We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night vist” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timberholm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Timberholm Inn
Ranked #3 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tupper Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One night vist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Timberholm Inn. We were in Stowe to visit our daughter I only wish we had spent two nights. I can't say enough about what a restful and peaceful place the inn is. The great room is sunny and bright and the view out the windows is so peaceful. I loved the deck, with plenty of seating. The breakfast was delicious, I had asked ahead if my daughter could join us for breakfast and they were very accommodating. They really had everything available to,meet any needs you might have, it would definitely be a great place to spend a few days in Stowe. Everything was very clean. The location is very convenient to Stowe as well. I would definitely return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adirondacker-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
It's wonderful to know we made such an impression for only one night. We certainly hope you will be our guest again next time you visit your daughter, and hopefully we can spoil you for a couple of days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    69
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
74
265
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just spent 4 days at the Timberholm Inn and it was fantastic. The place was immaculate and the beds were so comfortable we wanted to take ours home. The views from the back porch are beautiful and we loved sitting back there enjoying the view, birds and peace and quiet. Tom & Susan, the owners, could not be nicer or more welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and so filling we skipped lunch most days. We are hooked! Whenever we visit Stowe (or anywhere nearby) we will be booking at the Timberholm.

Room Tip: The rooms are the main floor are smaller than the Room 7 or the 2 suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leticia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are truly flattered. We know your choices for lodging in Stowe are many and we really appreciate that you chose to stay with us. We look forward to your return!

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight at the Inn so we could be close to the activities and attractions in Stowe. The location is just off the 'main drag' and up a short hill. The view out of the great room into the Green Mountains was wonderful. When we woke up the low hanging clouds were gently rolling through the layers of terrain and it was quite calming.

Nuts and bolts:
-Our room was small but we only slept there so it didn't matter
-The great room has comfy furniture, tons of books, cute decor, and tons of board games
-There's also a basement with a TV, couches, and more games to choose from
-Breakfast was spot on- french toast, sausages, fruit, and juice
-There's a gazebo and small lawn in the back but you're definitely in the woods
-Dog; we unfortunately only had one short visit with the well-photographed pooch and would've love to spend more time with him

Would I come back? Yes, but there's always more to explore in my mind so I would likely try another venue before returning.

Room Tip: If it is hot outside call ahead to ask them to turn on the A/C for your arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBeardedGentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I like your "nuts & bolts". Good summary. Sorry you didn't get more time with Sophie. Note to future guests. We have rooms available that are not so small, so look over the descriptions and feel free to call and talk to us about the rooms.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Tom & Susan are wonderful hosts and their Inn has a relaxed rustic charm! We were only there for one night but felt like part of the Timberholm family. We try to steer away from hotels if possible and is sometimes difficult to find a bed & breakfast that will accommodate younger children, Tom & Susan were very welcoming!

The oatmeal pancakes and maple sausage were delicious and the view from our room was beautiful! If we are every traveling through Stowe again, we would love a return stay at the Timberholm Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Glad you stayed over with us for one night. We hope next time you'll make it a longer visit. We're also happy you appreciated our rustic charm.

Note to future guests. We do take children...8 years and older.

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Liboire, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

After having been away for five years, it was so worth going back! My Mum and I decided it was time for a Mother/Daughter Road Trip Getaway and the perfect spot was the Timberholm Inn. We would sit and rock on the front porch while having our morning coffee and listen to the birds chirping away - BLISSFUL, PEACEFUL AND SERENE! Tom's famous breakfasts and afternoon treats - PURE HEAVEN! The wonderful guests that we meet from around the world - EXCITING! This was my fourth visit to the Timberholm Inn and my Mum, Sister and I are already discussing going back in the fall! Thank-you Tom, Susan and Sophie for your hospitality and for letting us into your home :) As Arnold Schwarzenegger would say "I'LL BE BACK" LOL!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelMay1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We were so pleased to have you return to the Timberholm after 5 years, and thank you for all the kind words. We hope you will come back this fall, but be sure and book early! Fall is a busy time in Stowe and in Vermont.

Tom & Suan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We chose the Timberholm Inn for our honeymoon destination and couldn't be more pleased with our experience. It offered everything we were looking for--a comfortable atmosphere, beautfiul views, and delicious breakfast worth waking up for! Tom and Susan were gracious hosts who helped us to feel right at home. If we ever return to Stowe, we'll surely be visiting the Timberholm again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Susan and I were honored that you chose to spend you honeymoon with us at the Timberholm Inn and certainly enjoyed having you as our guests! Hope you be back one day...maybe for an anniversary!

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Robert, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

went with my daughter for a mother/daughter getaway, thoroughly enjoyed our stay, what a beautiful peaceful place, Susan and Tom were great hosts, and Sophie their dog was the welcoming committee lollll, thanks Tom for the great breakfast and the recipe for your sausage quiche, so looking forward to making it, the breakfasts were super delicious, hoping to see you again next year.

Gloria Frain Allaston

Room Tip: the suites are comfy with fridge and microwave, no a/c however but we made do with fans and it was q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloworm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Timberholm Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are glad you and your daughter had such a nice getaway at the Timberholm. We look forward to having you stay with us again one day.

Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberholm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberholm Inn

Property: Timberholm Inn
Address: 452 Cottage Club Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Timberholm Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a quiet, wooded hillside with gorgeous views of the Green Mountains, the Timberholm Inn is a classic Stowe Vermont Bed and Breakfast Country Inn with the ambiance of a bygone era. Built in 1949, our nine-room bed and breakfast is recognized by the Stowe Historical Society as one of Stowe's very first ski lodges and it remains one of the most popular year round Stowe, Vermont lodging properties to this day. The rustic interior of our bed and breakfast is finished with rich knotty pine, exuding a warmth that only comes from natural wood. Inside our casual Vermont country inn you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere, friendly and attentive New England hospitality, and memorable full country breakfasts and afternoon treats. Plus, amenities including a TV lounge, outdoor hot tub and of course free WiFi. Our bed and breakfast inn is conveniently located within the town of Stowe, Vermont between our historic village and Vermont's highest mountain, Mount Mansfield, a skiing and hiking Mecca that attracts visitors from around the world. Guests appreciate our tranquil location off the main road yet within close proximity to all that Stowe, Vermont has to offer. We bet that you will too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Timberholm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberholm Hotel Stowe
Timberholm Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing