We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Atmosphere - Good Food”

Depot Street Malt Shop
Ranked #25 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cool Atmosphere - Good Food”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The atmosphere is really cool - old fashioned soda/malt shop - lot of posters, pictures and ads on the table tops.
Menu is classic malt shop - burgers, sandwiches, salads and of course ice cream. Pulled pork sandwich was very good, burger was as well. And the frappe (milkshake with ice cream for non New Englanders) was super and served right in the mixing "can".
Good stop for lunch if you are wandering around in the town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Etsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    142
    38
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We always top here while in Stowe”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Because it's a no frills, tasty and affordable meal. Love the old- time malt shop feel, the homage to 50s Hollywood, and the retro decor. Burgers are teeny tiny....it's clear they are feeling the hit of the economy, and the salads just stink. Don't waste your money on any of their salads...I've had the chicken Caesar...boring, small, and bland tasting, and their garden salad with chicken, at first just disappointing, and then forgettable. If you eat here, get the patty melt. It's greasy, perfect and delicious. All through my diet I dream of this splurge. Wash it down with a frappe and you'll die happy. The ice cream here is awesome, and well worth stopping for.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MartiniMagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice break from typical Stowe resteraunts.”
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Great comfort food. Relaxed atmosphere, I eat here about once every two months, has not disappointed yet. Don't be on a diet when you eat here ;).

Helpful?
Thank onacona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“We LOVE this place!”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

In a town with so many restaurants per capita - many overpriced and overrated - this place offers a welcome relief. Even though it's right in the heart of Stowe, there always seems to be street parking right nearby. The atmosphere is retro, sort of funky, and fun. I guess it would be my nostalgic fantasy of the neighborhood malt shop if I grew up in New England - which I didn't. But I have found the food to be fun, interesting, and appealing. The service, while unpretentious, is especially good for this type of place. The food choices tend to be an artisanal take on all the American standards, and they all seem to work well. I NEVER miss eating here in my bi-yearly weeks in Stowe!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
214 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fun interior and great choices”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The portion in this colourful and cheerful cafe is to the big side. The skinny cappucino frappe I had was delicious and very satisfying. Maple walnut ice-cream was excellent.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank gyywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Depot Street Malt Shop also viewed

 

Been to Depot Street Malt Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing