skied.

Ski valet is excellent. Super convenient, very quick. Called each morning about 10 minutes before we arrived, and our skis were outside and boots ready for us at the counter. With two kids in tow, it's such a great amenity to not worry about getting our gear on the mountain or where to store.

Solstice was outstanding. Great food for my wife and I, and the kids buffet is a great idea. Generally my children beg not to go to the "fancy" restaurants (which they consider to be any meal lasting longer than one hour and without a game room or tv's), but asked to return every night. The waiter and host were fantastic, as was the food. Price was reasonable considering it was a resort fine dining restaurant.

Room was luxurious. Quality furnishings, beautiful bathrooms, high end sheets and comfortable beds. Spa was fantastic according to my wife.

Now the nitpicks......

Upon check-in, the rate was $90/day higher than I'd reserved. When I pointed it out, they said we were upgraded from a one bedroom alpine to a two bedroom ridgeline. I'll give the benefit of the doubt that this was true, but I would've thought they'd ask us before doing so automatically. We would have opted for the upgrade in any event, so no huge issue there.

My biggest complaint is the noise. There is a gap between the door to the room and the hallway that is about an inch and a half. I'm not sure if it's the insulation or the gap (suspect it's the latter), but you hear EVERYTHING that occurs in the hallway or next door. Normal conversation from people walking past our door could be heard clearly- even with us down the hall and in the bedrooms- and it was annoying every night. Not sure if this is a fire-related issue or whether the resort simply didn't seal the doors properly....but when a hotel as beautiful as Stowe Mountain Lodge has a major fault such as paper-thin insulation it's a drawback.

Those were the only few complaints we had, and we will absolutely go back. The mountain is amazing, the hotel tries as hard as anywhere we've been in attempting to please, and it was a wonderful beginning to our vacation. As we were checking out and awaiting our gear from the ski valet, they could not locate my youngest son's poles. Apparently a family had inadvertently taken them. A manager of the hotel came out immediately and offered to do anything we wished- provide a credit for the cost of new ski poles, ship the current ones as soon as they were found, etc. Minor mistakes happen all the time and can't be controlled even by the most attentive staff, so such an immediate "how can I help, what can I do?" response from management left us duly impressed.

Highly recommend. Just fix the sound issues!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gold233790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,409 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
287 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#10 of 24 in Stowe
210 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
166 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Spa Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $182 - $841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, bedfinder AG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing