We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great house made salsa!”
Review of Cactus Cafe - CLOSED

Cactus Cafe
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Massachussetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great house made salsa!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a good meal. Loved the salsa. They got us a seat quickly even though it was a holiday weekend and very crowded. Good was tasty and the staff quite pleasant. Good value too.

Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysTime2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    107
    63
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hardwick, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The chop suey of mexican food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

While it tries to be mexican the best it can do is be a temple to Frida Carlo. Nothing Mexican about its food, not a mexican works there not even the cook. As a Mexican I was angry at its claim

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Farmer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We ate here on a Thursday night and they were doing somekind of beer promotion. While we didn't have beer, we noticed that patrons were getting a T-ship, glass and a shot glass if they purchased the microbrew featured. We got chips and salsa to start and ordered the Guacamole side. Suprisingly, it was very small for the price. We were going to share our meals so we asked the server to recommend something. He recommended the duck fajita so we got that and the pork enchilada. I must say that his recommendation was spot on. The duck fajita was incredible. i would have just eaten it without all the fajita extras. The pork enchilada was not what I expected and seemed to have a deep fried flour thing instead of a tortilla surrounding it.

No matter, the duck made up for it. We would definitely go back again...and order the duck!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We stumbled upon this...”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just as we got into town, we went on the search for dinner. The town shut down pretty early, but we found this just down from some of the shopping. Good margaritas, guac and tacos! Seemed like a pretty happening place. Other families with kids... good atmosphere, friendly staff. The waitress assumed we had been there before so I'd guess locals hang out here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jack and Ricky are killing it!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time after a long day of skiing! Decided it was time for a margarita! Stopped at cactus cafe on the way home thinking we would have an afternoon cocktail! Little did we know that we would end up drinking margaritas out of an ice sculpture and doing tequila ice luges! Jack and Ricky made our dinner more than good they made it unforgettable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rxrutgersurx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing