We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Change”

The Delibakery at Trapp Family Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
York, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing Change”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were looking forward to returning to the quaint lunch room with lace curtains, wooden booths and a great menu. Instead, it was been turned into a tap-room. They do serve some sandwiches and desserts; or rather, you serve yourself at a counter. What happened to the Austrian charm? Just down the hill the sign says, "Enjoy a bit of Austria in Vermont." NOT!!
Well, the scenery is still nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeS-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    141
    74
    31
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012


Go and enjoy this place is wonderful, fresh sandwiches, soups etc, best service and there is a brwery for a selection of Trapp beers, really this place is heaven:)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Casual and relaxed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

As a local I can honestly say that this has one of the best views in Stowe, especially when it's nice out. It is a best kept secret for sure. The lagers are tasty, although I wish they offered some beer nuts or popcorn at the bar if you are just going for a few drinks.(sometimes you just need a couple handfuls of something munchie and not a whole sandwich) The sandwiches are tasty, a little on the pricier side, but you get a choice of side. Wish they offered more than one soup a day, more than just one salad, and some specials like cup of soup1/2 sandwich deals . The cookies are huge and have bought pieces of cake for desserts for gatherings Andover needless to say no one has ever been disappointed. Great spot to grab a pastry and coffee in the morning, and the staff is always super nice when I bring my kids in.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livelaughloveVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“No Coffee ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stopped in as we were in the area early in the morning. Wanted a cup of coffee and a pastry to go and the woman behind the counter told us we would have to wait about 20 mins. for coffee as she was cleaning the machine. At 9:00 in the morning ? Pastry looked good but we ended up not bying anything as we didn't feel like hanging around for 20 min. Wouldn't you think they'd plan ahead at that time of day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Don't bother if the weather isn't nice enough to sit outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We've been to the Von Trapp property many times for dinner, snow shoeing, etc. We went in the late afternoon to try their own brews at the DeliBakery and Brewery because we hadn't been since it was a tea house/Austrian restaurant many years ago. The brews were fine, but the place itself is small and oddly configured with a take out area and a bar that are sort of blocked from each other by a small seating area. Seemed geared towards folks staying on the property who may want a quick bite or drink not in the more formal dining room, which makes sense. There's a great view but it was too cold for outside seating and not much view indoors. They did have a fire going to take the chill out of the air which was nice. The man working the deli and the bar was abrupt and acted as if he was doing us a favor serving us although there were only 4 other people in the place and they weren't scheduled to close for at least an hour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler01534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Delibakery at Trapp Family Lodge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing