We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Food in a Casual Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plate

Plate
Ranked #9 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Food in a Casual Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

The menu is very creative with many flavors and types of dishes to choose. They serve in-season fare from the local area which makes the menu local and exciting. We had corn chowder, with local corn and mushrooms, which was delightful with its distinctive flavors. Also has swordfish served on a medley of vegetables and unique with its flavorful spices. The flavors and smells were exciting and amazing. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    48
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it's worth”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

After waithing 45 minutes i ordred the roasted chicken and it arrived 20.minutes after ordering. It was nut cooked so we send it back. When it came back it was still uncooked and for 23$ don't think it was worth. The service was very slow. Stowe has many restaurant don't dissapoint your little vacation by a restaurant. NOT TO GO TO.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Lilo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizagirl, Owner at Plate, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
This response isn't so much for the lady who wrote this review but more for others that use Trip Advisor in making a decision as where to have a great experience for dinner. As we mentioned to this person, we were extremely busy and had a waiting list of over 10 parties. We made this person aware that the wait would be between 45 minutes to an hour and that her party could go to the bar to have a drink, or take one outside to the patio where we would make them aware when a table had opened up. She came back twice before a half hour had even elapsed, irritated that they had not been sat. We apologized and reminded her that other parties were in front of her party and that we would be sitting her party as soon as possible.

This is the life of a restaurant. Our goal though is to make it as accomadating as possible for all of our guest, especially when it's extremely busy. We are completely aware of standards falling through the cracks when we are at max capacity and work very hard at keeping things at a level that we feel best represents what Plate is all about. great healthy food, friendly service and sending guest off with great memories of their experience.

As for the chicken dish, we apologize that you didn't care for it. We understand that people like things cooked to different degrees but It was obvious after coming to your table to let you know that I took it off the bill and also offered you anything else on the house that you were really just "mad at the dirt" and to apologize once more and move on.

MarkR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food: Fantastic; tweaks needed elsewhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Let me start off by saying the food at Plate is something really special. But, there are minor tweaks that need to happen for the experience to really get an excellent rating. We were seated at our table on on Sunday night and then... nothing. Staff walked by us at least 10 times without asking if we wanted a drink or offering a menu. Finally, someone saw us and gave us a little attention. For starters, we enjoyed the matzoh ball soup, pork belly and the gazpacho as starters. Granted the soups needed sprinkles of salt to bring up some flavor, but otherwise they were all terrific. And then....nothing for almost 45 minutes -- we waited, and waited, and waited. Finally our entrees arrived and they too were excellent - the roast chicken, hamburger and skirt skirt were each cooked to perfection. The quality of the ingredients really came through. The food coming out of this kitchen is fresh and modern and really hits the mark. But, the front of the house needs to sync up with the back in order to make this a truly fantastic experience for their guests.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTraveler1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizagirl, Owner at Plate, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
First of all, we are very happy you were so pleased with the food! That being said, we feel just as passionate about our service, and it sounds like yours was not up to our standards. Because we are 5 months old, every day provides a new challenge. There were a few nights the week you visited that provided just that. Too many people seated at once meant that we were concentrating on getting the food out and may have lost touch with the rest of what "excellent" service means. We learn every day how to do things better, and sincerely appreciate that you could see past what we did wrong, for what we did right! We will take this to heart, and next time you choose to have dinner with us, we will strive to live up to every expectation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
208 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace from typical Vermont fare.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Plate brings a much-needed twist from the traditional steak, burgers and seafood restaurants that you find in the area. Seems like they brought in a real chef who has some flair. Yes, they do have burgers, but they are ground fresh and they taste that way. The salads are different and very fresh. The menu is limited, but all the dishes are fantastic. Tip: the succotash (yeah I know succotash?) is to die for. If it doesn't come with your meal, order a side of it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RootBeerFloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This was a great find in Stowe, good food done very well. I had the 1/2 roast chicken and it was excellent. There was a great atmosphere and the staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing