We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for a drink and stay for the evening”

Bistro at Ten Acres
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro at Ten Acres is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Luce Hill Road
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Come for a drink and stay for the evening”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for a drink as this is a new Bistro in town. We were blown away by the ambiance. The simple elegant clean lines of the decor. Gone are the days of lace and clutter. The fun bright colors of the paint and staff added to our drinks turning into an evening at the the place. We started in the bar with cocktails, then onto dinner in one of the 4 cozy dining rooms and finished with dessert on a soft couch next to the fireplace. The food did not let down, in fact it exceeded our expectations. You may wait awhile but its worth it. Each plate is made to order, not Pre-cooked (or par cooked) as many of the other restaurants do. Our meal was prepared and cooked for us. To start you must try the Pineapple salad- Yum! The Shrimp too. We also enjoyed the halved Lobster and the succulent Short Ribs. This is one of our Stowe favorites for food and PRICE!!!!!! We will be back again and again to see Linda and Mark the owners, and hear Linda's Scottish accent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiStoweVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    105
    31
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Thrilled with the new layout, the colors, and especially the food! What a transition from the previous owners! A must visit people, really! The dining room menu is phenomenal, we are looking forward to checking out the bar menu soon. I hear you can order from the dinner menu in the bar if the bar fare is not to your appetite level or liking.
The owners are attentive, friendly and hard working as is their well picked staff.
The Chef is wonderful and we look forward to hopefully having some outside dining come summer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nobchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
417 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“They'd Better Try Harder”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Bad experience here on a busy weekend. The only reason we're giving it three stars instead of two is the food was tasty and our server meant well. After a promising start of good appetizers, we sat waiting for nearly an hour for our entrées to arrive, with no explanation in the meanwhile. When our food did arrive one of us had no silverware, and it was almost another ten minutes before any was brought to our table -- we actually had to share one knife and fork between two people to be able to eat. The portions were large so we asked for what was left to be wrapped to go, only to be told when the check arrived that the kitchen had mistakenly thrown out one of our dinners. (They did take something off our bill when we requested it.)

The owners and staff appeared overwhelmed and somewhat disorganized throughout the evening, with the servers racing around to try to service the customers. They definitely seem to need more staff. I hope our disappointing evening was just a result of the owners' inexperience, because there is clearly talent in the kitchen and it would be nice to see the new Ten Acres succeed. For now, though, they have a lot of work to do.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Owner at Bistro at Ten Acres, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
You're right. We dropped the ball servicing you on the busiest night of the season and we sincerely apologize for that. You're also right that we are a new business in an old establishment and that there's talent in the kitchen -- an extremely high level of talent in fact. Linda and learned a couple things from your disappointing service. We have to cap the amount of reservations we take in an evening, and we needed to -- and have since -- added additional serving staff. The food and diner experience deserve this. Understandably, guest volume and excellent service are a balance learned early in a new business. When Linda and I opened this business just 10 weeks ago we could not have imagined we'd be in a position of having to turn away business and taking advanced reservations and staffing up.

Thanks for your comments.

Mark and Linda
Owners of The Bistro at Ten Acres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ten out of Ten for Ten Acres”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been coming to Stowe for seven years and have finally found the best restaurant in town. What Mark and Linda have done with the 10 Acres is truly magical. The old world charm of the Inn is mixed with a modern version of food, wine, beer and of course fun. We are still waiting for Linda’s haggis entre but even without that the menu is fantastic. Seafood lovers can avail themselves of the stew or salmon while us meat eaters can work on the pork shank. I hear the duck is good as well but after trying the pork, I am fine right there. Chef Greg leaves it on the bone making a knife unnecessary as the meat will fall easily with the lightest touch of a fork or for that matter, the slightest breath. Feel free to gnaw on the bone when through; after all this is Vermont, not New York City. At 20 bucks you will know its not New York City. Speaking of price most of the wines come by the glass and the bottles are priced incredibly fair. The new bar is still inhabited by the old locals which gives the old Stowe charm. Give it a go, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect evening!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect as Ten Acres is recently under new ownership. However, it was quickly apparent that the owners and their staff have already created a very special place! The ambience is warm, cozy, and classic Vermont. Loved the wide-planked pine floors, huge fireplaces, and birch candles on every table! We also loved being able to try different Vermont microbrews at the beautiful bar, and look forward to returning sometime to sample the wonderful wine list there. Everything we ate was beautifully presented and delicious. The pineapple salad was amazing and unique, and is something I will be craving for a very long time to come! We thoroughly enjoyed the hot, fresh bread made on site and a delicious salmon special, and even the chips were homemade and addictive! This is the kind of place we always look for ~ casual and comfortable yet elegant, and with first-rate food and drink. We can't wait to return!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smartipants27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro at Ten Acres also viewed

 

Been to Bistro at Ten Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing