We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms but poor dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
Ranked #7 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our room was spacious, very clean and quite large. The bathroom seemed brand new. Sadly, the pool was not circulating any water so it was buggy.

The dinner left a great deal to be desired. The steak was thin and very expensive, the potatoes were weird and over salted and there were just two small brocoli florets. Just to add to the pain, it took over an hour to be served the main course and in a less than half filled dining room. Major kitchen issues.... For the money, I would rate the dinner as poor.

The continental breakfast was excellent with delicious fresh fruit and great little muffins.

The folks who run The Hob Nob are wonderful and little Sam is adorable. Please just fix the dinner issues.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bones12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 208 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent one night at the Hob Knob Inn. Our room was so pretty--big stone fireplace, balcony. It was very clean, although it was in need of some updating. The restaurant was not open the night we were there, and we did not stay for the continental breakfast (they didn't serve til 8:30, and we needed to get on the road).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

One of the cleanest places we have stayed in for years!! Good location and pleasant hosts.
Recommend this inn anytime to anyone. Good location also.

Resturant only open Thursday thru Sunday, so we did not get a chance to try it... but several locals told us it was one of the best in Stowe.

Nice also as it is pet friendly.... not too many of them in Stowe to choose from.

Room Tip: Second floor at top of the hill has balcony....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerryHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed with our kids for 2 nights in July 2012.
The owners received us very nicely, recommended attractions in the area and generally, looked very happy and nice.
The place is 2 minutes drive from Stowe centre and a quite one.
Our room was basic, 2 double queen beds, but clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was minimal, no bagels and no cream cheese, one type of cereal, butter, jam and toasted bread and muffins. On the second day they serves oatmeal as well. probably due to small number of guests while we stayed there.
Overall we enjoyed our stay there.
Good value and nice hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have had the pleasure of enjoying our anniversary dinner at the Hob Knob Inn Restaurant. The atmosphere was delightful and the food was great. The price was also very reasonable for the quantity that you receive. It is highly recommended if you are looking for an enjoyable place to enjoy delicious food.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have stayed at the Hob Knob several times and am never disappointed! The owners make this place fabulous. The rooms are clean and the food is great (try the twice baked potatoes).

Each room at the Hob Knob is slightly different, making it all the more endearing. I will never stay anywhere else when I go to Stowe!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

While I cannot say much for Stowe the Hob Knob Inn was a lovely place to stay. The staff were friendly and provided us with local information at check in. We had a large room with plenty of storage. The bathroom and vanity are separate but there is a sink in both areas. The bed was just OK but there was an excellent shower.

The grounds were lovely and it was a very quiet area though if you opened your room door at night you could hear the peepers chirping(frogs), it was actually relaxing but could not be heard inside the room so did not disturb your sleep.

Breakfast was continental but very good, breads, juice, fruit, cereal and very delicious warm mini blueberry muffins.

While we enjoyed the Inn we had no luck with Stowe. It was off season and many restaurants and shops were closed. I have been to other ski areas that are in full swing all year round just different activities depending on season. After a long search we finally found Pie in the Sky a restaurant that was open. I had pizza he had sphaghetti and both were very good.

There was a coment about price on another review but this was one of the least expensive places we stayed on our 2 week road trip, under $100.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
1.9 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
4.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#5 of 22 in Stowe
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge

Address: 2364 Mountain Rd, PO Box 3363, Stowe, VT 05672-4747
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $105 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1937 as the first lodge for skiers in Stowe, VT the Hob Knob has always been a family owned and operated business. Since 2003, upon arrival my family has had the pleasure of greeting our guests who have traveled from around the world to our award-winning town of Stowe. At the Hob Knob Inn, we strive to be comfy, cozy and clean. Our 20 guestrooms have an inviting, home-like feel and each nights stay includes our continental breakfast that is served in our intimate and informal lounge. Our 10 lush acres located on the Mountain Road offer views of Mt. Mansfield, two ponds and outdoor hot tub. Enjoy a drink in our lounge and some comfort food from our kitchen Thursday through Sunday. Bring the family, play some games and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hob Knob Hotel Stowe
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing