We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, yummy food.”

McCarthy's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
142 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Basic, yummy food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a typical, run of the mill old fashioned diner. We went for breakfast and the food was reliably good. The french toast was cooked perfectly, and my table mates loved their pancakes/egg combos. It is not dirt cheap, but the food was quality so I see it as a break even.

Our waitress was nice and efficient, which is helpful when you are hungry and grumpy from lack of caffeine. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for food that is good but not pretentious. Just know this place is cash/check only.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aavct90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    199
    56
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here many times; however, things seemed different. No breakfast combinations, all seems to be a la carte, e.g. Eggs, meat and home fries, working out to ten dollars. My wife's vegetable omelette had raw vegetables, not steamed. Generally prices seemed higher than other similar eateries..

All in all, good quick service, poor food, overpriced. There are too any other choices in Stowe.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hawkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUFFALO
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant with friendly waitresses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great food, very fair prices, great service. Glad we went out to breakfast to this place. Waitresses made us feel at home.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pruszer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nothing pretentious; just good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A wholesome, well cooked breakfast that leaves you full for hours. The service was a little slow that morning and the server wasn't very friendly and kept forgetting little things, but the food compensated for the lack. Their being a cash only restaurant was an inconvenience, but outside of that, we enjoyed the food and would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Eat where the locals eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Good, substantial breakfast with a wide choice of selections to please most palates. These range from waffles to Mexican Burritos. The service was friendly and efficient. Inexpensive prices for food of this caliber. We bought some baked goods to take home i.e. muffins, etc. I cook a lot and in my opinion, I have had better baked goods.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophia56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCarthy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to McCarthy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing