We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to try harder” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mi Casa Kitchen and Bar - CLOSED

Mi Casa Kitchen and Bar
Cuisines: Mexican, American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Shirley, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Need to try harder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Food was okay. Not the best. Greeter and server almost seemed unhappy to see our party of seven. Their hours stated open till ten. We saw them turn away another group of five around 9:30.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Mi Casa Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for your review. We are always trying harder and your observations provide important areas in which to focus. We hope you will try us again.
Mi Casa es su casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson,NH
Level Contributor
259 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“New Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Food is good, but the lunch menu I found was pricy. It is the
only Mexican Restaurant in town.
Typical Mexican Fare.
I like a Burrito with Hamburg instead of Skirt Steak. I also don't like it really crispy. That is my taste.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but the host needs attitude adjustment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Found the ad in the Stowe Magazine & were in the mood for Tex Mex and the outdoor deck, late afternoon on a sunny holiday Saturday. We knew there were empty tables available and were glad our group of 3 could be seated with no reservation. The group of 5 before us was turned away for the deck, no effort by the host to check on the tables. I told her I saw empty tables and we would not be there all night so they let us in. Funny how we sat next to two empty tables for the next hour+ where that group of 5 could have enjoyed their evening. Food was good, but better choices are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CE151CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location - need more spices!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Had lunch at Mi Casa -- we love tex mex so we were excited to try it. Service was friendly and attentive....sat outside which is very nice. The food is fresh and tasty BUT they need to use a bit more spices. We ordered the guacamole which was fresh and home made but too much garlic, bland otherwise...would have liked a little heat and/or onion? The tacos are really good - but again a little more flavor. Kids loved the quesadillas. Husband loved the Heady Topper!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
254 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Really surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The two salsas for our chips were very good, not the normal picante stuff you get at every Mexican food place. We had the shrimp and cheese quesadillas, I was surprised they weren't rubbery. The shrimp was cooked well and the key lime pie was good too. Little pricey compared to most Mexican places but better ingredients also. I would go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAppalachainRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Casa Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing