We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home in Stowe, VT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1860 House Inn & Rental Home
Ranked #9 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I happened upon this lovely B&B on an impromptu stop in Stowe. Very welcoming. Rose was a very friendly host. Walking around the village and stopping in shops was a pleasant way to spend a cool August evening. Rose showed us a map of the town and suggested places to see. Would love to see the town in WInter!

Room Tip: Large comfortable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I had the privilege of spending a weekend in Stowe, VT at the 1860 house. It's location in the village was perfect, enabling us to easily walk to shop and to the restaurants. Rose, the owner, was ever-so-friendly. She's a terrific host and wonderful to talk to. The inn is immaculate, with warm, comfortable common rooms and our room was very comfortable. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed at the 1860 House B & B in Stowe, Vermont last week. Our host "Rose" was cordial, friendly, attentive and informative. The weather, the town, the activities were exactly what we were looking for. Lots to do and see and all within walking distance of the 1860 House. Comfortable and clean - the decor was a nice mix of antiques and charm. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs bedroom with the ensuite bathroom. A couple of dollars more but no rooms are ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Joppa Maryland
12
Reviewed September 13, 2005

Stayed at The 1860 House for a week during the summer because we're not snowbirds. We took our 4 sons, their wives and 7 grandchildren. Plenty of room for all of us. Hiked, visited Montpelier, Trapp Family lodge and took a day trip to Canada. Had an excellent time in the clean, well maintained 1860 House.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,371 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#5 of 22 in Stowe
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1860 House Inn & Rental Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1860 House Inn & Rental Home

Address: 73 School St, Stowe, VT 05672-4447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $621 - $1,650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stowe Village Inn in continuous operation since 1980. Located in the historic Village District within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, art galleries, special events, and the award winning recreation path. Provides five guest rooms with firm mattresses, AC, private baths, king, queen or twin beds. Central location in a charming historic building. .Large outdoor deck, off street parking, kitchen/laundry access and friendly host. Coffee/Tea service provided in the morning. Kitchen privileges and outdoor grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The 1860 House Inn & Rental Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1860 House Inn & Rental Home Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing