We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountainside Resort At Stowe
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I must say up front that we stayed here using our friends' time share. So we just paid the rental fee. But having said that, we very much enjoyed our stay here. My wife, daughter and I had separate bedrooms and baths, a small but full kitchen, dining area, living room, and a balcony with a great view of the Green Mountains. The pool and game room was a short walk away. My daughter also enjoyed the playground, which was not far down the hill from us. The staff was also helpful, loaned us some board games, and mailed us a battery charger that we accidentally left behind. I really had no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yankeedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 132 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have stayed at over a dozen different condos and town houses at many mountains and this one was the most disappointing. If you look at the website, most of the photos are of the outside and of the view. This is because on the inside, the condo is small, outdated, and bare. Our condo listed as sleeping 6-9. It sleeps 6 at max including the pullout sofa. The living area seats 4. Two kids had to sit on the floor to watch tv. The kitchen is so narrow, only one person can fit at a time. The gas fireplace sounded great but it is connected to the thermostat so it only goes on when you raise the thermostat above 70. It got so hot we never turned it on. Very low budget furniture and outdated. Better off at the best western for half the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Travelers considering this property should keep in mind that there is wide variance in the individual units and some are very up to date and well maintained and others not so much. If you like really basic and small condos then #A-401 is the place for you! Although it has 3 bedrooms and technically accommodates 6, the dining room table only seats 4 and there would barely be enough seating in the living room area for everyone. The furniture in our unit was slightly better than what you would find in a college apartment. The unit is really small and cramped. The closets looked like they were built by someone with a very limited grasp of carpentry. The property is conveniently located and the pool and hot tub are OK.
I booked our place through Stowe's central reservation office. The reservation process was fine but I would not recommend using them for this property because they will not be able to tell you which unit you are actually renting, what the bedding configuration is or other details you might want to know in advance.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank NJ_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceinVT, General Manager at Mountainside Resort At Stowe, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

We are sorry to hear that this guest had a negative experience at our resort. While our condo owners do have the flexibility to furnish and decorate their individual units, we do have a standard that must be upheld. We have shared the concerns of this guest with this specific owner and have been working closely with them to complete necessary upgrades. We would enjoy the opportunity to invite this guest back to our resort to see the completed upgrades or enjoy a stay in another of our condo units.

We strive to have a high level of guest satisfaction and apologize that this guest did not have an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We enjoyed our weeklong stay in Stowe. These condos are in a nice location. Our two-bedroom unit C202 was quite small, but neatly appointed and very clean, with a great view from the living room and a private porch that looked out into the woods. Yes, there were a lot of steps up to the second floor unit, but this didn't bother us. The master bedroom was tiny, and we did not like the queen mattress at all, very uncomfortable. The second bedroom had twin beds, the mattresses there were better. The two bathrooms were small but clean. The kitchen had everything we needed, and we cooked in a lot. We would have loved a washer and dryer in the unit, but there was a coin laundry down the hill -- bring tons of quarters. There was a basic pool and community room, which were nothing special. The Stowe area is great, especially in the fall when the leaves are brilliant. We enjoyed hiking, golf, and seeing the sights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indymama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I traded our Marriott timeshare for a week in Stowe. I will be calling Marriott to delete Mountainside from their list. It is absolutely not at the Marriott timeshare level. If you don't care about that, this will be the place for you.
The unit was on the first level which apparently is the spot you want to be based on other reviews with an abysmal amount of stairs. The unit was clean. Furniture was very 70's and dated. The beds were small and awful with the bonus of the bathrooms being beat up with drywall rot around the showers. Our impression is that they live for the Ski crowds and care less about their parties that tear up the units. Herd them in and out as they say. They did explain the units are under renovation and ours (B-101) had not been done yet. Ask before you book as to what the status of your unit is.
The good news is this is located in a great place to explore Stowe as you are only a mile from town center. Restaurants are superb and it's hard to go wrong with any of them. Harrison's and Bistro at Ten Acres are the top two we enjoyed.
Make sure you make the 15 minute hike to Moss Glenn waterfalls right outside of town!

Room Tip: Ask for the first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmccrane57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed our recent fall foliage trip to Vermont. Lodging was okay. Basic, and met our needs. The linens and pillows were awful and we ended up buying pillows. The stairs were a concern but the mgmt. made sure we didn't have too many to deal with. The staff was pleasant to deal with. Just low budget in some respects.

Room Tip: We got a street level unitl (B unit) and it had a nice covered deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustinYellowrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked as a time-share through RCI A great deal is made of the stairs at the resort, so being in our 70's and having lots of luggage, travelling for a long while, I made a point of calling the resort and ensuring we could have a room with the minimum number of stairs, which was about 27 before booking.
The day before we were due to arrive I called and said we had an 8 hour journey and would be arriving late. They said no problem and left the key in a drop box with all our information.
When we found our accommodation to our horror instead of being on the first floor we were on the third, with so many stairs I didn't count.
Fortunately we always take the most important stuff in with us first, so we had toiletries, the few supplies we had purchased, milk, bread, etc. and nightwear and a change of clothes. I say fortunately because by the time we got in the unit darkness was falling.
The first problem was the gas fire, which made a loud hissing noise as if it was on but not lit. You can't be too careful with gas so we called the emergency number and left a message for someone to call so that we could ask about it.
My husband then went down to the car to get some light bags.. no way could we carry 50lb. suitcases up those stairs, and by the time he got back it was pitch dark, and no lights had come on on the stairs. Another guest who had a torch helped him up the stairs with one bag, and even offered to get our suitcases for us, but that would not have been fair, we could manage without them.
The emergency lady turned up, and all that was the matter with the fire that it was set to allow too much air into the fire. She said as long as we could see the pilot light was on it would be ok, and turned it down so that it was quieter, instructions would help maybe.
My husband was wondering whether to go down and bring some other luggage up... we had 2 cases, 3 carry on bags, and sundry other bags of things. I said no way could he go down those stairs again in the pitch dark, so effectively we were confined to the apartment and could not even go out and get something to eat.
I rang the office as soon as I could the next morning to ask why, when I had booked a first floor apartment had we been put in a third floor one, and why the lights didn't work. The apartments that are time-share don't have a washing machine and for numerous apartments I found two coin operated washers and dryers in a sort of grubby dark shed affair below the swimming pool. When I mentioned this, as a placatory gesture they placed us in one of the apartments they rent, which was not as nice as a timeshare apartment, but at least had a washing machine. After 2 weeks on the road we had a lot of washing to do. This apartment was nice, had a nice patio, although only looked at other buildings. The only problem was the carpet was dirty, and if you walked round in socks or barefeet they soon became black and sticky. I mentioned this on the way out and she told me the carpet had not long been cleaned, so my only thought is that the cleaning had bought the dirt to the top of the carpet and it had not been removed properly.
The property itself was nicely maintained. The apartment was furnished ok. The maintenance people moved everything from the first apartment for us. The pool was nice and had the carpet been clean to be fair we would not have a complaint about the apartment. It had a huge patio outside with chairs, table etc. and we enjoyed breakfasts and an evening cocktail on the patio
The area was quiet, not too far from town, although not walking distance. The pool when we looked was deserted, which would be nice if we had felt like using it. Really we just felt quite unhappy here, and in the end, although we had arrived a day late (with notification) we also left a day early, having another time-share booked where we had planned to arrive a day late, and were now going to arrive on time.
I say never again because I just would not trust them to give us the apartment we booked. Having said this it would not be a bad place to stay if you can do stairs easily, and if the lights stay on at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Englishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceinVT, General Manager at Mountainside Resort At Stowe, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We are sorry to learn that these guests did not have a pleasant experience at our resort. One of our staff apparently placed the guests in a unit with more stairs than promised, and that was our fault and should not have happened. The problem with the lights was corrected the next morning - a sensor malfunctioned and they worked fine up to that point.

When the guests contacted us the next morning, we were glad to move them to a rental unit that had a washer and dryer to meet their needs. The carpet in the unit had recently been professionally cleaned and perhaps the residue had not been properly removed. We would have been happy to address this issue if the guests brought it to our attention before their departure.

We tried our best to satisfy the expectations of the guests and are sorry that our efforts were not successful in providing them an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
1.6 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
959 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainside Resort At Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Resort At Stowe

Address: 31 Mountainside Dr, Stowe, VT 05672-5394
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Stowe
Price Range: $137 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Resort At Stowe 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the picturesque New England village of Stowe, Vermont, Mountainside Resort offers a comfortable and reasonably priced year round lodging experience for couples, families, and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mountainside Resort At Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Mountainside Resort At Stowe Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing