We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Comfortable”
Review of Auberge de Stowe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge de Stowe
Ranked #9 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I am glad I found this wonderful B&B to stay at Stowe. Shawn and Chantal were the best. I felt so welcomed and taken care of. I highly recommend this lodging. Sat nite Fondue was outstanding. Chantal makes an authentic Fondue with a wonderful blend of cheeses and tops it off with a Chocolate Fondue for dessert. Breakfasts were also delightful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 74 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

A group of us, around 8, went to Stowe for the weekend and decided to stay here for 2 nights. Shawn and Chantal were very helpful from the very beginning even before we confirmed our stay. Breakfast was delicious, and the environment is so comfortable we considered not leaving for the evening. I think the biggest perk was the hot tub, especially a day on the slopes - your body is in for a treat :). Definitely plan to go back and stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed in Auberge over Christmas and we have nothing but praises for Shawn and Chantal. We have never stayed in a bed and breakfast before but I will say that it beats many 4-5 stars hotels that we had stayed simply because of the warmth and sincerity of the owners. Highly recommended. Gold standard for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We recently stayed overnight in Stowe, and although we have stayed nearby before, we had never been to Auberge before. We were definitely pleased with the overall stay here. The location is very convenient, being very close to the wide variety of shops and restaurants. Check-in was very quick and Shawn was more than happy to offer dining suggestions in the area. The room itself was very clean and comfortable, including a private bathroom that was larger than that at many inns. There is a large common area that included comfortable couches and chairs to watch tv, sit by the fireplace or read a book from the large variety available to borrow. There is also an outside hot tub and a pool, which was likely closed for the season. Breakfast was continental and included Chantal's home-made pumpkin bread. Another item worth noting was the wide diversity of people staying here. We saw guests ranging from a family with small children to couples visiting, and friends hiking. We traveled with our 6 year old and had no issues, as opposed to some places that cater toward adults or discourage young children. Children will also enjoy the dog and the cat, who frequently visit in the common areas. Pricing was exceptionally reasonable and I highly doubt that you would find a better rate in the area. We stayed during foliage season, researched rates of several places in the area and found nothing even close. Why pay a lot more money someplace else when you can definitely have an enjoyable stay here. We would stay here again without hesitation and recommend this B & B as appropriate for travelers of all ages

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHTOM4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Shawn & Chantal are very nice people you want to know.
The overall experience was great. We went with our 3 kids 2 two of them teenagers.
Had great chats in front of the fire sipping wine with both Shawn and Chantal.
They recommended great places to eat. The room was comfortable and well kept. The breakfast was wonderful.
Overall great Price/Value/ Friendlyness .
A win win for any family looking for a nice time in Stowe and a budget to keep.
Regards,
Eduardo Browne
NY

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eduardocb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

The Auberge de Stowe was a pleasant surprise. We are a family of five with three daughters ages 13, 8 and 5 respectively. It is always difficult to find economical accommodations for a group this size without totally blowing the family budget! This B&B met our needs perfectly. We were able to get two adjoining rooms with two double beds and 2 single beds for a great price.

We tend to spend very little time in our hotel room when we travel because we are so busy exploring our destination. Therefore "fancy" rooms are not our priority. The room that we stayed in was clean and comfortable - no frills which was no problem! Our close proximity to downtown and Stowe Mountain Resort for skiing- 15 min by car- was a bigger priority.

The owners Shawn and Chantal were definitely the highlight of our stay. They were incredibly helpful with everything from skiing, to tourist destinations to dining. Their recommendations helped us to navigate our way through Stowe with relative ease.

We looked forward to breakfast every morning before starting our day. Our girls feasted on fresh baked croissants, muffins, soda bread and fruit and enjoyed the homemade jams. They also had a blast with Max the dog and Jimmy Jazz the cat - when they could catch him!

Shawn and Chantal provided wonderful conversation in the morning before heading out to ski. They are a warm, charming couple and made us feel like we were part of their family.

We recommend Auberge de Stowe highly for the personal touch and as an economical alternative to higher priced accommodations.

When our kids didn't want to leave to go home and even considered a permanent move from Florida to Vermont- that's the sign of a GREAT vacation! We'll definitely be back.

Thanks Shawn and Chantal

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floridascotts5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

This Bed and Breakfast is owned by a charming couple. It is cozy and simple. Right for the traveller who appreciates that style and definitely not right for those who are looking for upscale accommodations.
Our room was small, beds were extremely comfortable (one of the best features for this writer), bathroom was rather small but workable. Breakfast room overlooks the river and has a scenic view. We didn't use the hot tub on porch because the weather did not permit. Breakfast was right for us (croissants, fruit, oj, home baked yummies). Again, just right for these travellers.
There are two rooms where folks can relax, one with wood burning stove, the other with t.v. TV's in rooms as well. The B&B does not allow smoking - another important feature for us.
We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holland32Jackson_Nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.1 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#5 of 22 in Stowe
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,881 reviews
1.8 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
962 reviews
0.7 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
105 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stone Hill Inn
Stone Hill Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Stowe

Address: 692 S Main St., Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $72 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de Stowe 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something for everyone at our European style Bed and Breakfast. Walk to the village shops and restaurants, ride the free shuttle bus to the ski slopes, enjoy a glass of wine by the wood stove or a soak in the outdoor hot tub after your hike. Your host will be happy to share all of their area knowledge with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Auberge de Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Stowe Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing