We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
Ranked #7 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have had the pleasure of enjoying our anniversary dinner at the Hob Knob Inn Restaurant. The atmosphere was delightful and the food was great. The price was also very reasonable for the quantity that you receive. It is highly recommended if you are looking for an enjoyable place to enjoy delicious food.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 202 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have stayed at the Hob Knob several times and am never disappointed! The owners make this place fabulous. The rooms are clean and the food is great (try the twice baked potatoes).

Each room at the Hob Knob is slightly different, making it all the more endearing. I will never stay anywhere else when I go to Stowe!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

While I cannot say much for Stowe the Hob Knob Inn was a lovely place to stay. The staff were friendly and provided us with local information at check in. We had a large room with plenty of storage. The bathroom and vanity are separate but there is a sink in both areas. The bed was just OK but there was an excellent shower.

The grounds were lovely and it was a very quiet area though if you opened your room door at night you could hear the peepers chirping(frogs), it was actually relaxing but could not be heard inside the room so did not disturb your sleep.

Breakfast was continental but very good, breads, juice, fruit, cereal and very delicious warm mini blueberry muffins.

While we enjoyed the Inn we had no luck with Stowe. It was off season and many restaurants and shops were closed. I have been to other ski areas that are in full swing all year round just different activities depending on season. After a long search we finally found Pie in the Sky a restaurant that was open. I had pizza he had sphaghetti and both were very good.

There was a coment about price on another review but this was one of the least expensive places we stayed on our 2 week road trip, under $100.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend. Great price and location. Rooom was very clean and comfortable. Upper floor rooms have private decks. Lower level rooms have their own patio with small table and chairs. Owners and staff provided great service. We would definitely stay at Hob Knobb again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fr0mB0st0nMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I'm baffled by the positive reviews. Basically, it's an overpriced motel, and not a very clean one. No water pressure, heater didn't work (lows at night were in the 40's), my sheets were stained, and the blanket was old. The breakfast consisted of toast that tasted of freezer burn, old fruit salad, butter and grape jam (and only grape jam). The "own terrace" is a small cement slab on the parking lot.
The pictures they post have NOTHING to do with reality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honore200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. While not the most up to date, this is the perfect location for all things Stowe. Clean and comfortable. Because of the snow - 36 inches in 36 hours - we chose to eat at the Inn on Saturday evening. We were pleasantly surprised! My filet was cooked to perfection and the chocolate dessert was amazing. (Our waitress later told us her mother owned the bakery that made it!) Barbara, Kate and Sam were welcoming and fun. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We've stayed at a few places in Stowe and this is by far the best experience we've had. While the rooms are not the most modern, they are well kept and provide a comfortable stay and an at home feeling. If you're looking for a clean comfortable room after a long day skiing/exploring Stowe, there isn't a better value out there. What this hotel lacks in modern amenities, is more than made up for by its close proximity to the Mountain and, more importantly, the extremely nice and more than accommodating group of owners/staff. They truly care about the happiness of their guests and treat each and every one as if they are family. The on site restaurant that is open for dinner is absolutely delicious. Anytime we go to Stowe, we will definitely be staying at Hob Knob!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksilver23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
1.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
133 reviews
1.9 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,318 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge

Address: 2364 Mountain Rd, PO Box 3363, Stowe, VT 05672-3363
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $103 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1937 as the first lodge for skiers in Stowe, VT the Hob Knob has always been a family owned and operated business. Since 2003, upon arrival my family has had the pleasure of greeting our guests who have traveled from around the world to our award-winning town of Stowe. At the Hob Knob Inn, we strive to be comfy, cozy and clean. Our 20 guestrooms have an inviting, home-like feel and each nights stay includes our continental breakfast that is served in our intimate and informal lounge. Our 10 lush acres located on the Mountain Road offer views of Mt. Mansfield, two ponds and outdoor hot tub. Enjoy a drink in our lounge and some comfort food from our kitchen Thursday through Sunday. Bring the family, play some games and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hob Knob Hotel Stowe
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing