We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

Bistro at Ten Acres
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro at Ten Acres is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Luce Hill Road
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

While the wait staff seemed a little understaffed, they worked hard and backed each other up well. The food was excellent and they had plenty of great wine choices. Also very reasonably priced. Great dinner overall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Will Never Ever Go There Again!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Met at the door by the hostess, telling us she was turning our table over in one hour and fifteen minutes. We best order something fast but then again, she wasn't sure it was even worth our while to order! such a "pleasant" blond lady! No"Hello" or "Good Evening". She was most rude and unaccommodating. Ordered the Steak Frites, medium well, it arrived rare, couldn't even eat it! Dessert, not their fault everything had alcohol in it and I am highly allergic to alcohol. The waiter did remove my meal from the bill. Overall I was left with a very poor impression of Bistro at 10 Acres. Will NEVER go back there!!!!

Visited September 2013
7 Thank travelbugs103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Owner at Bistro at Ten Acres, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
I am sorry your experience was not what you wanted it to be. However, we explained clearly at the time the reservation was made that we could only accommodate your party of 15 if you could assure us you would arrive on time as the table was booked out later in the evening. As you know, half of your party arrived on time and you arrived 45 minutes late - we tried to set an expectation of the timing concerns to avoid disappointment for you and to limit the inconvenience for the guests following you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a quaint Vermont setting”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Read about the Bistro here on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try, driving over Smugglers' Notch from the Smugglers' Notch Resort on a quiet Sunday evening. The restaurant dining rooms are in a very pretty antique (ca. 1820s) building. I would characterize the food as contemporary twists on classic French dishes, all very nicely done. My wife and I shared the duck & walnut pate, a richly soft version served in a ramekin, garnished with pickled veggies, and accompanied by wonderful house-baked French bread (same as in the bread basket). My wife ordered the night's seafood special, baked sole in a light lemon sauce topped with tomatoes and mushrooms. I had the confit leg and smoked breast of duck (a twist on the typical confit leg and seared or roasted breast). Everything was nicely seasoned with really well developed flavors. Nice selection of wines by the glass, and a full bar, as well. Items on the dessert menu sounded scrumptious, but we were too full to even consider them. The dining room we were in had a huge fireplace...not lit on this early fall evening. Would be delightfully cozy during ski season. All in all, a delightful dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2 Thank Kenlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant by a mile !”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have never written a review before, but felt that the Super staff , Super food and Super wine deserved to be praised- a relaxed evening with attentive and discreet staff. Food was delicious , sirloin steak , great as not covered in a creamy sauce, but tomato , peppers , light and flavoursome . Pork shank , meat just fell off the bone. Thank you to all concerned for a memorable meal

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Susssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ten Acres of Fun”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Local friends introduced us to the Bistro. It was a slow night and we were seated quickly. Our server was a real delight and helped make the evening great. The lamb starter was very tasty and of good portion. Veal shank portion was large; Meaty and tender; great BBQ sauce. Very Fun Dining Experience!

Visited September 2013
1 Thank Firsthope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro at Ten Acres also viewed


Been to Bistro at Ten Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing