We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again, It Healed My Soul”
Review of Timberholm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Timberholm Inn
Ranked #3 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was my second time staying at the Timberholm and we were not disappointed. Having Sophie and Tom greet us upon arrival was like coming home. Getting that look from Sophie was that " I remember you" look. The Inn was very tastefully decorated for Christmas with a beautiful tree which Susan informed us was Tom's doing. Nicely done Tom. Both nights returning we had the Common Room to ourselves and had a beautiful fire blazing while playing a mean game of checkers with Bears and Wolves as game pieces while sitting in our comfy rocking chairs.
Tom again made us a delicious breakfast which we ate overlooking the snow on the deck and birds having their morning treats as well. There wasn't any ball throwing outside for Sophie this time but she welcomed me each morning by making sure she got plenty of loving. Nothing like waking up to a dog, beautiful surroundings, hot tea to drink and a delicious meal to begin your day.
Tom, Susan and Sophie, thank you again for a wonderful peaceful rest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

What a nice surprise to have you return so soon! Dr. Sophie affection can be very therapeutic. You came at a great time of year. Early December is a quiet time before the holiday rush and can be very warm and cozy here at the Inn...especially in front of the fire. Thanks for being our guests twice this year and we look forward to many more visits in the future!

Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 464 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Between the Timberholm's high reviews on TripAdvisor and the resident Golden Retriever "Sophie", this was the only place for our girls weekend. We were not disappointed and plan on returning. Tom and Susan are wonderful hosts. You feel right at home. A warm fire, delicious cookies (I am addicted), cuddles with Sophie, great company and an out of this world delicious hot breakfast. What more could anyone ask for? We stayed in the Sugar Maple suite. Perfect for three or four people. Tom was always around with suggestions for dining and what to do and see. So happy he suggested Stephen Huneck's Dog Mountain. A must for dog lovers. Great location, off the beaten path but close to everything. The walls are kind of thin but that's part of the charm. Housekeeping also did a great job. Thank Tom and Susan for having us and sharing your home. We enjoyed meeting you. Kiss Ms Sophie for us.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank goodgrief1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Sophie especially enjoyed your visit and sends her dog kisses back. Dog Mountain is just one of the many great side trips you can make here in Northern Vermont. We've got a bunch of suggestions. Hope you'll be our guest again and we'll share more of them with you.

Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Me & my fiance stayed for 1 night. Location: on a hill in a wooded area. Very quiet & peaceful.
Ambience: Tom made us feel right at home from the minute we stepped in. He gave us a quick tour & showed us our room.
Room: stayed in butternut room. Very comfy with artistic decorations.
Common living room: warm fireplace in the evening, tons of books to read or board games to play. Amazing view of the mountains with hot evening snacks.
Morning breakfast: one word- delicious. Tom's a great cook.

- Would stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swapgunj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your one night stay with us. Come back again sometime and stay a few days longer. Lots to see and do in Stowe and around Northern Vermont!

Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Timberholm inn in early November 2013 for 3 nights. We chose this place based on extensive research and we were not disappointed. The inn keepers Tom and Susan were wonderful hosts, and Tom is an excellent chef. He dished out spectacular breakfasts and was considerate of our dietary restrictions. It's well located an we were able to access all the things we wanted to do in Stowe quite easily both on foot and by car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayOfLight2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind works and your review. Glad you liked the breakfast. Dietary restrictions are never a problem. We look forward to having you as our guests again in the future!

Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I rented the entire Inn for my 50th birthday celebration so that my guests and I could comfortably enjoy a long weekend together. What started as comfortable and convenient soon became amazing! Each guests chose the room they wanted, each with the quintessential Vermont touches. Every room was perfectly equipped, beautiful and comfortable. We all decided by Sunday that we wanted to stay another day or two, just to finish up the food and drink and take a long nap. It felt like we were in a movie, every special touch better than the next.

The owners are wonderful people, very generous and kind. We had the option of taking over the kitchen or having them make breakfast for us, and we decided to take over the kitchen. We have a lot of cooks in our circle and loved having it all to ourselves.

The "Great Room", which is on the main floor was more than adequate for my 20 guests with plenty of comfortable couches and rocking chairs, a beautiful fireplace and huge dining tables for games and meals. We also had plenty of room to show off our dance moves and Karaoke talents.

Outside was a lovely deck with tables for dining, along with a bunch of Adirondack chairs for sitting and chatting. There was also a beautiful gazebo in the lovely large yard

Each one of my guests commented many, many times on how perfect this place was and grabbed a brochure off of the computer desk, also available in the "Great Room".

The landscape and views of the mountains were exactly what you imagine Stowe Vermont to be like in late fall, and the hiking trails were just around the corner.

The weekend was November 1st through the 3rd 2013 and the weather surprised us with mild days and nights and a sky full of stars.

Would we come again? ABSOLUTELY! We are already planning for a future Thanksgiving or Christmas stay, so if you are looking for that magical place to enjoy yourself or your guests, this is the place, but beware! You will have competition! Just kidding. Enjoy! I will post pictures soon.

Take care, Paula D. Peter

Room Tip: It's hard to pick the perfect room, as they can all easily accommodate two people and each is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaPeter1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you Paula for so many kind words! We are so glad your birthday reunion with your family and friends was such a big success. We are also happy you appreciate all the Timberholm has to offer, especially for group events and reunions. You all were perfectly delightful people and we would be proud to have you back one day. Your advice is good about booking group events over holiday periods...book early...they go fast! We look forward to seeing you all again!

Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just celebrated a family event and took over the entire Inn. Beautiful, welcoming, comfortable, every thing we were looking for. Located very close to everything yet snuggled in the woods with fantastic views. Would definitely recommend and return.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank kevbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thanks you so much for your review. We love to rent our Inn to groups, especially delightful ones like yours. Our place is especially suited to family reunions and group events, and we could tell your family was enjoying there time here at the Timberholm. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this charming, rustic B&B, which is hidden away from the main road to Smugglers' Notch in Stowe. Great views of the Green Mountains abound in and around Stowe, but when one can see a beautiful view while eating one of the delicious breakfasts or afternoon snacks or just relaxing on the deck, in the Great Room, or on the grounds of the inn, is worth the trip. The room in which we stayed was quite comfortable and clean with a lovely view of the grounds and the Worcester Mountain range. There are many books to read in the inn's Great Room, as well as binoculars and a telescope with which to study the different species of birds and other wildlife. To top it all, the hosts, The Barnes, were very welcoming - and so was their very friendly dog.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We're delighted that you were delighted! We hope you'll make a return visit to the Timberholm one day soon.

Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
2 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#1 of 22 in Stowe
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#5 of 22 in Stowe
193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberholm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberholm Inn

Address: 452 Cottage Club Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $119 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Timberholm Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a quiet, wooded hillside with gorgeous views of the Green Mountains, the Timberholm Inn is a classic Stowe Vermont experience. Built in 1949, our nine-room bed and breakfast is recognized by the Stowe Historical Society as one of Stowe's very first ski lodges and it remains one of the most popular year round lodging properties to this day. The rustic interior of our bed and breakfast is finished with rich knotty pine, unique nooks and crannies and a large common area for guests to relax after a long day. Inside our casual Vermont Inn you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere, friendly New England hospitality, a memorable breakfast and an afternoon treat. Amenities include a TV lounge, outdoor hot tub and complimentary wi-fi. Our inn is conveniently located within the town of Stowe, between our historic village and Vermont's highest mountain Mount Mansfield, which attracts visitors from around the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Timberholm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberholm Hotel Stowe
Timberholm Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing