We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Back country skiing

I had a private cross-country ski lesson today it was a great experience I highly recommend anyone... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
michaelhS4564NX
Cross country Skiing

Linda was our instructor. If you go, ask for her! She was kind, knowledgeable and so full of joy. I... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 1 week ago
OnAir668909
Read all 150 reviews
  
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
130
9
7
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
130
9
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog sledding winooski river hot cider snowshoe tour sugar shack snow tubing fondue dinner cheese and crackers great guide staff was super helpful evening ride super fun small store local cider animal tracks fun outing cabot cheese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great prompt service. Extremely helpful. Cheap rentals. Loved the dog sledding. Great at giving directions. Friendly staff.

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank cgomez2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmiakOutfitters, Owner at Umiak Outdoor Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great time - loved it
Well organized, very prompt, friendly!
One tour was a last minute request and they were helpful to fit us in.
Guides were excellent!

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umiak O, Owner at Umiak Outdoor Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind words, Annette!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hi

My family and I did this tour in February 2019. It was a clear night but pretty cold.
The hike was kind of nice but first we had to wait outside while the guide got the cabin ready and the fire started. Once we got in the cabin we were pretty cold and waited for the place to heat up. It never really did. We left in about an hour and we were still cold. That was pretty disappointing. This trip is probably nice for a fairly mild winter night but not for a cold one(it was probably in the teens I think). For this trip to be enjoyable on cold nights they really need to get the place heated ahead of time or at least have the place ready to light fire immediately. I believe the guide had to spend time collecting the wood and build the fire.We were told at the shop that they recently weather proofed the cabin to make it more air tight but this did not help it all. Without getting a nice cozy warming stay in the cabin the hike itself is not worth the money.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank tmaj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmiakOutfitters, Owner at Umiak Outdoor Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, We will consider your comments and see how we can improve our tour.

I wanted to mention important information about how to dress for Vermont Winters. It's often in the teens here and crucial to dress in the right gear. We recommend not wearing any cotton, as it can hold moisture. Layering is important, start with a base layer and 1 or more mid-layers for insulation. The outer layer should be waterproof/water resistant and protect from wind. A warm hat, warm gloves/mittens, fresh clean socks, neck gaiter/scarf, and insulated boots. For individuals who are prone to being cold, we offer hand warmers and toe warmers in our retail store.

I hope this information helps for when you're vacation in Vermont again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

I booked a brewery/distillery tasting tour as a Christmas gift for family members. The customer service and follow up was great. I received updates from the family during the tour and they had a blast!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Explorer433829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmiakOutfitters, Owner at Umiak Outdoor Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Thank you for the review! Next time we'll have to get you out for an adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

We booked dog sledding and snowmobiling through Umiak. All the staff was very friendly and most helpful in making our vacation one of our best ever. We are a group of 8 ranging in age from 20 to 61. Our adventures were equally enjoyed by all.

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmiakOutfitters, Owner at Umiak Outdoor Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Thank you for this review, James! We're so glad to hear your group an enjoyable time in Vermont and on your dogsledding adventure! While we are located in the same building as Snowmobile Vermont, we are separate companies. I know they would love to hear about your experiences with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews