We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Resort nestled at the bottom of Mt. Mansfield” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome Resort nestled at the bottom of Mt. Mansfield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Breathtaking RESORT!!!

We (my wife and I) vacationed at this breath taking Lodge for 4 days / 3nights - July 5th - 9th for our 24th Anniversary. We booked via CAA (Expedia) with a discounted rate. It is an expensive resort but worth every penny. I would have to say probably the BEST in all of Stowe, VT. Previous reviews made comments to an inexperienced "young" staff and lack of service. We "APPLAUD" these young kids as we found them very "RESPECTFUL" and "COURTEOUS". We personally had the Manager (Ben) call us to follow up on a refrigerator and iron not working prperly in our room which was resolved the same day we arrived. Can't get much better follow up then that! There are plenty of eateries along the main road (Mountain Road) so there is a wide variety to choose from from night to night.
This resort is a 5 star in our eyes and highly recommend it for couples / family.

Special thanks to Brad (Valet).... a very kind and respectful youngster. I applaud these kids working hard! It great to see in this day and age. There is a daily charge for valet parking.

The accommodations and rooms are top notch with Fireplace, Granite bathrooms, and exquisite designs and decor. Definitely the place to stay in Stowe!

Vito & Mary - Unionville, Ont. Canada

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veets63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Front Office Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Stowe Mountain Lodge and the kind words about our associates! We strive to provide a memorable stay for all of our guests through service and amenities and are glad to hear you enjoyed both. We truly hope you had a happy anniversary and that we'll host you again for your 25th!

Best,
Rick Fidel
Rooms Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,617
    530
    219
    87
    45
See reviews for
1,068
873
46
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our first time in a ski resort and everything we could ask for except everything is pricey. Talking $5 cocoa pricey. Still, swimming in the pool at night gazing at a snow cover peak, is priceless! The "kitchen " is super tiny as is fridge. All gorgeous though.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squirrelnibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I have nothing but good things to say. The views were amazing from our room looking up to The Cliff House. The valet staff were amazing friendly and everyone greeted you with a hello at every encounter. Ever inch of the hotel we clean. This is truely a place for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clemente731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

A few friends and I booked a weekend at SML last month and had an excellent time. It was a great mix of outdoors and pampering. The rooms were very comfortable - great beds. We really enjoyed the pool and surrounding hiking trials. We are planning on going back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

My family and I had an incredible time at this hotel, we experienced some issues (things happen) but what made the difference for me was how the hotel managed this issue, they took responsibility for it and made it right! The pool and gym are amazing. The staff are as friendly and helpful as can be, the restaurant is top notch and the hotel's overall attention to details is unparalleled. I would have given this place a 5 + stars except that I really don't like the mandatory valet parking, not only is it pricey, you lose some flexibility, I forgot my sunglasses in the car, normally I would walk to my car to get it, In this case I didn't feel like calling the valet park for my sunglasses, that was annoying and they should fix this problem, I overheard other guests complaining about the same problem.

Room Tip: Parking is only valet, annoying! let them know
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aberdidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Recently stayed at the Stowe Mountain Lodge for four nights with a friend. The resort is at the top of the Stowe and has easy access to downtown area. Booked the resort through American Express Fine Hotel & Resort collection and found it to be a great experience. The last week of June is not "peak" season so it felt like we had the resort to ourselves. The pool was gorgeous but the rain and overcast weather kept us away. We did enjoy the spa services and took advantage of the amenties for a full day.

Solstice Restaurant was excellent...we ate breakfast each morning in the restaurant and enjoyed the restaurants in town for dinner. The Whip restaurant was recommended by the staff and they were spot on with the choice.

Overall the staff were excellent and very friendly. Great place to enjoy the outdoors and simply relax for a few days. I'll definitely go back to experience a different season and enjoy the resort!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2TravWayne_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Front Office Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
We appreciate your stay with us as well as your review! With all the choices you have for getaways in Stowe, Vermont, thank you for enjoying your time away with us. Next time, we look forward to hosting you in whatever season you come and having you enjoy the pool then!

Regards,
Rick Fidel
Rooms Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

The drive in was fantastic. We crossed Lake Champlain which was flooded but allowed the fishermen easy access. The terrain gradually became hillier and with all the rain was lush and green. The final leg was on a winding road with numerous cars parked in rest stops and a whole slew of hikers on the trails. It was really quite picturesque.

We arrived at the valet parking and even though there were a number of cars we received fast energetic service in escorting us to the check-in where there were more than enough clerks to process guests quickly. In fact, the only wait we had the entire trip was a brief one at check out when the valets were retrieving a dozen or so cars. Even then they were cheerful while they hurriedly shuttled vehicles. The attitude of all the employees was professional throughout our stay. The bell hop gave an informative synopsis of the hotel's amenities while bringing the luggage to the room.

Down the hall from the front desk are a couple of shops. They are pricey and if you are looking for souvenirs or mementos you can find much better bargains in town. There is a section where you can buy snacks and wine. I preferred the restaurant food which was excellent although some menu items were lacking in portion size. There was a decent selection of beer and a fantastic wine list. The bartender was exceptionally helpful when I decided to select a bottle to take to our room.

Exercise facilities, heated pool and jacuzzi are nearby and there is a small arcade for the kids. The studio rooms are top notch. The beds are comfortable and the rooms had both a pull out sofa and a chair. The two leather footstools were a nice touch and the gas fireplace added to the ambiance. In addition, we enjoyed the flat screen tv and free internet. I shouldn't forget the kitchenette which was well-equipped with cooking facilities and quality cookware. There was also a dishwasher.

The room had two full-length robes available for purchase. The bathroom was huge and outfitted throughout with marble. The shower was spacious and the separate tub deep. There were plenty of towels including two over-sized ones. The toilet was in a separate enclosure.

Lastly, the view from the extra large and private balcony was wonderful both for an evening wine or a morning coffee.

All of this comes at a cost but the rewards make a visit a must.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
3.3 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing