We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Whip is Great”
Review of Whip Bar & Grill

Whip Bar & Grill
Ranked #13 of 104 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 19, 2018

Steaks and appetizers are fabulous! Service and atmosphere was excellent. We enjoyed the cheese plate and wings appetizers. It's our favorite place to eat while we are in Stowe!!!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhipStoweVT, General Manager at Whip Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

We love that we are your favorite! Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2018

We usually spend our last night in Stowe at Whips!! it has become a bit of a tradition. Its a bit above the usual burger and fries place!!

It does a range of cocktails, very good steaks finished off with fab deserts - highly recommended is the chocolate desert for 2. (forgotten the name) I had one all to myself, a bit of a struggle to eat it but I managed it......

The service is excellent - I embarrassed myself (and Rob) I ordered a MaCallan malt. Rob had a Amaretto - both served in brandy glasses. My malt was darker than usual colour - I tasted it and I thought it tasted like brandy!!! Rob tried it and agreed with me!! I called the waiter over........ longer story shortened the bottle was brought to the table - my taste buds were not upto scratch ... the staff handled it really well.. 10/10

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alder11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhipStoweVT, General Manager at Whip Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Thank you for your review and your 10/10 rating - can't beat that! I am so happy to hear that coming to the Whip is a tradition for you - a true complement. I am glad you enjoyed the Sac de Bon Bon - it is difficult to NOT finish it, right?! Glad to hear it was a mix up with your taste buds and not with the Amaretto.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018

I’m confused by all the good reviews for this restaurant. This restaurant, in terms of food, is nothing more than below mediocre. To start I ordered their signature chowder. It was more or less as good as the Campbells version. My friend ordered the soup of the day which was a tomato soup. This basically tasted like marinara sauce. Now to the steaks. I ordered the $38 filet with Gorgonzola cheese on top. The steak was over cooked. I ordered it medium rare and it came out medium but let’s not dwell on this. My issue was the $38 steak was obviously thawed from frozen. It was tough and sinewy. I expected a top notch steak for that price. The mashed potatoes were grainy and the “fresh vegetables” were over cooked to be the consistency of their canned brethren.

Everything was disappointing. The waiter we had was likely new so I won’t harp on her as she was obviously nervous. She did improve on attentiveness once she was looking for my credit card.

$150 for 2 people should be an excellent meal. The reason this is 1 Star is that I don’t believe they can actually do better. Both steaks were bad quality, both mashed potatoes were grainy, and all the vegetables on both plates were mooshy. This is how they believe food should be prepared.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Dublin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018

We enjoyed a Monday evening at this beautiful restaurant. It is located with in the Green Mountain Inn and is very easy to find. The dining/ bar area is very nice with a lot of cherry wood throughout. The staff is great and very attentive. Our waitress was very helpful with suggestions from the menu. The food was amazing! We are a family of five and we like to share our food. Everyone's entree was delicious! We shared a few deserts and all were great as well! I don't think you can go wrong here!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhipStoweVT, General Manager at Whip Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your dinner at the Whip! It is great to hear that all of your entrees were delicious and that the server was so helpful. I hope that you will join us again soon!

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

Great food, prices and service. Love the farm to table menu options. I will be going back for sure. Will recommend to friends and family.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank lvlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhipStoweVT, General Manager at Whip Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2018

Thank you for your review! I am so glad that you will be recommending us to your family and friends. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whip Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Whip Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing