We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrison's Restaurant & Bar

Harrison's Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Harrison's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: the local mountain shuttle drops off just steps away from the restaurant. Check with your hotel front desk for updated route schedules
Description: located in historic Stowe village. Serving seafood, steaks, burgers and homemade desserts. Dinner nightly. Experience a local favorite in a cozy atmosphere. Patio dining on Main Street available in summer months
Wirral
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We didn't think we'd get to eat here as when we tried to book a table we were given the option of either straight away (4:30) or much later on (8:30). However we were told that we could eat at the bar so tried again at 5.30 and luckily due to a cancellation got a booth to ourselves. We knew it would be good having checked the trip advisor reviews but it was even better than expected. The food was absolutely delicious - I had the apple cider chicken - and we shared the cheese fries as a starter. Lovely friendly atmosphere and definitely worth all the excellent reviews.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pjb0st0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    279
    89
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
neptune beach, fl
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The quality and the presentation of the dishes are fabulous. To start I ordered a beet salad with goat cheese. To my surprise, it was a bed of greens topped with what looked like lasagne. It was layered with slices of beet with a mixture of goat cheese and crushed nuts between (several layers, I might add). Delicious. I could have stopped there it was so filling. Everything we had was wonderful.

Reservations highly recommended. We were lucky, we got there early and decided to wait, and glad we did. It was well worth the wait. The decor is very nice. Service was very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jm5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Amazing as always. Came to celebrate joint anniversary dinners here. Great. Food and wonderful service. Worth the reservation. Warm cozy atmosphere . Would highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rinkrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“First Time Here and....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have visited Stowe so often and why we never ate at Harrison's is something I'm still asking myself. Because one of our favorite restaurants is now closed Monday evenings (even during peak fall foliage), I looked to Tripadvisor to find a restaurant for the Monday night we were there and found Harrison's to be in the top ranking. I called and made a 6:30pm reservation for Columbus Day. We walked in behind another couple without a reservation and they were told the next available would be 9:00pm. We were then seated right away with no wait, in a cozy booth and the waitress came right over to take our drink orders. For dinner we had the boneless buffalo wings for an appetizer (nice and spicy), I ordered the prime rib sandwich (absolutely juicy and delish), my husband ordered the shrimp and scallops over ravioli and last but definitely not least - for dessert we had the profiteroles (do not miss these). The service was helpful and cheerful - no issues at all. The restaurant is warm and cozy - what a find! I highly recommend this restaurant and we will be back - even if our favorite restaurant is open!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catnjim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
208 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Wen in Stowe, eat with the locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a good family owned and run brasserie. Good food, pleasant service and a wide menu make this a really good choice. We were recommended by the tourist office and were so happy, we returned to thank them! The prices are fair and I would make a recommendation. The only negative is that the restaurant is in a basement and is accessed down a steep flight of stairs.

Helpful?
Thank LondonPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrison's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Harrison's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing