We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway to escape from the city...”
Review of Timberholm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Timberholm Inn
Ranked #3 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Inn is simply beautiful and it has been restored to its original grandeur. Tom, Susan, and Sophie, are gracious hosts and they made us feel like we were visiting old friends, instead of paying guests. From the delicious food to the exquisitely decorated interior and exterior to the manicured yard, everything was perfect. Quiet, relaxing, and worth the experience. If we get the chance, we’ll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

We like to think you arrive and strangers and leave as friends here at the Timberholm. And it sounds like you'll be returning one day as many of our guests do. Thanks for the kind words.

Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 441 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Timberholm Inn is a special place. It's not an hotel, nor a guest house. It's a home. Decorated beautifully, with it's Golden Retriver Sofie, it's a place that you don't want to leave. Clean, quiet, with a big garden and a great view, a great hospitality of Tom and his wife Suzi. We (family with 2 children-14,10) stayed there on July 2013 for 3 nights and we had a great time. I fully reccomend this place!

Room Tip: We stayed at suite no. 1, that has 2 bedroom and a living room. It was large and comfortable, nicely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

We are both glad you felt at home here at the Timberholm, and Sophie had great time playing with the kids. We hope you'll come and stay with us again someday when you are traveling abroad, and will tell all your friends in Israel.

Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a SUPERB last minute mini-vacation to Stowe. We got lucky and found the inn on hotels.com We stayed in the Cedar Room, & it was a GREAT value for your buck! When we arrived, Tom was smiling and friendly. He immediately checked us in and showed us our room. The information booklet in the room was above and beyond what I've seen in ANY B&B. It was clean, comfy, and had a great feeling to it. Breakfast by Tom was delicious. All weekend long we talked about how wonderful a time we had. We will definitely be returning back once ski season starts. Thank you for a great weekend! :)

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are smaller but the owners tell you that from the get go on the website. If you st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meridithkindred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thanks for the GREAT review. We are very pleased you had a GREAT mini-vacation, and we look forward to having you back in the Winter for a Ski vacation! Here's a tip...give us a call and book with us direct and chances are we can save you some money!

Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

From the minute we walked in, Tom made us feel welcome. The breakfast was delicious each morning and great snacks in the afternoon. The Inn was very quite and charming. We enjoyed the morning view off the back deck. Tom was quite helpful with hiking suggestions. Great location just off the main highway (108)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Glad to hear you felt so welcome at the Timberholm, and of course your welcome back anytime!

Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I needed a place last minute on a business trip to Stowe. The Timberholm had by far the best rates especially when you consider breakfast was included. Booking was very easy and the manager responded directly. We were able to secure the very last room. The room and its en suite bath were very tiny but that was fine for us. The room was the first room next to the lobby (room #1) and so all guests pass by on their way to their own rooms and another room is above so not the quietest or the most private room. However all of the guests were generally quiet and respectful. Also because it was partly below grade it smelled a little fusty. It was adequate for staying two nights but this would not be the room I would recommend if you want a romantic get away. I am sure that other rooms are better suited for that. The hosts, Tom and Susan, were very nice and the breakfasts were good. They have tea, coffee and some sort of baked sweet out in the afternoons and evenings for you to reheat. The common rooms and decks are clean and pleasant. The inn is also just off the main Mountain road and is convenient to get to by car.

Room Tip: The inn is popular so try and book early for a room on the end and upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dontmakesuchatzimmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We are glad you found the Timberholm such a good value and enjoyed your stay. You are right. We do offer larger rooms with romantic settings and we recommend you book early to get one of these rooms. Hope you will come back sometime so we can put you up on one of these rooms.

Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to the Timberholm Inn last summer as we were driving back to Montreal from a trip around New England. It was the last hotel we were doing before the end of our trip and it was the best we experienced during that trip!

Tom & Susan are amazing. They truly make you feel at home during your stay and are very helpful if you need suggestions for anything in the area.

The room are small but I was expecting it with the photos I had seen, so I was not surprised. The great room is really charming and relaxing. They serve the breakfast in the morning in that great room and the breakfast is delicious! If you feel like watching TV, there's one in the basement since there's no TV in rooms.

A really nice play to stay if you are looking for a place to relax and be surrounded with nature.

Will definetely go back if I'm around Stowe!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks for your thoughtful comments. We hope you make us a stop next time you're down from Montreal. We would like to point out that while you stayed in one of our small rooms, we do have much larger rooms & suites with king size beds and multiple beds. Also, 5 of our 9 rooms do have HDTV with DVD players. So guest have lots of choices, options and amenities to choose from.

Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Timberholm Inn. We were in Stowe to visit our daughter I only wish we had spent two nights. I can't say enough about what a restful and peaceful place the inn is. The great room is sunny and bright and the view out the windows is so peaceful. I loved the deck, with plenty of seating. The breakfast was delicious, I had asked ahead if my daughter could join us for breakfast and they were very accommodating. They really had everything available to,meet any needs you might have, it would definitely be a great place to spend a few days in Stowe. Everything was very clean. The location is very convenient to Stowe as well. I would definitely return

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adirondacker-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

It's wonderful to know we made such an impression for only one night. We certainly hope you will be our guest again next time you visit your daughter, and hopefully we can spoil you for a couple of days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
1.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
231 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,855 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#10 of 24 in Stowe
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberholm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberholm Inn

Address: 452 Cottage Club Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $108 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Timberholm Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a quiet, wooded hillside with gorgeous views of the Green Mountains, the Timberholm Inn is a classic Stowe Vermont Bed and Breakfast Country Inn with the ambiance of a bygone era. Built in 1949, our nine-room bed and breakfast is recognized by the Stowe Historical Society as one of Stowe's very first ski lodges and it remains one of the most popular year round Stowe, Vermont lodging properties to this day. The rustic interior of our bed and breakfast is finished with rich knotty pine, exuding a warmth that only comes from natural wood. Inside our casual Vermont country inn you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere, friendly and attentive New England hospitality, and memorable full country breakfasts and afternoon treats. Plus, amenities including a TV lounge, outdoor hot tub and of course free WiFi. Our bed and breakfast inn is conveniently located within the town of Stowe, Vermont between our historic village and Vermont's highest mountain, Mount Mansfield, a skiing and hiking Mecca that attracts visitors from around the world. Guests appreciate our tranquil location off the main road yet within close proximity to all that Stowe, Vermont has to offer. We bet that you will too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Timberholm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberholm Hotel Stowe
Timberholm Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing