We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs Up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
Ranked #7 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2006

The Hob Knob is a nice place to stay in Stowe and very close to the ski area of the same name. The Inn is comprised of a main building that contains a few units, the dining room, and a lounge as well as a separate two-story building with around sixteen units. It is located on a large wooded lot that is removed from the road and wonderfully quiet. We took a room in the separate building with two queen beds and no fireplace. It was neat, large, and clean. The hosts, Barbara and Bob, are friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were fine. Coffee needs to much stronger, though.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knickherboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 203 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2006

We have traveled to Stowe many, many times, but not in several years. We chose this property based on their pet friendliness & pleasant reviews on this web site. We stayed in the lodge in the rear which was set on a lovely piece of property, set back from Mountain Road. We had lots of space in the room which was great as we traveled with our teenage son & small dog. The bath & vanity area was spacious, the kitchenette helpful for morning coffee & snacks.

The dining room was very warm & inviting, pleasant service and the food was simply delicious. (I highly recommend the steaks which were perfectly prepared).

Our maid Vera did an excellent job with the room & even left treats for our dog.

The nicest part about staying here were the very kind innkeepers, Bob & Barbara. They were very pleasant to talk with and do everything they can to make you feel at home. Our dog also enjoyed meeting canine residents Belle & Stoli.

The Hob Knob Inn was like home away from home & a very pleasant experience for us all!!

Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2005

My husband and I truly love the Hob Knob Inn ! We don't like to leave our dog home when we travel. We called ahead to make sure he could stay.
" of course!" was the reply. They have pet rooms that are very comfortable and clean and acreage for him to play with the owners dogs,Bella and Stoli. The food is prepared by Barbara Fisher, don't pass up the creme brulee french toast for breakfast !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lmcneish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chester, New Jersey
12
Reviewed April 16, 2005

We have stayed at the Hob Knob a few times in the past couple of ski seasons. We have always been treated warmly by Bob and Barbara the owners. Each visit was pleasant and without incidents. Until last March's trip. It seemed everything was going wrong for us, our car lost it's 4 wheel drive on our way to the Inn ... Bob towed us in. By the time we recovered from the trip and made it down to dinner it was very late ... Bob and Barbara kept the kitchen open and served a great meal. (The food is always excellent) Up the next morning and the car would not start .... After Bob tried to jump it, we realized it was more than just a battery. ...Bob arranged for the local shop to tow and fix it. I over heard him emphasize to the repair shop owner that I was a Hob Knob guest, in other words ... he's with me. I don't think it was a coincidence that the repair cost was very resonable for a resort type town like Stowe. Oh, after the car was towed to the shop I realized the skis were still in it. ... Bob drove us down town to pick them up. Finally, Barbara not only gave my son and I tokens for the bus to the mountain but offered many options to my non-skiing wife. Bob and Barbara were the most helpful hosts when we needed it. We are looking forward to our next visit. We highly recommend the Hob Knob.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Connecticut
12
Reviewed February 15, 2005

I would like to thank Bob and Barbara for such a great weekend. My boyfriend (now fiance) and I had a beautiful room with a wonderful oak bed, with a whirlpool, and fireplace. It was the most romantic weekend of my life. We ate dinner in the restaurant and Bob carved a 32oz steak for my fiance which was cooked perfectly. The atmosphere of the restaurant and the inn were so inviting and I am looking forward to our visit next year.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2005

My husband and I visit Stowe, VT, several times a year. We have enjoyed every season in Stowe, each one spent at the Hob Knob. We have always been given a pleasant room that has been clean and updated with all amenities one could ask for.
We have spent time in the lounge, it is comfortable and warm. The dining room is cozy and inviting and the food is always delicious. They have a wonderful cook!
The Inn keepers, Bob and Barbara Fisher, and their dog are friendly and always willing to please.
We look forward to our next visit in a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cynthiala03153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2005

I have been traveling to New England for over 25 years like to stay at different places. A friend suggested the Hob Knob Inn in Stowe and we loved it. I stayed with my wife and 3 and 5-year old boys. What a wonderful place. The inn keepers were above friendly and made us feel right at home. We usually spend more time in our room but found it hard to leave the lobby which was very relaxing, friendly and comfortable. The other guests must have felt the same as we were rarely alone.

The room was very roomy, cozy and everything you could ask for. We had a kitchenette which we needed as my youngest child is a special needs child and we needed to prepare and refrigerate his medicines. The fire place was a great accent and exactly what we wanted at the end of a day of skiing.

Surprisingly the restaurant was equally pleasing, if not better. We expected to eat meals in our room but the food was so delicious and fresh, we spent several nights in the restaurant.

We will definitely return to the Hob Knob.

2  Thank pjpandbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,345 reviews
1.9 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
424 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#10 of 24 in Stowe
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge

Address: 2364 Mountain Rd, PO Box 3363, Stowe, VT 05672-3363
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $96 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1937 as the first lodge for skiers in Stowe, VT the Hob Knob has always been a family owned and operated business. Since 2003, upon arrival my family has had the pleasure of greeting our guests who have traveled from around the world to our award-winning town of Stowe. At the Hob Knob Inn, we strive to be comfy, cozy and clean. Our 20 guestrooms have an inviting, home-like feel and each nights stay includes our continental breakfast that is served in our intimate and informal lounge. Our 10 lush acres located on the Mountain Road offer views of Mt. Mansfield, two ponds and outdoor hot tub. Enjoy a drink in our lounge and some comfort food from our kitchen Thursday through Sunday. Bring the family, play some games and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hob Knob Hotel Stowe
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing