We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our first time in a ski resort and everything we could ask for except everything is pricey. Talking $5 cocoa pricey. Still, swimming in the pool at night gazing at a snow cover peak, is priceless! The "kitchen " is super tiny as is fridge. All gorgeous though.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squirrelnibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,664)
There are newer reviews for Stowe Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,433 - 2,439 of 2,664 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

I have nothing but good things to say. The views were amazing from our room looking up to The Cliff House. The valet staff were amazing friendly and everyone greeted you with a hello at every encounter. Ever inch of the hotel we clean. This is truely a place for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemente731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

A few friends and I booked a weekend at SML last month and had an excellent time. It was a great mix of outdoors and pampering. The rooms were very comfortable - great beds. We really enjoyed the pool and surrounding hiking trials. We are planning on going back again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My family and I had an incredible time at this hotel, we experienced some issues (things happen) but what made the difference for me was how the hotel managed this issue, they took responsibility for it and made it right! The pool and gym are amazing. The staff are as friendly and helpful as can be, the restaurant is top notch and the hotel's overall attention to details is unparalleled. I would have given this place a 5 + stars except that I really don't like the mandatory valet parking, not only is it pricey, you lose some flexibility, I forgot my sunglasses in the car, normally I would walk to my car to get it, In this case I didn't feel like calling the valet park for my sunglasses, that was annoying and they should fix this problem, I overheard other guests complaining about the same problem.

Room Tip: Parking is only valet, annoying! let them know
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aberdidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Recently stayed at the Stowe Mountain Lodge for four nights with a friend. The resort is at the top of the Stowe and has easy access to downtown area. Booked the resort through American Express Fine Hotel & Resort collection and found it to be a great experience. The last week of June is not "peak" season so it felt like we had the resort to ourselves. The pool was gorgeous but the rain and overcast weather kept us away. We did enjoy the spa services and took advantage of the amenties for a full day.

Solstice Restaurant was excellent...we ate breakfast each morning in the restaurant and enjoyed the restaurants in town for dinner. The Whip restaurant was recommended by the staff and they were spot on with the choice.

Overall the staff were excellent and very friendly. Great place to enjoy the outdoors and simply relax for a few days. I'll definitely go back to experience a different season and enjoy the resort!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2TravWayne_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Front Office Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

We appreciate your stay with us as well as your review! With all the choices you have for getaways in Stowe, Vermont, thank you for enjoying your time away with us. Next time, we look forward to hosting you in whatever season you come and having you enjoy the pool then!

Regards,
Rick Fidel
Rooms Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The drive in was fantastic. We crossed Lake Champlain which was flooded but allowed the fishermen easy access. The terrain gradually became hillier and with all the rain was lush and green. The final leg was on a winding road with numerous cars parked in rest stops and a whole slew of hikers on the trails. It was really quite picturesque.

We arrived at the valet parking and even though there were a number of cars we received fast energetic service in escorting us to the check-in where there were more than enough clerks to process guests quickly. In fact, the only wait we had the entire trip was a brief one at check out when the valets were retrieving a dozen or so cars. Even then they were cheerful while they hurriedly shuttled vehicles. The attitude of all the employees was professional throughout our stay. The bell hop gave an informative synopsis of the hotel's amenities while bringing the luggage to the room.

Down the hall from the front desk are a couple of shops. They are pricey and if you are looking for souvenirs or mementos you can find much better bargains in town. There is a section where you can buy snacks and wine. I preferred the restaurant food which was excellent although some menu items were lacking in portion size. There was a decent selection of beer and a fantastic wine list. The bartender was exceptionally helpful when I decided to select a bottle to take to our room.

Exercise facilities, heated pool and jacuzzi are nearby and there is a small arcade for the kids. The studio rooms are top notch. The beds are comfortable and the rooms had both a pull out sofa and a chair. The two leather footstools were a nice touch and the gas fireplace added to the ambiance. In addition, we enjoyed the flat screen tv and free internet. I shouldn't forget the kitchenette which was well-equipped with cooking facilities and quality cookware. There was also a dishwasher.

The room had two full-length robes available for purchase. The bathroom was huge and outfitted throughout with marble. The shower was spacious and the separate tub deep. There were plenty of towels including two over-sized ones. The toilet was in a separate enclosure.

Lastly, the view from the extra large and private balcony was wonderful both for an evening wine or a morning coffee.

All of this comes at a cost but the rewards make a visit a must.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bulroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night in June 2011 and absolutely loved it. The staff was so accommodating and very friendly. We had a quick bite at The Hourglass bar on the second floor which was delicious.

The room was amazing, our view was of the ski lifts and mountain trails. Our balcony was completely covered and huge - it was nice to sit outside and enjoy the views. The bathroom was gorgeous, filled with marble, as was the kitchen area. The bedroom area was very spacious, and included a pull out couch and fireplace to relax by. A flat screen TV completes the bedroom area, which we enjoyed, however the TV froze quite a bit, and was not user-friendly. We rented a movie for $15 and could not replay it despite falling asleep half way through...we would have had to pay for it again! Just mentioning this so people are aware as there was no warning that you only got one shot at watching anything you order.

We are from Canada and the only down-side was that our cell phones did not work within the property...however, we were high up on a mountain, so it wasn't that surprising. The only other thing we want to mention is that check-in is not until 4pm and check-out is at 11am - we asked to extend both, which was not a problem.

If you would like to splurge and enjoy a wonderful atmosphere, and a room with awesome views, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMD_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,315 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
216 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
133 reviews
6.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
178 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Spa Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $230 - $829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing