We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCarthy's Restaurant

McCarthy's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Loved the people and service. Good breakfast and lunch menu.
Good prices. I recommend.loved the waitress, great smile and helpful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GINSLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    197
    56
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I ate breakfast this past weekend at McCarthy's, after it was recommended to us. This restaurant has a very local feel to it, there were both tourists and locals eating there. We arrived around 10:30 and were prompty seated, but the place started to fill up right after we arrived.
Our waitress was quick and took our order right away. My husband ordered the french toast, I had an omlette with sausage, cheese and apples in it - it was amazing! With orange juices and coffee our bill came to $27.00. I would recommend McCarthy's and will definitely eat breakfast here again next time I am in Stowe! Tip - they only take cash or checks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the "Vermonter"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had a great pannini with ham, cheddar, sliced apple, & honey mustard - a perfect fall lunch! And the homemade potato chips ...wow!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SDTDLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great breakfest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The service was excellent, wonderful friendly service and large portions for their breakfest. Get there early as they fill up in a hurry as there is limited seating and a little crowded, but it speaks to it's excellent food. Also, take some cash or checks with you as they don't except credit cards

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JDSquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
282 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very good lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I recently ate lunch at McCarthy's after seeing the great reviews on TA. This casual restaurant has a local neighborhood feel to it. I get the impression a lot of locals come here. My husband had the "Chicken with the Blues" wrap, which was very good. Even his potato chips were extra tasty. I had the spinach salad, which was also very good. Our waitress was friendly and the prices were reasonable. We will definitely come back next time we're in Stowe.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Godiva0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McCarthy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing