We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrilled”

Stowe Mountain Auto Toll Road
Ranked #10 of 62 things to do in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thrilled”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We drove to the top of Stowe and it was pretty intense as you were coming up at the end of the road. Twists and turns when the other cars were coming down with no gaurdrails! But once there the views were awesome.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jammer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    58
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Loved the drive up the mountain. We visited in fall and the trees were gorgeous. There was snow on the top and glad we had all the layers. Breathtaking views from the mountain top.The road is treacherous so I would recommend only an expert driver do it. Unfortunately not everyone understands what giving right of way to people coming down means!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DreamgirlBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Easy route to get amazing views!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I are usually eager to take on big hikes, but on our weekend away in Stowe we were in a lazy relaxing kind of mood, so on recommendation of our B&B hostess we took a drive up the Auto Toll road and then walked along the ridgeline of Mount Mansfield and had a great time! There were some scattered clouds obstructing some views on one side of the mountain, but the opposite side was clear and beautiful. There were some people in front of us who apparently didn't realize that even though you can drive to the top, the walk is still rocky at times and this one guy was wearing a pair of loafers and kept talking about how "they should make you sign a waiver to hike it", so dress accordingly. It's $27 to drive up but our B&B had coupons for a discount so it was just $20.25 for us.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RandE51510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not for Motorbikes”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our hotel recommended we head up this road for a spectacular view & a nice twisty motorcycle ride.
They DO NOT allow motorcycles on this road, not even if you say "pretty please". So if you're on a bike don't get your hopes up about riding up to the "best view in Vermont".
Otherwise aside from the steep cost, this looked like it would've been a good "touristy" trip and a great view.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Oville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“360 degree views”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Toll way up is $27 for a car load. Road up is steep & go early to avoid crowds.Once at top parking lot, will need hiking boots to negotiate the rock path to the top of Mt Mansfield (round trip hike is about 2 hours). Once you are there the views are breath taking. Can see all the way to Canada, New York & New Hampshire. Well worth the hike. Would do it again

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stowe Mountain Auto Toll Road also viewed

 

Been to Stowe Mountain Auto Toll Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing