We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay so much!”
Review of Timberholm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Timberholm Inn
Ranked #3 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay so much!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from our quick weekend getaway. We wish we would have stayed an extra day or two! Tom, Susan, and Sophie were so welcoming. Everything about this inn is so relaxing. We especially enjoyed sitting outside and taking in the gorgeous views. Our breakfasts were delicious, and Tom makes the best brownies! We loved all the little touches about this place and cannot wait to return. Thank you!

This Inn is so conveniently located to all the best that Stowe has to offer. We went hiking, to Ben and Jerry's, and to Cabot Cheese.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 2 and had a lovely view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We're so glad you appreciate all the special touches you find here at the Timberholm. We always suggest at least 2 or 3 days here at the Timberholm or in Stowe. There is so much to see and do, and of course you need some time to just sit and enjoy the peace and quiet, as well as the view.

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    70
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
74
266
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Welcoming hosts, delicious breakfast and beautiful property! My husband and I arrived around 9:30pm for a short 1 night stay in July. Tom was very accomodating and showed us around the Inn, making us feel welcome and at home. The main room is charming and quaint with beautiful windows. Pefect for playing game or browsing through the wonderful book collection. Our room was tiny, but had a lovely mountain view and everything we needed. Coffee on the sunny back deck and sour cream blueberry pancakes were a lovely start to the day. We'll definitely keep Timberholm on the list for a second visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review for such a short stay. One night at the Timberholm Inn is never enough. We're glad you planning a return trip. We'll try to get you into one of the larger rooms next time!

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Thank you Susan and Tom! Our five-days vacation in Stowe went by too fast! We loved your home, your yummy breakfasts & treats, and sweet Sophie's company.
As your Inn is so conveniently located near the hiking trails we hiked almost everywhere we planned to. Of course, we have to come back in the winter for ski and cross-country.
You are great!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craiova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We look forward to your return in the Winter and plan on showing you the same good time. Lots of great choice for cross-country skiing in the area.

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Inn is simply beautiful and it has been restored to its original grandeur. Tom, Susan, and Sophie, are gracious hosts and they made us feel like we were visiting old friends, instead of paying guests. From the delicious food to the exquisitely decorated interior and exterior to the manicured yard, everything was perfect. Quiet, relaxing, and worth the experience. If we get the chance, we’ll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We like to think you arrive and strangers and leave as friends here at the Timberholm. And it sounds like you'll be returning one day as many of our guests do. Thanks for the kind words.

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Timberholm Inn is a special place. It's not an hotel, nor a guest house. It's a home. Decorated beautifully, with it's Golden Retriver Sofie, it's a place that you don't want to leave. Clean, quiet, with a big garden and a great view, a great hospitality of Tom and his wife Suzi. We (family with 2 children-14,10) stayed there on July 2013 for 3 nights and we had a great time. I fully reccomend this place!

Room Tip: We stayed at suite no. 1, that has 2 bedroom and a living room. It was large and comfortable, nicely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are both glad you felt at home here at the Timberholm, and Sophie had great time playing with the kids. We hope you'll come and stay with us again someday when you are traveling abroad, and will tell all your friends in Israel.

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a SUPERB last minute mini-vacation to Stowe. We got lucky and found the inn on hotels.com We stayed in the Cedar Room, & it was a GREAT value for your buck! When we arrived, Tom was smiling and friendly. He immediately checked us in and showed us our room. The information booklet in the room was above and beyond what I've seen in ANY B&B. It was clean, comfy, and had a great feeling to it. Breakfast by Tom was delicious. All weekend long we talked about how wonderful a time we had. We will definitely be returning back once ski season starts. Thank you for a great weekend! :)

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are smaller but the owners tell you that from the get go on the website. If you st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meridithkindred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thanks for the GREAT review. We are very pleased you had a GREAT mini-vacation, and we look forward to having you back in the Winter for a Ski vacation! Here's a tip...give us a call and book with us direct and chances are we can save you some money!

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

From the minute we walked in, Tom made us feel welcome. The breakfast was delicious each morning and great snacks in the afternoon. The Inn was very quite and charming. We enjoyed the morning view off the back deck. Tom was quite helpful with hiking suggestions. Great location just off the main highway (108)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Glad to hear you felt so welcome at the Timberholm, and of course your welcome back anytime!

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#5 of 22 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberholm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberholm Inn

Property: Timberholm Inn
Address: 452 Cottage Club Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Timberholm Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a quiet, wooded hillside with gorgeous views of the Green Mountains, the Timberholm Inn is a classic Stowe Vermont Bed and Breakfast Country Inn with the ambiance of a bygone era. Built in 1949, our nine-room bed and breakfast is recognized by the Stowe Historical Society as one of Stowe's very first ski lodges and it remains one of the most popular year round Stowe, Vermont lodging properties to this day. The rustic interior of our bed and breakfast is finished with rich knotty pine, exuding a warmth that only comes from natural wood. Inside our casual Vermont country inn you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere, friendly and attentive New England hospitality, and memorable full country breakfasts and afternoon treats. Plus, amenities including a TV lounge, outdoor hot tub and of course free WiFi. Our bed and breakfast inn is conveniently located within the town of Stowe, Vermont between our historic village and Vermont's highest mountain, Mount Mansfield, a skiing and hiking Mecca that attracts visitors from around the world. Guests appreciate our tranquil location off the main road yet within close proximity to all that Stowe, Vermont has to offer. We bet that you will too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Timberholm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberholm Hotel Stowe
Timberholm Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing