We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Macaroni and Cheese EVER!”

The Stowe Inn Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
The Stowe Inn Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Stowe Inn offers all guests a full-service on-site bar and restaurant at the River House Restaurant. The River House Restaurant provides a unique culinary experience with “sustainable farm to table” dishes served fresh daily. The quality menu can only be matched by the first-class customer service and relaxing, friendly atmosphere. Whether you are looking for a casual dinner for two, a glass of wine and an appetizer, or a full three-course meal, the River House Restaurant offers the delicious dining experience you’ve been looking for.The restaurant is open for Dinner Wednesday-Sunday from 5PM to 10PM. Check our Specials Wednesday thru Saturday.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Macaroni and Cheese EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Great new young chef doing a good job at this restaurant. Great food and service!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    21
    13
    15
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“New chef in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I heard that the River House had a new chef so my husband and I decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised: all the food was very well presented and cooked to perfection. I will definitely go back for more.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pokemonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

we read the reviews on the riverside restaurant at the stowe inn and were not expecting much but we wanted to try something new since we're locals and have been everywhere else. We were very surprised by the excellent meal we had (tried the chefs tasting menu) everything was very fresh and perfectly done. Apparently, they have recently (one month ago) hired a new chef...seems to be doing a good job.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
190 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“See my review of the Stowe Inn Restaurant, same place.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This place seems to switch it's name back and forth, but it is the same place. We had a horrible experience here. Won't someone take this place over and run it as well as Kathy Kneely of Harrisson's did???? Please????

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I recently stayed at the Stowe Inn and enjoyed a nice meal at the River House Restaurant. I was told there was a new chef. Kudos to him, the meal was excellent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stowe Inn Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Stowe Inn Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing