We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”
Review of Riverside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Inn
Ranked #12 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed here as part of a group trip in June 2012.

Our rooms were clean and comfortable, the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful with tips about where to go and even allowed us to borrow bicycles. It was great to have use of the kitchen as a group, and the living area.

Great place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahe41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 108 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed in this motel two nights: Jun 25 and 26th. The room I was (#15) in with my family was far below than acceptable. We found bugs (not bedbugs but some kind of small roaches) in our bed. One of them actually bit my son in his cheek. The bathroom door doesn't close properly. THe owners were friendly till we talked about the problems. then the say sorry but...
We paid 75 / night plus 10% tax, which is not at all worth for the room. We will never come back to this place again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saibal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed in one of the motel rooms for four nights with our dog, and even though the room could certainly use major upgrades, it was clean and functional and served its purpose. The a/c worked great during two 90+ degree days. The owners were very friendly. We would come again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingarchivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Sadly this was a terrible place to stay. The rooms are old, not that clean and in desperate need of a bit of paint and repair. It has an awful shower and the whole place is tacky. It is cheap but I would never recommend it . The only good thing was it had a comfortable bed with clean linen.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

When we travel to Vermont we don't make the inn a spending priority so instead we seek VALUE. Not something easy to find in Stowe at any time of year.The Riverside gives us that in spades. Plenty of space, clean with a fridge and a pair of innkeepers that are top of the heap! We have stayed at the Riverside oh I dunno, 6 times now. There will be many more visits in our future!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kebwebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed one night in May. We were very desperate to find a place as we arrived in Stowe early evening on a Saturday and vacancies were limited. A lovely lady from another B&B told us about this place as it belonged to her friend. The person who looked after us was very nice but save your 80 bucks and go elsewhere. It doesn't look like they have put any money into the place for awhile and it wouldn't take too much $$ or effort to "pretty" the tired place up. I was very disappointed to visit such a beautiful place like Stowe and end up in such a sketchy place...serves me right for not booking ahead!

Room Tip: Book ahead and use Trip Advisor and Booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

A big group of us (nearly 50 in all) rented the entire place. I must say that rhe rooms were small and not all of them had their own bathroom. The furniture and kitchen appliances were old. But the Riverside Inn worked wonderfully well for our group. The adults could move about freely and not worry about spilling their beer. The kids could run around making noise. You could throw your gear on the lobby floor and not worry that you were doing something wrong. You could watch TV, play cards at the living room table, hang out in the kitchen or discuss the day's skiing on a couch in front of the fire.

The owners Julian and Kay were genial hosts ready to try to accommodate our requests.

The drive to the Stowe ski resort took only 10 minutes up the Mountain Road. A shuttle passes every 20 minutes.

So while it isn't fancy, I would recommend the Riverside Inn for any group wanting a congenial place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaracasCorrespondent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.3 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
1.4 mi away
The Stowe Inn
The Stowe Inn
#14 of 22 in Stowe
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#5 of 22 in Stowe
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
471 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bears Lair Inn
Bears Lair Inn
#18 of 22 in Stowe
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn

Address: 1965 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4769
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $85 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing