We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't usually stay at motels- but two years in a row, this place has been great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Doesn't really feel like a motel, even though technically that's what it is. Stayed two nights last year and again this year- very comfortable, pleasant place, with lots of thoughtful touches and a beautiful spot in the back by the stream. Owners care, and work hard, and it shows. Will definitely return when in the area (the local mountain biking trails are also amazing, also maintained by a great association.)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weeebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 538 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Room was nice and clean.. Backyard was nice water creek with lounge chairs.. Perfect for relaxing.. Inn is right across a wonderful bike/walk path.. Saw deer and beavers along the way on path.. U can rent bikes a few min walk away..staff of inn was very nice.. Nonsmoking inn a major plus for our family! Loved our stay! Stayed July 8-10

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank vfab4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

With my family, we went there for a short vacation in the beginning of July.
on the trip:
If you are coming from Canada, using a 'clever' GPS (I am always sarcastic with their 'ability' to find&guide you) and follow 108 (Mountain Road), just continue further on south and ignore the GPS lady saying you that you have passed your destination and have to return. The worst that it can occur to you, is to actually miss the hotel and reach the main street of the village where 108 crosses 100 in a T shape intersection.
on the hotel:
It is lovely small resort. The rooms are proper with free Wi-Fi, though do not count on good quality amenities such as shampoo or conditioner. We enjoyed that the room had small patio and a small river passes just ~20m from the room. The river is shallow, so not generous, and one can easily just walk (obviously slowly) in it without problem looking for trout or different minerals (by the way, one can find natural marble and metal ore which is probably pyrite as it 'looks as gold' yet it is not the precious metal :) ). We found that sitting at the river bank with bottle of wine (chilling in the water), cheese and baguette, is quite enjoyable and may be romantic. Although, I cannot comment on the selection of wines in the nearby Mountain Cheese & Wine Store, I can definitely recommend the goat cheese with ash which is locally made.
The hotel also has covered pool, so not matter what the conditions are i.e. sunny or thunder storm pouring over, one can enjoy a dip in the water.
on the hotel's location:
Location of the hotel in terms of restaurants is not bad too. We took the shopping and stay package and had certificate for discount at one of 3 restaurant. We took the Mexican style option (Cactus cafe). Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this choice because: (i) my appetizer was too spacy (I do like spicy food but this was kind of exaggerated and the waitress did not seemed concerned with that), (ii) we had the food for a while but had to wait for the waitress to pay us attention and ask her to bring utensils, (iii) the smell in the restaurant was not appealing. May be we had just bad luck... However, at the pub across the street we actually had quite a good meal. And the atmosphere was cozy.
In terms of nearby bike rentals, it is not so good. Either one should bring its own bike or drive to the bike rental as the walk to there is at least 30 minutes one. On other hand, however, if one like walking on the bike path like me, the hotel is located near the middle of the bike bath between the main street of the village and the end of the bike bath on north. I would suggest taking the direction toward the village. The path is with less shady, but at the end there is a nice coffee shop (Black Cap Coffee) where one can find also a small selection of green teas. One can better appreciate the north part of the path, if rides a bike.

All in all, we enjoyed our short vacation and remain with pleasant memories.

Room Tip: Superior room is the better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank physicist_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Sun & Ski Inn & Suites was a wonderful weekend home last wkd in June. The owner went out of her way to bring us Nutella from her own home when my 8 yo requested it. She and her husband went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable, the view from the back yard was amazing and the swimming pool was clear, clean and the perfect temperature. The front desk employee kept it open an extra 30 minutes for us to swim when we checked in. We played putt putt golf at the mini golf at the foot of the parking lot - beautiful course with waterfall and friendly staff. Will be returning again soon!

Room Tip: The loft rooms look spacious and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

After a 6+ hour drive up to Vermont and a stop at Ben & Jerry's and the Old Cider Mill Inn in Waterbury which is about 15 minutes from Stowe, we checked into our room at the Sun & Ski Inn and Suites. It was located in the heart of Stowe on Mountain Road. Our Patio-Two Queen Bed sized room accommodated my family of four. The room was extremely clean and large. The room had a sliding door which opened up in the back to a large lawn and river where you could sit and relax. Everyone found some kind of activity to do which included an indoor pool to swim and mini-golf which is part of the property (a guest receives $2 per person off the regular price). The mini-golf is not your normal course with the windmills, etc. It is a replica of a real golf course with sand traps and is challenging but fun. The property is right across the street from an access point for the Stowe recreation path which is 5 miles long and is perfect for walking or bicycling (we ended spending a few hours bicycling on the path). There are several stores on Mountain Road which rent all types of bicycles. A continental breakfast is also offered which includes cold cereals, muffins, toast, oatmeal, apple and orange juice, as well as coffee. Additionally, it is conveniently located near all of the restaurants on Mountain Road for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We have stayed in the Green Mountain Inn on a prior visit to Stowe and I much rather stay here at Sun & Ski Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelM998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My family and I spent the night just passing through. I have stayed at many properties in my years from 4 star hotels in Vegas to side of the road motels and I can honestly say that I have never seen a cleaner room in all my stays. On top of that the staff was over the top friendly and courteous. I never intended to go Stowe on vacation but might return, just for another stay at this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

After a 6 hour drive up to VT from NJ and a stop at Ben & Jerry's where we ate a Vermonster sundae, we anxiously wanted to check-in to our room. Our drive to Sun & Ski was only 15 mins or less away from the 4 mile trail of VT taste-testing tourist activities. It was perfectly placed in the heart of Stowe attractions. Our loft-sized room accommodated my family (party of 6). Everyone found some kind of activity to do on site (hot tub, pool, library, & mini-golf). In the pool, we met Canadians traveling with young children & their dog, rugby tournament international athletes, and more American tourists. Everyone felt at home, at ease, and welcomed. The complimentary breakfast was simple, fresh, and delicious. We only stayed one night and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Loft sized room best for adult travelers, stairs are steep & possibly dangerous for small childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,371 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
199 reviews
3.0 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun & Ski Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun & Ski Inn and Suites

Address: 1613 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#5 Family Hotel in Stowe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $129 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun & Ski Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordered by the Little River and shadowed by Mount Mansfield, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites offers comfortable lodging rooms and amenities for the best vacation. Experience the enrichment of a peaceful mountain setting as well as the excitement of being near the fun! Located between the historic village of Stowe, Vermont and the mountain, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites has something to offer to the skiers, hikers and mountainbikers as well as to those longing for the famous New England warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sun & Ski Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun & Ski Hotel Stowe
Sun And Ski Inn And Suites
Sun And Ski Hotel
Sun And Ski Stowe
Sun & Ski Inn And Suites Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing