We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meals during a 2 day meeting.”

Hob Knob Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Price range: $12 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Hob Knob Restaurant, Stowe's first ski lodge, has a reputation for fine food and attentive service. The intimate dining room is dominated by a huge fieldstone fireplace, hand-hewn beams, and views of Mount Mansfield. Fully air-conditioned, but when the evenings turn cool both fireplaces come to life. Certified Angus Steaks, fresh fish, chicken, homemade bread and desserts. Open for dinner Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. Groups of 10 or more any night with prior arrangement.
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great meals during a 2 day meeting.”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Our group ate all meals at the Inn during our 2 day meeting. All were excellent, well prepared, tasty and professionally served.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sb631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    16
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The very best”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have had wonderful meals in Stowe over the years, but Hob Know is the best. Our family loves its food, and can be quite picky, but here one can indulge oneself with roast duck, steak, and all those things.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I love a restaurant that knows how to get the small stuff right: freshly baked bread, roasted seasonal vegetables, high-quality meat and poultry, not dry or over-cooked. A roaring fire, a candle on the table, a historic setting (the first ski lodge in Stowe!). We stumbled upon the Hob Knob restaurant a year ago during a snow storm and we were excited to return. Stowe has lots of places where you can empty your wallet or eat bad pub food you'll soon regret. I recommend taking a break from all that, grabbing a date or close family/friends, and sitting down to a meal you'll want to remember.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur8129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ipswich, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Best steak in town!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Had a wonderful dinner here with my husband! The restaurant is romantic and has amazing views of the mountain. It is a small restaurant so it is not overcrowded or loud (just what we were looking for.) The service was great and we even had the privilege of meeting the chef who was sweet and as humble as they come. My husband and I both had the Filet's which were cooked to perfection and so tender. I look forward to returning to Stowe to enjoy this quaint little restaurant again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“overpriced and bad service”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a crab meat and shrimps, the food was ok but the portion was really small. ( I mean really small, we really don't use to eat huge portion, but this was rediculous .)
On the bill was highlighted that they recommend us to pay between 15 - 18 % of tips, how impolite!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tofes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hob Knob Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing