We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”
Review of Cactus Cafe - CLOSED

Cactus Cafe
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
South Pole
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had the steak chimi churri which was okay,nothing special.My hushand's pork avodada --red chile pork stew with green sauce--was quite tasteless and bland. The accompanying rice and beans was also disappointing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDceedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    107
    63
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised to find a Mexican restaurant in Stowe. It was beyond our expectations. Our waitress was very friendly and we would definitely go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tey-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Mexican in Stowe”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We we not expecting a great Mexican meal in Vermont but it certainly was. The food was very authentic and more what you would expect in California. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the inside is cute. Small but sold menu and certainly good value.

Helpful?
Thank Gbatstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seems like they will not be open too long”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

the bar staff was very disengaged and they didnt seem to care to refill our drink. i was suprised that the bar gave last call at 8:45pm. made me feel bad that we wasted two hours of our trip to Stowe.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quechee, Vermont
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have eaten at the Cactus Cafe several times it has always been an excellent experience. The restaurant is owner operated and it shows. The husband is the Chef and his wife Vera(?) runs the front of the house. We have found the food quality to be very good. The food is very traditional with a Vermont/local element to it. The atmosphere is really fun and the service is great. I would highly recommend the Cactus Cafe on your next trip to Stowe.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing