We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Enjoyable”

Gentle Giants Sleigh and Carriage Rides
Ranked #17 of 59 things to do in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We used Gentle Giants based on the recommendation from Three Bears at the Fountain. It was wonderful. The price was very reasonable, the ride was very relaxing and the scenery was beautiful. We rode through the woods, next to the creek, through fields of flowers and around several pastures with great views of Mt. Mansfield.

The horses are beautiful, well trained and mild mannered. Our driver Scotty was a blast and our horse Jack was a delight. The two worked like a well oiled machine. It was a true pleasure.

This is a fun, relaxing and enjoyable way for some romance or just to spend some down time with your significant other. Something for all the guys to remember, if you're going to propose let the drivers know ahead of time. Regardless of the fact that I'm already married, Scotty showed us the perfect place to propose (hint hint).

Thanks Scotty and Jack!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank crutt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    21
    9
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were fortunate enough to have it snowing the day we went. It was really beautiful. The price was reasonable as well. The ride was around 45 minutes which was perfect as it was chilly even with the blanket they provide.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank stebs3646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOWE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Carriage Ride in the Snow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

What more could you ask for then a big gentle giant toting you around the woods of STOWE - in one word --- AMAZING!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank KAREN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Carriage Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We went for a wonderful carriage ride with Scotty and 'Jack' our horse. He is an amazing animal! He and Scotty are two connected souls! If you go to Stowe, take a carriage ride here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Micki333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
477 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
“Just average, but very nice folks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The drivers there are nice. Chatty. They let you pet the horses and are interesting story tellers about the horses. But I come from a farm, and I guess that it was less magical for me, feeding and petting horses. The horses do look healthy and well treated though

But for $35/person, I expected a more interesting carriage ride. The recreation path was OK, and the carriage ride lasted 1/2 hour, but I have been on many of these rides and I expected more things to see.

It was just OK.

Might be better in the winter with the sleigh rides, and I am willing to try them again at that time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gentle Giants Sleigh and Carriage Rides also viewed

 

Been to Gentle Giants Sleigh and Carriage Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing