We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
Ranked #7 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed here for a night in July 2010. Beautiful area. Huge room. Very clean. Extremely nice hosts. Service was great. The in-house restaurant was very good, but expensive. Well priced room. Very nice get-a-way. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YokelCletus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 202 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed at the Hob Knob this July and absolutely loved it. The room was huge and spotless, very clean. Bob and Barbara and daughter were excellent Host and Hostesses along with Stoli and Mia (the official greeters). The setting in the woods was lovely, no road traffic or noise, the grounds were immaculate. The Breakfasts were yummy and could not be better. Dinner was excellent, hand prepared with love and sitting out in the evening was delightful. We checked out several places before choicing the Hob Knob, and would definetly choose the Hob Knob over the other places in Stowe.
We just loved it there and would highly recommend. We cannot wait to get time off and go back to the Hob Knob!
Wendy and Barry, Spring City PA

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldwingtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Hob knob is a perfectly nice MOTEL. I would have been satisfied with the stay if they advertised themselves as a motel and charged accordingly. The place was clean and convenient, but it they try to bill themselves as something they aren't on their website. Make no mistake, this is not an inn, but a motel, where your room opens onto the outside, the rooms are carpeted in hideous old wall-to-wall and the walls are painted in this seriously ugly sponge pattern thing. Breakfast was fine. Really basic, and mediocre even for simple bisquick pancakes and scrambled eggs. I can do much better at home - and I'm no chef. Basically, I often stay at motels and have no problem with this one, but when they try to advertise themselves as a Vermont "inn" and you arrive at a really average motel - don't be surprised.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed at HK Inn for 2 wkds this winter.
Our fist stay was at a standard room, our second on a fireplace room (actual room names)
General review - the place is a little old, tehre is no actual common living area to sit down and relax. The restaurant has a living room and a bar, but it is only open on thrus/fri/sat.
Breakfast - is just ok, they are really nice about preparing food with special request, but nothing gourmet. Basic omeletts, pancackes and waffles, toast, oatmeal.
standard room - very simple, not a lot of decor or personality. It really needs some major renovation.
Fireplace room - a bit nicer, with fridge, fireplace, newer baths, but still lacks some decor.
Location like most B&B is just fine, on mountain road, few miles from resort.
Would I go back again? Not sure, probably not. I think it is a bit pricey for what they offer.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcmitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

The Hob Knob is a piece of history, being the first Ski destination in Stowe. The rooms are simple yet clean. We went there to ski! What we found though was the level of service was excellent. From the dining to the rooms you feel like you are visiting old friends. The wine selection in the restaurant and bar is excellent. The steaks are great! The lounge area is the perfect place to sit with a cocktail and have a relaxing time by the fire.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We've been coming to the Hob Knob since 1992. We always enjoy our stay. Beautiful surroundings. Wonderful restaurant. Thanks to Rick for the delicious Chicken Marsala.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foliagefanMemphis_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

After booking one night in a plush, Victorian Inn, I was looking for something a little more economical for our night in Stowe. The Hob Knob exceeded my expectations. The room, with king bed, and the bath weren't plushly furnished, but were roomy and very clean. The dining room was just what you would want for a charming, cozy dinner, complete with roaring fire, quiet jazz, and fantastic meals. The owners were sincerely warm and likeable hosts who you would want to visit again. Our visit ended with a delicious breakfast put us in great shape for the day ahead.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metacom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
1.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
133 reviews
1.9 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge

Address: 2364 Mountain Rd, PO Box 3363, Stowe, VT 05672-3363
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $103 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1937 as the first lodge for skiers in Stowe, VT the Hob Knob has always been a family owned and operated business. Since 2003, upon arrival my family has had the pleasure of greeting our guests who have traveled from around the world to our award-winning town of Stowe. At the Hob Knob Inn, we strive to be comfy, cozy and clean. Our 20 guestrooms have an inviting, home-like feel and each nights stay includes our continental breakfast that is served in our intimate and informal lounge. Our 10 lush acres located on the Mountain Road offer views of Mt. Mansfield, two ponds and outdoor hot tub. Enjoy a drink in our lounge and some comfort food from our kitchen Thursday through Sunday. Bring the family, play some games and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hob Knob Hotel Stowe
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing