We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value! Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was in town with my family for a wedding. We arrived and was greatly warmly by the owner's cat CLEO. The owner wasn't at the desk but within minutes she arrived. I was greeted pleasantly and thus began a great weekend, despite the rain. The staff were very helpful and warm. The breakfast was continental style--so if you are looking for a BIG breakfast, this is not the place. The dining area is a bit small. HOWEVER, it is built like a home so just go around to the next room and there is a fantastic living room with a library, games, a fireplace, additional tables, a couch, chairs and a fantastic view. There is a heated pool, great scenery and a wonderful trail across from the Inn. The location is ideal as it is within minutes of a myriad of shops, restaurants, and other local businesses. We were about 20 minutes from Waterbury which has the Ben and Jerry's factory and downtown Waterbury. We are 10 minutes from the ski slopes, so if that is your flavor, you are close by. The front desk also has extended hours so if you arrive late, there will be someone there at least until 10:30. They will also leave your key if you arrive after that point. Please be mindful that it is a pet friendly place. If you do not like pets, or are allergic, consider another venue. CLEO is always present, sitting, watching the birds, or greeting you when you come. She was a sweetheart. Do not expect to be electronically plugged in either. Although there is WIFI, you are in the mountains..so be realistic. In fact, TURN OFF THE TECHNOLOGY and enjoy the stay even more. There is a LOT of natural beauty and I can't say enough how peaceful this place was. Oh, and the granola is great--get the recipe! We (husband and 2 kids) are very happy we came and look forward to coming back! FYI, the kids activities were average because we didn't get a chance to experience them. We were in a double room, and it was a little small for us, so look to other reviews to check out what other rooms will look like and to see how the swimming and golf park would be for families.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind review! We will pass on the compliment to Cleo! :-) I would like to add we have Loft Suites which sleep up to 6 people and would be a great fit for families our small groups.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 523 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We five friends stay in two rooms at very very attractive price, it include free parking, breakfast & wifi. Owner & staff very nice and friendly.
We enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed surrounding ares, lots of natural beauty

Room Tip: Nice & attractive price
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chopravm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

this was my first time at a hotel. EVER! and it was amazing! the people were super friendly. they had the cutest cat ever! super nice. the cat followed me everywhere I went. the food was really good, it was a very nice hotel. im happy the sun and ski is where I stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review! We are glad your very first hotel experience was at the Sun & Ski and that you enjoyed your stay here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We've stayed at many places in Stowe over the years, but we keep coming back to the Sun and Ski Inn. The inn is set back from the mountain road on lots of land and has a private deck per unit in the back, with a lawn stretching back to the stream. It is a peaceful spot for relaxing and reading. There are 2 sections to the inn, with an indoors heated pool and hot tub in between; this can be converted to an outdoors pool in warmer weather. The inn itself has undergone some changes over the past few years. All the King rooms have been remodeled and have flat screen TVs, a sink with good lighting outside the bathroom, which has a tub and good shower, very comfortable king bed, fridge and ample space for relaxing. There is a mini-putt on the premises, one game included in the price of your accommodations. The morning breakfast (included in the cost) exceeded our expectations with the usual choice of cereals, juices, coffee, breads, muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, Danish and hard boiled eggs. Our first breakfast also had sausage patties on biscuits and the second day had apple-stuffed crepes. The owners are friendly, accommodating and helpful. In fact, they make your stay special, as does Cleo, their friendly cat! Stowe is quieter off-season and this has its advantages, but be forewarned that many restaurants and shops are not open. I heartily recommend the Sun and Ski Inn. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangermanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review and repeated visits to the Sun & Ski! We very much appreciate your kind comments on our recent renovation efforts and would like to add that we will continue to improve our rooms and common areas. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights with our three teenage children. We rented a loft suite that gave us plenty of space. We were there to see our son who is a student studying musical theater/education at Johnson State College. Our room was spacious and comfortable and very clean! Sliding glass doors to a grassy area with picnic table and benches. The pool temperature was perfect and the hot tub very relaxing. Breakfast was simple, but good. On our last night there, we had ordered takeout and we used the large table in the dining area. After the kids went back to our room, my husband and I enjoyed some quality alone time in front of the fireplace in the lounge area. Mark, the owner, checked in on us to make sure we had everything we needed. All in all, it was an excellent weekend and we look forward to coming here again! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The loft suite is excellent for families, great size and value!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review! It was great meeting you and we hope to see you again some time in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Several members of my family traveled up to see my nephew play the lead in "Into the Woods" at Johnson College and we took several rooms at the Inn. The rooms were immaculate and comfy, with a small but nice sunny deck overlooking a running river. Morning breakfast was basic but good and made very good by the wonderful homemade granola for the yogurt. It was early season but the potential for a round of mini golf a few weeks down the road was right in the front yard of the inn. Unfortunately we didn't stay long enough to check out the walking path across the street which took you by several restaurants. Erika was very friendly and made us feel right at home, and kept the coffee coming for us all on morning of checkout as we all lingered over coffee and said our goodbys to each other. I would gladly go back to spend a couple of days just relaxing there when everything is in full swing for the season.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and will definitely pass on your nice compliment to Erika!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights. Overall I would say the stay was good. The check in process was quick and easy. The woman at the desk was friendly and asked us if we were familiar with Stowe. She suggested a couple restaurants to have dinner at. Two of which we did check out. Piecasso and Harrisons, we had good experiences as both places. The rooms were a good size. It was nice to have the sliding doors out to the back of the property as they gave the room a good amount of natural light. It was convenient to have the sink separate from the shower and toilet. The room and the bathroom were very clean ( I am the guest who checks behind the toilet to really see how clean the room is). The beds were comfortable which is nice after a long day at the mountain. We enjoyed the pool area each day and we found it nice that the hot tub was outside separate from the pool area. It was much more enjoyable that it wasn't sweltering while you were sitting in it. We did not check out the breakfast each morning because we wanted to get to the mountain around 7:30 (when the breakfast started) each morning. We found a great bagel place down the road and we were happy with that.

Two minor things that I did not like..
The parking lot was a muddy mess. That was expected since we were visiting at the end of March. However, in order to get to the pool from our room we had to walk though part of the parking lot. It was not fun to dodge muddy puddles in flip flops! It didn't really deter us because we visited the pool daily. A paved pathway would be nice.
Since the snow was melting it uncovered the slew of cigarette butts and a couple stray beer cans outside the room. If I was traveling there during a time when I would have enjoyed the patio, I would be very disgusted. But the room did not smell like smoke so it really wasn't a problem. Just something I noticed.

When we were driving around Stowe we noticed that Sun and Ski was one of the only hotels with a full lot. That being the case during later ski season says something about the place. Overall we had a positive experience at Sun and Ski Inn and we will be returning next year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsKK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your nice and detailed review! We're happy you enjoyed your stay and are planning to come back next year! To address your minor points of criticism, unfortunately the melting of the snow always uncovers a lot of mud and also trash. We always aim to clean up the latter as soon as possible (it has now been done), and we're very sorry about the bad impression it left with you. In addition, we're preparing for an expansion that would enclose our pool building and so take care of (some of) the problems during mud season.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,315 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
178 reviews
3.0 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
216 reviews
2.6 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun & Ski Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun & Ski Inn and Suites

Address: 1613 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4750
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stowe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $131 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun & Ski Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordered by the Little River and shadowed by Mount Mansfield, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites offers comfortable lodging rooms and amenities for the best vacation. Experience the enrichment of a peaceful mountain setting as well as the excitement of being near the fun! Located between the historic village of Stowe, Vermont and the mountain, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites has something to offer to the skiers, hikers and mountainbikers as well as to those longing for the famous New England warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sun & Ski Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun & Ski Hotel Stowe
Sun And Ski Inn And Suites
Sun And Ski Hotel
Sun And Ski Stowe
Sun & Ski Inn And Suites Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing