We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food so, so service, bit over priced”
Review of Cactus Cafe - CLOSED

Cactus Cafe
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food so, so service, bit over priced”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The food was great, well the stuff that came out hot and didnt have to be sent back to get heated. Also they messed up my bill and took forever to fix it which was so unnecessary.other than that it was ok, I may try them again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vtinvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    107
    63
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Must try!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Good salsa to start and California Enchildas were fantastic.My husband enjoyed the Ahi tuna salad. We sat outside and enjoyed the live band; was disappointed in the margarita but overall was glad we tried it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynn_kellogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to Smugglers Notch for many years and never stopped in the Cactus Cafe as it looked like an afterthought to the store next door. A mistake. We started with fresh and spicy jalapeño poppers with a terrific mojito made with fresh mint. The entrees were very good but we kicked them up to an excellent rating as we were always asked if we'd like to move on to the next part of the meal. So simple but it allows us to pace the meal and avoid being rushed or getting too full by eating too fast. Great service and good value. We will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Gravity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford,MA
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mexican”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Really cute place with great food & excellent drinks. Best margarita ever, and I am not a big tequila drinker. Complimentary chips and salsa to start. Pulled pork tacos & enchiladas w/rice & beans very tasty. Hidden Gem.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Holy Frijoles!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is a really good place! Loved the pork adovado and the smoked duck fajitas! Great salsa and a good selection of wines. Portions are huge though so bring your appetite and a doggy bag!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing