We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch”
Review of Whip Bar & Grill

Whip Bar & Grill
Ranked #11 of 103 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This looks like a great dinner bar/restuarant, but we stopped in for just a quick lunch.
Excellent service as well as food.
Perfect local atmosphere, and good selection of local draught beer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank popelkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STT1833, Manager at Whip Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for stopping in for lunch and the nice review. Perhaps you will get the opportunity to stop in for dinner or to enjoy one of the many popular local microbrews the area has to offer. Thanks again.

Steven Truso
The Whip Bar and Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 814 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Thankyou Steven for makijng our dining experience special after a long day of skiing. Our favorite place to eat whenever we are in Stowe! Both the younger and older members in the group were completely satisfied with the food. Will be back!!!

Thank SweetieBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STT1833, Manager at Whip Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

You’re very welcome and thank you! It’s always a pleasure.
We look to seeing you again soon. Enjoy the snow!

Steven
The Whip Bar and Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Looking for a place for dinner on Christmas Eve my husband and I decided to try The Whip - we made reservations last minute and were able to get a table for 2 at 9 pm. Of course I was hungry well before that so we walked down to the restaurant about an hour early and were greeted at the door by a very friendly host. We mentioned we were early but would be willing to sit at the bar for a drink first. He was so accommodating and we only waited a couple minutes and were able to sit at the bar - where we decided to dine as well.

We started with cocktails which were delicious - I had their version of a negroni up and it was perfectly prepared. Always a good sign when bartenders can make good classics. Even though it was busy the service was prompt and patient. I am gluten free which is one of the motivations to eat at the Whip - they had advertised that they offered gluten free food. They even have a separate menu so it is easy and you can get sandwiches and burgers! Usually gluten free offerings at restaurants means rice and potatoes. This was very exciting for me!

Started with the Autumn Squash Salad - perfectly dressed and the squash and root veggies were plentiful and tasty. I had the crispy chicken thigh and it was cooked perfectly! The chicken was tender and juicy and surrounded in a crispy layer of pancetta. Seriously one of the best chicken dishes I have had in a long long time. Highly recommend it. My husband had the steak (Black Angus Filet) - also cooked perfectly and delicious. We were both very happy! Also, the wine selection was great - lots to chose from and priced very fairly! We enjoyed a California red from Raymond Vineyards. We were not rushed at all despite how busy the space seemed. The bartender and managers were so friendly too. I know I said this already but friendly customer service goes a long way for me and this place was above the norm.

We were only in Stowe for three nights and we ate at the Whip three times. Dinner and two lunches. Lunch was a repeat of dinner as far as satisfaction (and the manager Michael remembered us - feel like we made a new friend). I ate a sandwich because they have bread for gluten free people like myself. The chicken salad sandwich is awesome! The almonds and grapes add such a nice flavor and it is a good size so I felt perfectly full after. Lunch was quick too which is good if you are trying to get to the slopes after.

Overall, I highly recommend a meal here. When we go back to Stowe we will eat there again...probably more then once. And we will feel like we are visiting friends too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STT1833, Manager at Whip Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are very pleased you choose to dine with us so many times while in Stowe. Many of the staff mentioned they remembered you and your husband from your comments. We're glad you enjoyed our gluten free menu. It has been a very popular addition to our offerings and makes it easier for our guest to eat gluten free. We can often prepare items from our regular menu gluten-free as well. We appreciate you taking the time to write such an excellent review and we hope to see you again next time you’re in Stowe.

Steven Truso
The Whip Bar and Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stumbled upon Whip while driving in town, no reservation or previous information. We were hoping it wouldn't be too pricey but yearned for something a step up from pub food. We were with our 13 old son who also likes pub food so we knew it would be a tall order to find a perfect place. Lo and behold, Whip Bar and Grill met the challenge. The menu was perfect with something for everyone. The daily specials were as special as they should be and excellent. Service was impeccable and quick. The ambiance was bistro-like and the full bar of delicious cocktails to try fit right in. We did not try desserts, but were pleasantly full from our meal and salad, so didn't need to. We all loved our dinners and the presentation of the food was very well done and far superior to any bistro. We will be back. If your in town, by all means, stop by for an excellent meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STT1833, Manager at Whip Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We’re happy that you found us and had an enjoyable time. Feeding a thirteen year old is a tall order, fortunately one we are faced with frequently. We try to offer something for everyone on our menus as we are also part of
a Country Inn. We are also pleased to hear that the service matched the food and ambiance it means a lot to our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Steven Truso
The Whip Bar and Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our first time. The food was very good for adults and kids alike. The ambience was lively but not loud. Service was good as well. My only reservation was with the desserts which i found were not at the same level of the rest of the meal. We've been to a handful of restaurants in the Stowe area and The Whip is now at the top of our list.

Thank Cesar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STT1833, Manager at Whip Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are pleased that your family had nice meal and enjoyable visit. Thank you also for your comments on our desserts. If you didn't try our signature dessert the Sac d' Bon Bon its worth a try for chocolate lovers and is fun to share. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again.

Steven Truso
The Whip Bar and Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whip Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing