We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food Odd Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of kobe Japanese Steak House - CLOSED

kobe Japanese Steak House
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Sanbornton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food Odd Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Food was really good, a bit pricey for serving size. Servers were excellent! The one thing that was super odd was the classical rock playing, kind of killed the atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AubreyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Japanese -nothing beats it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

When looking for a great meal that doesn't damage your waistline then Japanese has to be the choice. kobe Japanese Steak House delivered a signature Japanese dining experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deaken47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winooski, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kobe... or not ko be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Basically the food was not up to par for the prices being paid.
Kobe charges relatively high prices for what is basically a fusion of Japanese, Thai and Chinese.
Actually, it's more of a Hodge podge.
Service and atmosphere was poor at best, staff seemed to not care, adjacent tables were not bussed promptly, dirty floor and other signs of poor management were visible. At the end of the night, our party of 4 ended up paying Way too much. Save yourselves the pain and suffering and drive 45 minutes to Koto in Burlington.
Only bright spot was the sushi, it's pretty good but overpriced.
I know it's Stowe, and gouging customers is standard, but come on.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I called in just on the of chance. From the outside this restaurant looks great, she then Proceeded to mumble something to us at which point I said we had not been before and didn't understand what she was saying?
The dumplings were great, so looking good so far!
Then the mains came out soon after, both meals were barely warm, and beings I'd ordered seafood I wasn't prepared to send it back in case they just stuck it in a microwave.
Had the food been a lot hotter it would have Been almost perfect.
The habachi would be a much better option if you decide to go as the food is cooked in front of you and served piping hot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good, value fresh and spicy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

If like us, you need a fix of spicy food, when on holiday in the USA then this is the place for you. chefs very entertaining at the teppanyaki tables. Very good quality food and a very reasonable price. Ideal for a casual fun night out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jayne2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing