We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nosh”
Review of The Roost

The Roost
Ranked #29 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Brew Pub, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Contemporary and classic, entirely reimagined. A modern lobby bar and restaurant, where definitive fare has a decidedly Vermont twist. A comfortable, casual space that brings the outdoors in, and the indoors out. The Roost is a place to meet up and hang out. Where you can grab a seat, a bite, and a game at our Shuffleboard Dining Bar, or gather in our patio living room - under a pergola, near a fire pit, bocce court, and a reflecting pool. Or, lounge on oversized couches while you sample one of our Chef's nibbles, the perfect plates to go with a craft draft beer or creative cocktail. Food served until 10:00 PM.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“nosh”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is the place to sit cocktails and nosh on a bunch of the tasty treats this menu offers- chicken wings are amazing btw.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AniWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    47
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
329 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Modern, sleek restaurant/bar”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had dinner at The Roost while staying at Topnotch. It's in the new modern section of Topnotch with chic and sleek re-modeling and furniture. There are a few big screens and a bar with neat lighting. Several sofa sections, a small enclosed fireplace, some tall tables, and regular. A couple tables can seat 6-8 people. There is also a very cool stand up shuffle board game near the bar.
The Roost claims to be family friendly but it's weird with couples trying to enjoy a drink and some quiet time and the kids are noisy playing shuffle board or playing on the high stools.
The burger, veggie burger, kale bruschetta were excellent, and the salads are large and great too. It's pricey though to go with the new atmosphere. Local beers are expensive. Service was excellent. Many people hanging out enjoying the free wi fi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindervermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Colours trip”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

very good restaurant, great food and excellent service, handy on the main street Stowe, good value and high quality.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not "Top Notch" in Service”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I am hoping that this place can get it together. The atmosphere is impressive, but the service is more than lacking. We traveled here over Columbus Day Weekend early Saturday evening. When we entered the restaurant, there was only one other couple there. We weren't greeted or acknowledged by anyone and the staff was just talking amongst themselves. We sat ourselves and waited (and waited) for someone to come over with menus. When that didn't happen, my husband walked over to the bar to ask the bartender for menus and she literally just pointed to where they were. Really? It would not have been a problem if they were busy, but that was far from the case. I then walked over to the bar to ask if they had a particular beer and again, the bartender could not have been less helpful. Her answer was a cold "no" and that was it. No suggestions. Nothing. The food was decent, but we were so turned off by the attitude and lack of service that we will not return. We go to Stowe every year and were eager to try this new hyped place. I could only hope their staff realizes that it doesn't take much to impress and they failed miserably.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Traci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great bar and fun, great service”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place offers a fun gathering spot. Whether its a few friends playing shuffle board, to their outdoor patio with a fire pit, or simply catching a game at the bar with Bethany who makes some good drinks. They have great food and recommend the chicken wings although I would say you can't go wrong with anything on the menu

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roost also viewed

 

Been to The Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing