We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge de Stowe
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Eagle Resort(Stowe)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Field Guide(Stowe)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
37
30
2
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
30
2
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamsb bgreat hostsus feel at homewould stay here againchantalinnkeepersaccommodationsskihikewinterfireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 76 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2011

The Auberge de Stowe was a pleasant surprise. We are a family of five with three daughters ages 13, 8 and 5 respectively. It is always difficult to find economical accommodations for a group this size without totally blowing the family budget! This B&B met our needs perfectly. We were able to get two adjoining rooms with two double beds and 2 single beds for a great price.

We tend to spend very little time in our hotel room when we travel because we are so busy exploring our destination. Therefore "fancy" rooms are not our priority. The room that we stayed in was clean and comfortable - no frills which was no problem! Our close proximity to downtown and Stowe Mountain Resort for skiing- 15 min by car- was a bigger priority.

The owners Shawn and Chantal were definitely the highlight of our stay. They were incredibly helpful with everything from skiing, to tourist destinations to dining. Their recommendations helped us to navigate our way through Stowe with relative ease.

We looked forward to breakfast every morning before starting our day. Our girls feasted on fresh baked croissants, muffins, soda bread and fruit and enjoyed the homemade jams. They also had a blast with Max the dog and Jimmy Jazz the cat - when they could catch him!

Shawn and Chantal provided wonderful conversation in the morning before heading out to ski. They are a warm, charming couple and made us feel like we were part of their family.

We recommend Auberge de Stowe highly for the personal touch and as an economical alternative to higher priced accommodations.

When our kids didn't want to leave to go home and even considered a permanent move from Florida to Vermont- that's the sign of a GREAT vacation! We'll definitely be back.

Thanks Shawn and Chantal

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floridascotts5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

This Bed and Breakfast is owned by a charming couple. It is cozy and simple. Right for the traveller who appreciates that style and definitely not right for those who are looking for upscale accommodations.
Our room was small, beds were extremely comfortable (one of the best features for this writer), bathroom was rather small but workable. Breakfast room overlooks the river and has a scenic view. We didn't use the hot tub on porch because the weather did not permit. Breakfast was right for us (croissants, fruit, oj, home baked yummies). Again, just right for these travellers.
There are two rooms where folks can relax, one with wood burning stove, the other with t.v. TV's in rooms as well. The B&B does not allow smoking - another important feature for us.
We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holland32Jackson_Nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I find Auberge de Stowe to be a wonderful respite from the rush, the materialism and the isolation of NYC. The Auberge is a great homey place to detach oneself from the stress of work and commuting. Shawn and Chantal are quite "genuine"-- a young, vibrant, energetic couple who are good and old-fashioned in every postive sense of the word, I really enjoy staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Our family of four (two adults, one ten year old, one fourteen year old) just came back from a lovely stay at the Auberge de Stowe. The owners of the Inn are some of the friendliest people you'll ever meet. It feels just like staying with family. They are also very helpful with tips for getting around town and information about restaurants and stores.

Breakfasts were delicious (Chantal is a great cook). Our room was comfortable and big enough for the four of us with ski gear. I would suggest to bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper as the floors above squeak when someone walks across upstairs.

If you're looking for a fancy, luxurious bed and breakfast, this isn't the place for you, but if you're happy with a comfortable, clean, relaxed atmosphere with great value, the Auberge de Stowe is a great place to stay. The next time we're in Stowe, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I'm a professional writer and I often travel to the Auberge for a week at a time with my laptop and research materials for a session of complete Green Mountain deprivation. The hospitality from innkeepers Shawn and Chantal is first rate. They take you in as part of their family while you're there - or they leave you alone to do you own thing - whatever your preference. The coffee is excellent, hot, and flows all day - just like the intelligent discourse that centers in the bright, comfortable dining room. The rooms have free wi-fi and good air conditioning in the hot summer nights. And the metal roof allows the simple please of listening to the rhythm of the rain as you drift to sleep. Shawn is also an accomplished writer and teacher. He's always game for a lively, witty conversation on the issues of the day - and you don't need to twist his arm for him to disappear into the family quarters and reemerge with two glasses and a bottle of good whiskey tucked under his arm. What else can I say? The Auberge receives my highest recommendation. If you prefer the chain hotels and high-priced B&B's, the Auberge is not your speed. But if you like to find those hidden travel gems you only learn about by word of mouth, the Auberge should be your next stay while in the town of Stowe.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdirondackWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews