We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whips, true to vermont flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Whip Bar & Grill

Whip Bar & Grill
Ranked #6 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Whips, true to vermont flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

What a great dinner my daughter and i enjoyed tonight at whips. They have a pretty diverse menu, and so many dishes include a local flair. Even the butter that comes with the bread has a maple hint. My daughter loved the cheddar chicken dish, and i loved all the local drafts!

Helpful?
Thank SunandBoards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    337
    110
    42
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
575 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

As visitors to Stowe, we had no idea where to eat but after wandering through the Green Mountain Inn and reading the history, we settled on The Whip - pleased we did. The place was quiet but there was no slacking off on service (which we find there often is during quiet periods) The food was freshly cooked, nicely served and with a smile. Would eat there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaggieB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Out of the 5 nights I stayed in Stowe, I had dinner at Whip 4 nights! Food was excellent. The complementary bread is out of this world. Prices are not cheap but totally worth it! must check the dessert list! The mussels are great and they have an wide variety of wines and spirits.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfeboro
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great atmosphere, exceptional staff, great food. Had a great time, party of four, all ordered different entrees all were very good, nice presentation. Deserts were excellant, chocolate bag and bread pudding.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank waypointbvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitsfield, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great for lunch not sure about dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have been to the whip many times for lunch and have loved it ! but our dinner experience wasn't as great. First of all we had made reservation a week in advance and when we arrived we were given a table right in front of the noisy grill. I asked if we could be moved to another table and the hostess did find us another one but did so with a bit of an attitude. The service was very good . However, when we ordered our meal which was only at about 7:15 they were only had two more order left of the prime rib special. I was told that the serving would be medium cooked but still tender so I order that. The other people at the table ordered the fish special. When our food arrived the beef was very well done and tough. The fish special was tough and over salted. In general our dining experience was pleasant but the food was disappointing compared to some of the wonderful lunches that we have had at the Whip in the past. Would we go back again for dinner ? - yes I would give it another chance and order off the regular menu and not the specials. Then make a final judgment.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahkoch_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whip Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing