We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Work in Progress and the Progress is Good”

Bistro at Ten Acres
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro at Ten Acres is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Luce Hill Road
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Work in Progress and the Progress is Good”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here last weekend. The room was very big, had a balcony, a comfortable bed and Wi-Fi. There were little things that could be improved, but the new owners have had the place less than a year and they are doing a good job of putting it back together. The bar and the restaurant, however, are top notch (no pun intended). You would be hard pressed to find better hosts and the food is simply excellent. As we say with all of our reviews, would we return. Yes. Mark and Linda are making Ten Acres a wonderful place to stay and dine. The bar menu is terrific, the portions are big, so if you are going to order the Chiliquenos (spelling is a problem) which you should do, then split it with a loved one (it would be a waste on someone you did not like). Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChathamTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    109
    33
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Right up there with the best of the best...”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Such a welcoming atmosphere... From the real wood fire place to the warm welcome and service, this place was just what we had in mind. My friend and I were on spa weekend at top notch so we a. didnt want to drive far and b. wanted a nice hearty decadent meal and we got both. I had the special swordfish which was highly recommended from our server and it was truly spectacular in flavor, textures and aesthetics. My friend's meal of slow cooked pork shank was equally good, if not better. The spicy and earthy flavor was absolutely incredible. After our very satisfying meal, we didn't want dessert but based on the quality of the food, we had no choice but to check out the offerings and I'm glad we did because we weren't disappointed. The chef came and greeted everyone which was a nice touch. We left the restaurant in a lovely food coma. Mmmmmm

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abbyrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great end to a Beautiful week”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Ten Acres was recently (2012) bought and renovated but the Vermont ambiance and rustic feel remained. My husband and I went back there after many years hoping the food would be good and we weren't disappointed. I love that place! Sitting at the bar talking with the owner or bar tender then going into the restaurant and enjoying the warmth of the fire place and beautiful view of the mountains and cows. There is nothing more satisfying on a cold winter night than a good bowl of soup and this place knows how to make a good soup. The menu is not huge which is a sign that they take pride in the items they serve. The barbequed pork shank, lemon chicken, and pasta specials were all good. The BBQ shrimp was delicious but be warned they make it just like they do in New Orleans with the shells on so it can be messy.
We liked it so much we went back on our last night in Stowe and am looking forward to visiting it again next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wahini333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great new find in Stowe”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had our first experience at the Bistro and found the food and service to be very good. Great staff and good food and certainly worth the drive. We visited on Columbus Day weekend and had made our reservation well in advance. It is nice to find a place with good food and good service that is not stuffy or pretentious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must Dining Spot in Stowe!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you find yourself in Stowe, this is the place you must dine. Located in a colonial house, the rooms are small, some with fireplaces. We were in the front room with a lovely view down the mountain side.

Varied and excellent menu with sophisticated service. Delicious - worthy of a NYC restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ReubenJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro at Ten Acres also viewed

 

Been to Bistro at Ten Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing