We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Fun.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We enjoyed a family reunion weekend end of March 2014. The weather was cold and rainy but we enjoyed the pool and hot tub while some of the younger crowd skied at Stowe Mtn.
The suites were large with 3 double beds plus a pull out sofa, so plenty of room for a family gathering with children. The rooms could use some updating of bedding but everything was clean.
The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. They have a small breakfast room with all you need for food and a family style room with fireplace people to enjoy with a library and toys for the children. They also have mini golf, not the right weather when we were there.
All in all, we thought it was a great place for a family and a great location, lots of restaurants a shopping just a mile or 2 in either direction.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Cathy L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our loft rooms, sleeping four to six people are great for families. We understand your feedback about the bedding. We have already updated the bedding in eleven of our superior rooms. This summer our remaining rooms will receive a bedding update! If you ever have the chance to come back for a visit in the summer, we do offer our guests a $2 discount off the regular Stowe Golf Park ticket price.

Thanks again!
Best regards,
Rachel Vandenberg-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    154
    48
    19
    9
See reviews for
204
177
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a great stay at the Sun and Ski. The room was spacious and clean, with views out both sides. My husband liked the numerous,big fluffy towels and shower soap and shampoo dispenser, but didn't like the slippery bed covers. I liked the convenient location to restaurants, shops, skiing, and rec path. We both enjoyed the numerous breakfast choices from homemade granola and blueberry muffins to sausage biscuits and apple pancakes. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the place well maintained. One negative was having the pool in a separate building. We didn't use it because it was too much trouble to go there in winter. I'm believe there are expansion plans to correct this problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Sally M M,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We installed the soap dispensers just a couple of months ago, so it is very nice to hear that they are well received. We now have conditioner and body wash as well as shampoo and bar soaps. Our award winning homemade granola is a guest favorite. Some guests purchase a small batch before returning home! We work very hard to give the best guest experience possible including great customer service and regular maintenance. While our pool is located outside of the room buildings, we do have a changing room available at the pool house. We are building a new building next year that will indeed have indoor access from those rooms to the pool house.

Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Rachel Vandenberg-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebling, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Clean facility, good prices. Nice indoor pool & hot tub.
There needs to be a little more of a variety of hot food available for breakfast.
Also a microwave in each guest room would be nice too. Overall a clean & pleasant
Expierence

Room Tip: There are no microwaves in the room. Only one where the breakfast area is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Susan K,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found the overall facilities to be clean and well kept. Cleanliness and maintenance are among our highest priorities. We appreciate your suggestion about the microwaves. We will certainly take this into consideration. Next year we are expanding our hotel and we will be adding suites with small kitchens to our room selection. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Clean and comfortable rooms, cozy wood fireplace in the lounge, and nice indoor heated pool and hot tub. Lots of great shops and restaurants close by. Definitely a great value for the money! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Mikeosu,

Thanks for the great review! You covered just about all of our best features including our indoor/outdoor pool and central location. We are happy to hear that you would stay with us again and hope you will return.

Best regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A friend and I traveled up to ski at Stowe and picked this hotel because of the positive reviews and handsome look of the rooms from the pictures on the property's website. The pictures did not lie. But what makes this a standout property and a pleasant surprise are the extras: local magazines and newspapers in the room; granola bars and other welcome goodies; a coffee maker equipped with coffee packets that brew 4 cups (imagine it!); a thoughtfully prepared complimentary breakfast with a main course that changes daily--great for those of us who stay more than one night; a suite of common rooms with tasteful colors and attractive furniture; a roaring fireplace; and a library of books you would actually like to get lost in for a bit. A clean, bright, welcoming gem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Christopher R,

Thank you for your very kind review. It is great to hear that we have surprised you with extra details at our hotel. We do our best to provide and all around great experience for our guests. We are also glad that you liked our decor. We have made several updates to our rooms and main building in the last couple of years.

Thanks again!
Best regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife and a friend and I spent a weekend at Stowe and we stayed at the Sun and Ski. We booked the hotel through Travelocity and it seemed fairly reasonable in price.

On the plus side:

• The room was very clean and fairly large.
• The bed was comfortable enough though pillows were small and too firm.
• It was pretty quiet even though our room was close to the office and parkinglot.
• The hotel is set back from the road and it is on Mtn Road so it is a short drive to the slopes.

On the negatives:

• The room was somewhat charmless and had a musty chlorine smell.
• Breakfast was nothing to write home about
• Fox News is abhorrent as it is but it is really the last thing I want to see when I am eating my kibble from the General Mills cereal station at breakfast.
• Proprietor overcharged myself and my friend as he tallied up our bills. It's likely that it was incompetence but it was surprising that he messed up both our bills -- my friend's by a significant amount.
• What the room didn't need: a midsize safe for my valuables.
• What the room did need: a corkscrew.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cranky_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Cranky_NYC,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you found the room clean and spacious. In response to your points of feedback: We have updated eleven of our rooms with new furniture and bedding. The remainder of our current rooms will receive new bedding and curtains in the next few weeks. I'm sure this will help to create a fresher and more charming feel to the room. We are very sorry about the mistake with your bill. It was not intentional and as far as I understood the mistake was promptly fixed once it was identified.

Best regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We visited this hotel during our christmas holiday. Very nice staff, the service was great and the room was recently renovated, very comfortable and clean. On christmas eve, a camp fire was organized by the staff which made us feel very welcome. The nature surrounding the hotel is amazing! The room had a nice patio with a river view. We will definitely visit this place during our next stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Karin V,

Thank you for your great review! We feel privileged that you chose to stay with us during your Christmas holiday. We are glad you enjoyed our camp fire and hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,264 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
164 reviews
3.0 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
191 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun & Ski Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun & Ski Inn and Suites

Property: Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Address: 1613 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4750
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stowe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun & Ski Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordered by the Little River and shadowed by Mount Mansfield, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites offers comfortable lodging rooms and amenities for the best vacation. Experience the enrichment of a peaceful mountain setting as well as the excitement of being near the fun! Located between the historic village of Stowe, Vermont and the mountain, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites has something to offer to the skiers, hikers and mountainbikers as well as to those longing for the famous New England warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun & Ski Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun & Ski Hotel Stowe
Sun And Ski Inn And Suites
Sun And Ski Hotel
Sun And Ski Stowe
Sun & Ski Inn And Suites Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing