We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to McCarthy's”

McCarthy's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Okatie, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back to McCarthy's”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I don't eat breakfast often, but if you are lucky enough to be here when they have "meadow muffins" order one of these moist, cinnamonny, deeeelicious treats! Believe me they are worth the calories. My husband loves the homemade corned beef hash (we were told they cook whole corned beef briskets and make the hash from scratch). It's a friendly place, especially if you sit at the counter as we did where you can talk with locals and tourists to see what's going on in town. The host was this guy with an amazing ZZ-top kind of beard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SDTDLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    208
    59
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always have good breakfasts!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We were up in April and as always we were seated quickly and I have my favorite, the French toast. Always good.
My wife had eggs Benedict, she said this is always good. Daughter had the pancakes, which there are many varieties, have seen them on other tables which look really good. A bit pricy but what isn't in Stowe. The lunches are pretty good as well. Closes pretty early in the day so get before 2 if you want lunch. Don't think they are open much after that.
I have been coming here for at least ten years and it has never disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Hearty Breakfast”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great pancakes, egg dishes, and other fresh baked breakfast treats. Perfect way to start an active day with three teen-aged boys.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLKinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummalicious”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Loved the food and the service! Very friendly staff. I would highly recommend visiting this restaurant.

The food was delishious and fresh! The blue mountain coffee blend they serve here restaurant is great (free!!).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vazzir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good service, average food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We came here for breakfast. The service was fast and the waitresses friendly. We both had omlettes. They were ok, but kind of big and heavy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYtravelers_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCarthy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to McCarthy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing