We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Our new favorite place!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dutch Pancake Cafe

Dutch Pancake Cafe
Ranked #37 of 100 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Dutch Pancake Cafe was reviewed by the New York Times as "The World's Most Decadent Breakfast" and by the Stowe Guide as "One of Stowe's Most Unique Dining Attractions". We feature over 80 varieties of 12-inch sweat and hearty Dutch pancakes. Dutch pancakes are specially prepared, crepe-like pancakes with a variety of ingredients baked in such as, apple cinnamon pancakes, shredded potato, onion and cheese pancakes, bacon and banana pancakes, chocolate chip with whipped cream pancakes .
Level Contributor
253 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wow! Our new favorite place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We took a shot eating here over some of the other places reviewed and we were so happy! We spent 2 days in Stowe and ate here both days we loved it so much. Our server Danielle was really amazing and walked us through the menu. She was really attentive, sweet, and helpful. She recommended her favorite which became our favorite and we got it both days "walnut maple dutch pancake". These Dutch pancakes that they make are kind of like crepes. Super thin but they bake the ingredients into the thin pancake. The maple walnut was a syrup that went ontop and it was so tasty. See my pictures! The first day we also got the apple bacon which had tasty apples and crispy bacon cooked in. Amazing! My wife and I loved it do much we couldn't wait to come back the next morning. We of course got the maple walnut one again and I got the potato, onion, and cheddar cheese pancake and this one was even better. It was served with sour cream and apple sauce but we loved it plain and also with a little maple syrup. Excellent coffee snd fresh OJ too! By far the best place if you are looking for something different with a Vermont flair!!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 3sons314416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Front Desk Agent at Dutch Pancake Cafe, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I am very happy to read about your pleasant experience at The Dutch Pancake Cafe. I have passed along your wonderful compliments to Danielle and she was most pleased that you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere.

The Maple Walnut pancake is certainly a customer favorite, but with 50 other options for what you can put on or in your pancake, please feel free to come in frequently and try them all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    106
    46
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southwest usa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Quiet breakfast place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Food was good and accomodated my wife's food allergies. That is always a good thing in our book. Reasonable prices.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dfz-cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Front Desk Agent at Dutch Pancake Cafe, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your positive review of The Dutch Pancake. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your food and found our prices to be reasonable. We do try to accommodate food allergies whenever possible, and I'm happy to hear that our kitchen was able to make something that your wife was able to enjoy. If you should find yourself in Stowe again, we do hope you'll come back to The Dutch Pancake for a second visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We visited here for breakfast when we stayed in Stowe 9 years ago and again 6 years ago and as we are back in Stowe for a few days we couldn't wait to eat here again. It wasn't that busy and we were shown to a table straight away. We asked for coffee and water and we waited and waited, which is very unusual for any American restaurant. We asked again for coffee and we were told coming right up but still no coffee, despite the coffee pot being just a few feet away from us. Eventually we got some and then waited again for water. The pancakes came and although they were the same size as before they were much thinner. Very delicious I must say but I ordered my favourite, banana and blueberry and there were loads of blueberries but only about four slices of banana. Rather overpriced we thought so won't be going back, which is a real shame.

Helpful?
1 Thank GandMFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Front Desk Agent at Dutch Pancake Cafe, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Dutch Pancake. I am pleased to read that your breakfast was delicious, but I am sorry that you had a less than stellar overall experience.

It is unfortunate that you encountered a wait before you were given your coffee and water, as this is most certainly not common practice at The Dutch Pancake. We do have two seating areas that we serve during breakfast, and therefore, it is completely possible that the morning you were in, we were far busier than it would have seemed from where you were seated. This may be why you to have to wait for your beverages.

You mentioned that you were pleased with the amount of blueberries that were in your pancake. However, if you felt as though your pancake was not topped with enough banana slices, why did you not make mention to your waitress that you wanted more, instead of waiting until after you departed to take notice? We cannot correct this problem now that you have left, but had you mentioned it while you were still here, we would have had the opportunity to add bananas and make your meal more enjoyable. I would hope that all future customers who read this would keep in mind that we would rather fix an issue during your meal than read about it after-the-fact in a manner that leaves us unable to make our guests happy.

As I mentioned to a previous reviewer, our pancakes are made on cooking plates from Holland that are 12 inches in diameter that have allowed our chefs to create consistently sized pancakes for the last 20 years. In addition, we use batter dispensers that ensure our pancakes are the same thickness by dispensing the same amount of batter each time a pancake is made. Therefore, our pancakes have not become smaller or thinner since implementing these tools into our kitchen over 20 years ago.

I am sorry that you found your meal to be less than perfect. Should you find yourself in Stowe again, I would hope that you give The Dutch Pancake another chance to impress you with our world-class breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“steveyb02”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good breakfast. Very interesting choices available. Dutch pancakes are definitely a change from our US pancakes. Prices seem to be reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank steveyb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Front Desk Agent at Dutch Pancake Cafe, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive review of The Dutch Pancake. I am most pleased to read that you had an enjoyable breakfast, and we do hope to be able to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pancakes that have REALLY shrunk in size!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have been coming here every for many years, but the last time might just be our last. This place has great food, but we were pretty surprised by how much the pancakes "shrunk" in size from the previous year. I know the economy has shrunk, but you're not going to keep you business up at this rate. Accordingly, there were way less people in there than usual. Too bad. We used to love this place. Went back to McCarthy's from our old ski days.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vernazza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Front Desk Agent at Dutch Pancake Cafe, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions of your most recent trip to The Dutch Pancake. We do understand that, though we have much pride in our service and product, there is always room to improve, and we cannot do so without feedback.

In response to your comment that our pancakes have “shrunk” – our pancakes are made by pouring our signature batter onto cooking plates that are 12 inches in diameter. These plates were purchased in Holland over 20 years ago by the previous owner of The Dutch Pancake, and have been in constant use in our kitchen ever since. These plates allow our chefs to prepare consistently sized pancakes, and therefore, our pancake size has not changed since implementing the cooking plates into our kitchen.

Like all small businesses, The Dutch Pancake has not been immune to the challenges that our economy poses. To compensate for the stress that this places on both businesses and customers, some of our neighboring restaurants in Stowe have increased their prices, while others have decreased their portion sizes to avoid altering their affordability. After reviewing our budget, our talented kitchen manager has avoided shrinking products or increasing prices. At the same time, he has managed to purchase higher quality ingredients, many of which are locally grown and support small businesses around Vermont. This has allowed us to improve our product, and the additional cost is offset by the increase in customers who are happy with these mutually beneficial changes.

Accordingly, The Dutch Pancake has been as busy (if not busier) than we have in previous years. It is completely possible that you came in on a slow day, but we frequently have mornings where we have lines extending out our doors of hungry repeat customers patiently waiting for our delicious breakfasts. On mornings when we develop a waiting time of over one half hour, I often recommend that customers try McCarthy’s, as they often have the space required to accommodate the customers that we cannot.

I do apologize that you found your last experience at The Dutch Pancake to be less than satisfactory. Based on how busy we have been and the pans we use to ensure all of our pancakes are the same size, I firmly believe that the experience you had was circumstantial and out of the ordinary. If you find yourself in Stowe again, please give us another chance to win back your patronage with, what you yourself called our “great food”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dutch Pancake Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing